We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAFF LET DOWN BY FOOD”

The Turtley Corn Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beautiful old mill nestling in six acres of gardens with its own lake and river. Open all day serving traditional English pub and restaurant food in a relaxed atmosphere. Huge gardens make summer eating outside a pleasure. Freedom for children too!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

called in yesterday for a late 'lunch'. Lovely welcome, as usual sadly the food did not reach the standard. The creamy garlic mushroom were tepid, the flavour was there but because it was not very warm, bordering cold, the creamy sauce failed completely. The individual mushroom were warm which indicated that they were just placed in the luke warm sauce. My Wife had the skate wings, which were 'stringy' and the potatoes were green in colour, needless to say she left most of it. When paying, I was asked if everything was alright and when I mentioned the mushrooms I got no response. It was a very expensive meal for what it was.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flagofficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Wow!

What a dissapointing review for the crew; you have clearly been here before so you will know that we do have staff that cook food too, not just the ones that serve it!

However, our culinary style clearly did not suit your tastes or expectations on this occasion and I am very sorry you felt this way.

Nevertheless we thank you very much for your opinions which will, of course, be given the most careful consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We called in on the off chance of getting a table, greeted by a very friendly young man who said we could choose a table,Food was very good and tasty, Restaurant staff very polite and friendly and smartly dressed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelle554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for letting us know Kelle; we now look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thanks for using TA to tell us too - it all helps!

Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Haven’t visited for some time so was delighted to stop by on the way home from a family weekend in Cornwall.

Flat iron steak on the menu which I haven’t seen in a restaurant outside of the rather good “flat iron” chain in London. Two of us opted for this dish and it was superb ! Excellently cooked and presented and paired very well with a bottle of smart dog wine! This place really know their wines and the waitress explained this was a new wine from Portugal and really worth trying. Wouldn’t normally think of trying Portuguese wine but this has changed my view entirely !

Brilliant staff, food and wine. Just wish I lived closer!

Thank CharlieG04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you!

It’s a really good wine isn’t it! The Portuguese make some really good wines but I suspect they generally keep the best for themselves - this one sneaked out!

We’re delighted you enjoyed your food too so now we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are passing. Better still stay overnight!

Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We have visited this comfortable, well-organised pub for years. The building is a tastefully presented, warm and pleasant arrangement of spaces, encouraging leisurely lunches, both indoors (in the winter) and outside when the weather permits. The menu is varied, and the food of a very good quality and value. What prompts this review, however, is the outstanding customer service. Invariably friendly and efficient, the staff excelled themselves during our most recent visit when a sudden snowfall led to our car being marooned. We were variously dug-out, pushed and eventually towed back to the road by members of the Corn Mill team. Cheerful and generous in everything that they did, they acted above and beyond the call - for which much thanks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simonturley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you Simon,

What wonderful review and we're all delighted that you enjoyed your somewhat exciting visit to Turtley; it ended up as a bit of an adventure for us too!

I shall make sure the crew read your comments as well.

Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Ended up here by pure accident as the roads were getting really bad with snow on 18/3 so popped in for a sunday lunch with our dog,we were made welcome straight away by all staff including the owner/manager.
The snow was falling quite hard when we arrived and all though we were concerned about getting out the car park there was no need the owner was driving up and down on his land rover to clear the snow now thats what you call service and thoughtful.

The roast dinner was fantastic,plentiful and piping hot,we both had roast chicken,i honestly could not fault anything at all.

WERE BE BACK!!! thankyou to everyone for a great experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceBrunning, Owner at The Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you so much.

We were delighted to see you and let’s hope that next time we’re all bathed in sunshine!

Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Turtley Corn Mill also viewed

Plymouth, Devon
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 
South Brent, Dartmoor National Park
 
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
South Brent, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Turtley Corn Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing