We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family hotel in Castro-Urdiales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Rocas Playa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Urdiales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

This was the third time in the past six years that we have stayed at this hotel. It did not disappoint. Our room was for two and our daughter had a family room for three. Both rooms were generously sized. Breakfasts over the years have remained excellent. The beach is across the street and the hotel provides towels. Wifi reception in the rooms is dicey. The walk to the center is about 800m along a lovely esplanade.

Castro-Urdiales is not "plagued" by tourists so one is spared the tourist traps along the way and in the old center.

In summary, we have stayed about 14 nights at Las Rocas and would certainly return to this relaxing pied-à-terre.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank TedY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hi TedY1943,

Firstly I want to thank you for writting your review about us, this make us to see our mistakes and skills so it´s really helpfull.

I am really happy to read such a lovelly words about us, that means that you really enjoy with us and we are doing well.

Hope to see the whole family in the future and enjoy again.

Big Hug.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night on way to Bilbao port .
This is a very pleasant Spanish hotel in a quiet resort .
It's easy to find with secure parking a short walk to the beach and town .
The receptionist was very friendly , our room was large and had sea glimpses .
The hotel is traditional in style and very comfortable.
The hotel has a snack bar and restaurant. We ate in the restaurant which has a good value menu of the day .
We walked around the very pleasant quay which has a few coffee shops and restaurants .
The hotel is less than 30mins to Bilbao port .
Will definitely stay again .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank johnbowen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hello johnbowen87,

I am glad to see that you have written your review about us in this website, which we use to see our customers satisfaction.

Thanks for all the good comments about the hotel, thats why we work for. I am happy to read that you really enjoy with us, with the staff and the services.

Hope to be the first of many stays.

Best regards.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is well situated close to the beach of Castro Urdiales, walking to the old town is only 10 minutes, staff are friendly, rooms are of a very good site and so is the bathroom. They serve an excellent breakfast.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gerardthehague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hi Gerardthehague,

Firstly I just want to thank you for writting your review here, where we can read it and see our mistakes and skills.

I am glad to read that you have a lovely stay with us, and hopes you would like to come back in the future, and here we will be waiting for you!!

Best regards.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

A great place for our two night stay in Castro Urdiales while en route to the Pyrenees.
We booked because of the private secure parking for our motorcycle and were pleased to find the hotel has a small, secure multi storey car park just 50 yards from the hotel at 8.5€ per night.
The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi is free but could have been better. Our room had good air-con.
Free soft drinks and water in mini-bar
Situated on one side of the bay, near to the beach but a 12-15 minute walk from the centre of town, shops and restaurants however we like to walk so not a problem.
Restaraunt looked good but for no particular reason we chose to walk into town to eat so can't review.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PWK00101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi PWK00101,

Firstly I want to thank you for writting in this website your review of our hotel, we really learn a lot from this reviews.

Secondly, I am happy to see that you enjoy a lot with us in our hotel, also you find quite good our services, Parking, Air condition, Minibar, etc...

Hope to having you in the future and next time you will have to taste our restaurant.

Best regards.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

This hotel sits near the sea front. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated
(White furniture). What makes the hotel is also the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the food. Even at breakfast Spanish tortillas and freshly squeezed orange juice along with a nespresso coffee are available. Small things like that add to the hotels quality even the complementary soft drinks in the mini bar in the room.
The only minus point I would say the hotel does not have a swimming pool.
However if you need a swim the sea is a stones throw away.
Having travelled around the north of Spain for 10 days it made a change in getting a proper double bed.

Room Tip: Sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Las_Rocas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Rocas Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hello Iallan,

I just want to thank you for taking 5 minutes to write your impression about our hotel we try to do our best but is nice to read customer experiences in order to see what we can improve.

Reading you, make us really happy cause you really enjoy here with the hotel, the services and the staff, only the swimming pool but we do not have any available space to put it...XD

Hope to having you back in the future.

Best regards.

Juan Casas
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Urdiales
5.9 km away
Hotel El Haya
Hotel El Haya
#3 of 3 in Castro Urdiales
25 reviews
1 km away
Hotel  La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 3 in Castro Urdiales
25 reviews
17.1 km away
Parador de Limpias
Parador de Limpias
#1 of 1 in Limpias
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
URH Palacio de Oriol Hotel
16.7 km away
Petit Palace Tamarises
29.9 km away
Hotel Isla Bella & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rocas Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Playa Hotel

Address: Calle Flaviobriga 1 | Paseo De La Playa, 39700, Castro Urdiales, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Castro Urdiales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Urdiales
Price Range: €60 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Rocas Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Las Rocas Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rocas Playa Hotel Castro Urdiales, Spain - Cantabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing