We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round Hotel for the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Rocas Playa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Urdiales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Very good if you are embarking or arriving from the UK for a 1 night stay.
Stayed there twice this year.
Rooms large and beds comfortable. Reception friendly.
Hotel does offer limited private parking but where it is situated there is usually street parking.
The town is worth a tour, good pizza restaurant on the town prom'.
Fish can be expensive in some places.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hello Lawrence P,

I wanted to thank you for spend 5 minutes of your time speaking about our hotel and your stay with us, we will take note about your comments to improve our services!

I am glad to read that you were so good with us that you repeat in the same year, we would have been doing something goog XD.

Hope to having you next year and continue letting such a good impression on you as those times.

Big Hugs.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We have stayed in this hotel on several occasions in the past, and always been satisfied, but on this occasion it was a disaster! Despite having booked the room more than three MONTHS before the trip, we arrived early afternoon to be told that the room was not available. The alternative we were offered was completely unsatisfactory. The attitude of the reception staff was appalling - effectively"take it or leave it, we don't really care". We wasted much of the rest of the day trying to find a satisfactory alternative.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank mikeandaudrey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi mikeandaudrey2014,

Firstly I want to thank you for letting your review in this website, our customers reviews could help us to make us an idea about how are we working.

About your problem with the room, I want to especify you some things, I perfectly remember your case, you asked a room on the top of the hotel with balcony/terrace, those rooms are superior rooms, you make a reservation for a standard room, the price is different.
We know that you are a regular customer, but for that day we were fully booked, also all of the superior rooms were booked, so we weren´t able to give you one of these rooms (as we used to do with you, without any extra cost), the only thing we can make it was to show you another room with seaview also, that you could use for those days.
My colleagues of the reception staff told you that if you were not satisfy at all, you can cancel the reservation and we were not going to charge you any penalty for that cancellation, also it´s hard to believe for me that you were told "we don't really care" about your situation, because customers satisfaction is one of our objetives, and we used to have good reviews about all the staff.

For the future, I recomend you that if you really want an special type of room, reserve that type please, and you will be sure to have it.

Hope to see you again here and satisfy you as we used to do.

Best regards.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in August at the end of our touring holiday of Northern Spain. The reception staff were very friendly when we arrived but the secure parking was full, this wasn't a problem as we easily found a space on the road 5 euros for 24hrs. (Hotel parking was 10 euros). There are one or two free spaces in front of the hotel but you would have to be very lucky to get one of these in August! We booked a double room and had 2 large single beds! The room and bathroom were very clean and we even had a sea view! The buffet breakfast was included and there was plenty of choice, if you ask they will even cook you some eggs and bacon! Location was brilliant very close to the beach and a long promenade that led you to many restaurants and bars in the old town for supper. This hotel was a great find and a brilliant end to an amazing holiday!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank penny008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi penny008,

Thanks for letting your review about us in this website, all the opinions make us improve cause we can see where do we fail and where do make great.

I´m glad to see that you really enjoy with us and have such a nice opinion about us, that´s why we work for.

Hope to having you in the future to have another amazing holidays as you said!!

Big Hugs.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Close to both Bilbao and Santander, this is a great, friendly hotel for ferry users. It is spotlessly clean, well equipped and just yards from the beach. So good just booked again! Good value for money and lots of free parking nearby. Haven't tired the restaurant but other I spoke to said it was very good. The town is really nice resort with good bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hi Peter G,

I want to thank you your comments about our hotel, we are really pleased to know that you have such a good impression about us, that s why we work for.

Hope to see you in the future, and continue delighting you!

Big hugs.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

This was the third time in the past six years that we have stayed at this hotel. It did not disappoint. Our room was for two and our daughter had a family room for three. Both rooms were generously sized. Breakfasts over the years have remained excellent. The beach is across the street and the hotel provides towels. Wifi reception in the rooms is dicey. The walk to the center is about 800m along a lovely esplanade.

Castro-Urdiales is not "plagued" by tourists so one is spared the tourist traps along the way and in the old center.

In summary, we have stayed about 14 nights at Las Rocas and would certainly return to this relaxing pied-à-terre.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank TedY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hi TedY1943,

Firstly I want to thank you for writting your review about us, this make us to see our mistakes and skills so it´s really helpfull.

I am really happy to read such a lovelly words about us, that means that you really enjoy with us and we are doing well.

Hope to see the whole family in the future and enjoy again.

Big Hug.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Urdiales
5.9 km away
Hotel El Haya
Hotel El Haya
#3 of 3 in Castro Urdiales
25 reviews
1 km away
Hotel  La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 3 in Castro Urdiales
25 reviews
17.1 km away
Parador de Limpias
Parador de Limpias
#1 of 1 in Limpias
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
URH Palacio de Oriol Hotel
16.7 km away
Petit Palace Tamarises
29.9 km away
Hotel Isla Bella & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rocas Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Playa Hotel

Address: Calle Flaviobriga 1 | Paseo De La Playa, 39700, Castro Urdiales, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Castro Urdiales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Urdiales
Price Range: €59 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Rocas Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Las Rocas Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rocas Playa Hotel Castro Urdiales, Spain - Cantabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing