We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
239
20
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
239
20
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnire valleypacked lunchjacuzzi bathsmoked salmonsconesporridgetin foilhill walkingfresh fruitcooked breakfastblueberriesmy husband and i have justwatch tvguest housenext morningcounty waterfordirish hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 266 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2005

We had heard wonderful things about Hanora's Cottage over the years and finally decided to try it out for ourselves in early December. Hanora's is located in the breathtakingly beautiful Nire Valley in County Waterford. The owner advised us to drive to Clonmel and then to call her for directions. When we arrived, we were given a warm reception and then shown our very comfortable room with beautiful views out over a rushing river and the valley. Then it was downstairs, to wait by the fire with a drink until called into the cosy dining room. All meals were excellent, but the breakfast is something Hanora's is justifiably famous for. The one thing that makes this Country House outstanding though, is the genuine friendliness of all the staff. The owner,
Mary Wall, is one of the most naturally gracious hostessess I have ever come across in my travels. So, in summary, a wonderful place for a getaway break in very beautiful surroundings, with the most incredible walks right outside your doorway and the prospect of then returning to a very cosy, well run establishment. A real gem.

3  Thank Happiness14757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2004

We stayed one night in Hanora’s Cottage in October 2004 on the way back to Dublin from Cork, after recommendations from friends and family, and booked into one of their superior rooms. On arrival we were shown to our room, and invited to complimentary refreshments in lounge after we had settled in and freshened up (a nice touch). The room itself (Room 10) was beautiful: huge, beautifully decorated, with a comfy bed, seating area and large bathroom with jacuzzi bath. We were very impressed with both it and the cosy lounge with open fire where we were served tea, coffee and a selection of yummy homemade bread, scones and cakes. So far, so good.

Since we were only staying one night, and the Cottage is a little remote, we opted for dinner there that night. The menu was quite good and showed some imagination, but was a bit hit and miss – some dishes were lovely, but others were bland and uninspiring and (god help me, I sound old before my time!) the potatoes were undercooked. It was a little disappointing, to be honest. The girl who served us may just have been having a bad day, but her demeanour was a strange mix of insipid and sour, which definitely diminished the atmosphere in an otherwise rather lovely, cosy, candlelit room.

We had planned to go for a drink after dinner, but were so tired that we just decided to veg in our lovely room, watch some television (on a surprisingly small television for such a great room) and crank up the jacuzzi. Fed, watered, and blissed out, we collapsed into bed looking forward to a deep, deep sleep…

Unfortunately, we were woken several times by a maddening humming, drumming noise at intervals during the night. At first, we thought it was some inconsiderate guest who was running his jacuzzi at all hours, but it turns out it was the central heating or the boiler or something…whatever it was, it was a bloody nuisance and made for a very disturbed night’s sleep.

Breakfast the next morning was a feast. As well as a traditional cooked Irish breakfast, there were all sorts of cereals, breads, fresh fruit, poached fruits, juices… we’re talking a serious banquet here. Despite being a bit tetchy after a restless night, I was very impressed.

Location-wise, Hanora’s Cottage is stunning, and caters for a lot of people who come on walking holidays. The rooms are beautiful, the food, despite some hiccups, is of a good standard, and the location is seriously good for the soul. If all the staff were as friendly, welcoming and down-to-earth as the chef, the atmosphere would be wonderful. And until they sort out that middle-of-the-night noise, request a quieter room on the opposite side of the house.

11  Thank DayTrip33108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanora's C, Owner at Hanora's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanora's C, Owner at Hanora's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews