We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Haya(Castro Urdiales)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Ronda(Castro Urdiales)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Hosteria Villa de Castro(Castro Urdiales)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Vista Alegre(Castro Urdiales)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Casa Los Olivos(Castro Urdiales)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hostal Catamaran(Castro Urdiales)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agua Viva Posada Spa(Castro Urdiales)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Aisia Islares(Castro Urdiales)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
El Atico de Olga(Castro Urdiales)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
186
196
39
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
196
39
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewlas rocasgreat hotelold towntapasstreet parkinggood sizeroom was largereception stafflovely beachlong promenadebuffet breakfastmin walkcomplimentary soft drinkssea frontsecure parkinghotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We have stayed in this hotel on several occasions in the past, and always been satisfied, but on this occasion it was a disaster! Despite having booked the room more than three MONTHS before the trip, we arrived early afternoon to be told that the room was not available. The alternative we were offered was completely unsatisfactory. The attitude of the reception staff was appalling - effectively"take it or leave it, we don't really care". We wasted much of the rest of the day trying to find a satisfactory alternative.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank mikeandaudrey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi mikeandaudrey2014,

Firstly I want to thank you for letting your review in this website, our customers reviews could help us to make us an idea about how are we working.

About your problem with the room, I want to especify you some things, I perfectly remember your case, you asked a room on the top of the hotel with balcony/terrace, those rooms are superior rooms, you make a reservation for a standard room, the price is different.
We know that you are a regular customer, but for that day we were fully booked, also all of the superior rooms were booked, so we weren´t able to give you one of these rooms (as we used to do with you, without any extra cost), the only thing we can make it was to show you another room with seaview also, that you could use for those days.
My colleagues of the reception staff told you that if you were not satisfy at all, you can cancel the reservation and we were not going to charge you any penalty for that cancellation, also it´s hard to believe for me that you were told "we don't really care" about your situation, because customers satisfaction is one of our objetives, and we used to have good reviews about all the staff.

For the future, I recomend you that if you really want an special type of room, reserve that type please, and you will be sure to have it.

Hope to see you again here and satisfy you as we used to do.

Best regards.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in August at the end of our touring holiday of Northern Spain. The reception staff were very friendly when we arrived but the secure parking was full, this wasn't a problem as we easily found a space on the road 5 euros for 24hrs. (Hotel parking was 10 euros). There are one or two free spaces in front of the hotel but you would have to be very lucky to get one of these in August! We booked a double room and had 2 large single beds! The room and bathroom were very clean and we even had a sea view! The buffet breakfast was included and there was plenty of choice, if you ask they will even cook you some eggs and bacon! Location was brilliant very close to the beach and a long promenade that led you to many restaurants and bars in the old town for supper. This hotel was a great find and a brilliant end to an amazing holiday!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank penny008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi penny008,

Thanks for letting your review about us in this website, all the opinions make us improve cause we can see where do we fail and where do make great.

I´m glad to see that you really enjoy with us and have such a nice opinion about us, that´s why we work for.

Hope to having you in the future to have another amazing holidays as you said!!

Big Hugs.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Close to both Bilbao and Santander, this is a great, friendly hotel for ferry users. It is spotlessly clean, well equipped and just yards from the beach. So good just booked again! Good value for money and lots of free parking nearby. Haven't tired the restaurant but other I spoke to said it was very good. The town is really nice resort with good bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hi Peter G,

I want to thank you your comments about our hotel, we are really pleased to know that you have such a good impression about us, that s why we work for.

Hope to see you in the future, and continue delighting you!

Big hugs.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

This was the third time in the past six years that we have stayed at this hotel. It did not disappoint. Our room was for two and our daughter had a family room for three. Both rooms were generously sized. Breakfasts over the years have remained excellent. The beach is across the street and the hotel provides towels. Wifi reception in the rooms is dicey. The walk to the center is about 800m along a lovely esplanade.

Castro-Urdiales is not "plagued" by tourists so one is spared the tourist traps along the way and in the old center.

In summary, we have stayed about 14 nights at Las Rocas and would certainly return to this relaxing pied-à-terre.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank TedY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hi TedY1943,

Firstly I want to thank you for writting your review about us, this make us to see our mistakes and skills so it´s really helpfull.

I am really happy to read such a lovelly words about us, that means that you really enjoy with us and we are doing well.

Hope to see the whole family in the future and enjoy again.

Big Hug.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night on way to Bilbao port .
This is a very pleasant Spanish hotel in a quiet resort .
It's easy to find with secure parking a short walk to the beach and town .
The receptionist was very friendly , our room was large and had sea glimpses .
The hotel is traditional in style and very comfortable.
The hotel has a snack bar and restaurant. We ate in the restaurant which has a good value menu of the day .
We walked around the very pleasant quay which has a few coffee shops and restaurants .
The hotel is less than 30mins to Bilbao port .
Will definitely stay again .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank johnbowen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hello johnbowen87,

I am glad to see that you have written your review about us in this website, which we use to see our customers satisfaction.

Thanks for all the good comments about the hotel, thats why we work for. I am happy to read that you really enjoy with us, with the staff and the services.

Hope to be the first of many stays.

Best regards.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews