We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and welcoming”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House
Ranked #2 of 2 Butlerstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and welcoming”
Reviewed 15 August 2009

A friend and I stayed one night on our journey toward Dublin. Des had been kind enough to send driving directions by email prior to my trip, so we had no trouble locating the property. Upon arriving we were offered tea in the sitting room. Des is wonderfully friendly and helpful. The house and grounds are beautiful and the rooms spacious and comfortable. Waterford is a short drive away. We wandered the back garden, explored the adjoining ruins of what was once a grand home adjoining the property, and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast. I indulged in whole wheat pancakes with warm maple syrup and plenty of fresh fruit, coffee and tea. My favorite B and B of those we stayed at during our trip around the south of Ireland. Lovely and relaxing.
Waterford crystal is no more, and hasn't really been produced in the traditional fashion for many years now, in order to make it cheaper and more competitive. But Waterford is still a great place to visit. For traditional, hand-crafted Irish lead crystal, go to Kinsale. Two families of former Waterford craftsmen make the real deal there at Kinsale Crystal (33% lead and very heavy and thick with 90 degree cuts). Far more sparkle and fire than the recent watered-down, disappointing, shallow-cut mass market version of Waterford crystal that was being made and marketed (Marc Jacobs Waterford crystal?- gag me). I bought a lovely piece from Kinsale Crystal. No tours, but the product will not disappoint and the prices are reasonable if you are after traditional hand-made Irish crystal. You can also order through their website. Yay!

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kateg121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
43
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

The Coach House was a really nice B&B. This was the most expensive B&B we stayed at, but it lived up to its price. Des was a great host. He gave us a really detailed map of the town center with significance on the best places to eat. The location was setback in the country and we had a great view of Waterford from our room. Town center was about a 10 minute drive. The rooms were extremely spacious with good size beds and bathrooms en-suite. Breakfast offered a wide variety of fresh fruit, scones and a couple different choices for hot meals. We went for the pancakes. They were very good, nice and light. There was also plenty of parking, so we didn't have to worry about trying to make our massive 9-passenger van fit into a tiny space.

Overall, great place to stay just outside the city.

  • Liked — Host, Breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Erosy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed at the Coach House for one night and had a very good time. Des is extremely personable and took very good care of us.

The room was lovely, the bathroom extremely clean and the view was above any expectations; we overlooked the country side and saw rabbits & foxes playing in the fields!

The place is perfect to explore Waterford and drive to the Coast.

All in all, a very highly recommended place!!!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2007

The Coach House is a wonderful experience. We arrived and Des, our host, immediately made us feel at home after a long drive. We were shown through the Guesthouse and our rooms - all of which are furnished with delightful antiques.
We relaxed in the beautiful gardens and then proceeded to explore the ruins of the castle and stables which transport you back in time and gives you the opportunity to try and imagine life in those times. There is such a peaceful aura about the Coach House and the surroundings and we will definitely stay there when we return to Ireland.

  • Liked — Castle ruins
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nayrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2006

I have been lucky enough to stay here twice and I can highly recommend
it. The Coach House is about 10 minutes drive from Waterford and
situated in a quiet country lane with views towards Waterford and the
surrounding countryside.

The Coach House is a very well appointed B&B in quiet, peaceful
surroundings. There is a very luxurious residents lounge, with open fire,
books, games and comfy chesterfields (but, thankfully, no television). The
rooms are quite large and (I think) all are ensuite. with the usual
facilities.

The hosts are friendly and helpful and can provide you with all sorts
of ideas for visiting local attractions and restaurants.

I stayed the first time by chance, the second time, by choice. And if I
get the chance to go back to Ireland again, I would hope to go back
there again.

  • Liked — Location, facilities, quiet location.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mordeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Butlerstown
9.1 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
6.9 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,140 reviews
6.7 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,156 reviews
2.1 km away
Ashleigh House Bed and Breakfast
6.5 km away
Foxmount Country House
Foxmount Country House
#3 of 23 in Waterford
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: Butlerstown Castle, Butlerstown, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford > Butlerstown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Butlerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House County Waterford/Butlerstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing