We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
238
82
26
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
238
82
26
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerfrench restaurantscallopssoupbrisketsteakout of this worldtwo nightsstayed here for one nighta real gemlovely roomgreat foodfollowing morninglovely placepennine waymealmenu
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Came here a few nights as only 2 pubs in the village Its dirty with broken chairs and grubby plates/glasses.The beer changes ever day The barman cant wait to go out side for a roll up
£3 wine charged out at £17 day light robbery
Absolute dump .go at your peril

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worrow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

We visited Middleon in Teesdale on a wet and cold bank holiday monday and decided to get some lunch. We were greeted by helpful friendly staff - the menu had plenty of choice, with plenty of vegetarian gluten free choices to pick from.
The food was excellent - really tasty
We never tried the hotel, but if service in restaurant anything to go by then we would be happy to stay
A great find and we will eat here again next time we are passing.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank B_Zeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Slightly unprepossesing exterior but a real gem. Ate there twice whilst staying in the area and it was real five star food, freshly prepared on site. Some good well known dishes but also something a bit unusual. The marzipan and amaretto ice cream was so good!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sallywithfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Eaten here a few times but first time reviewing the food. Despite being the only ones in the restaurant (the wind was too nippy to eat outside!) the place had such atmosphere, so French and lots of interesting things to look at on the walls etc. I ordered a veggie option, although I am a meat eater and was very pleased with what I received. A delicious cheese choux pastry filled with ratatouille, salad and chips on the side. So tasty and just hit the spot! Hubby enjoyed his sausage dish too. Have to say the only down side was the mediocre Rioja which was a tad on the expensive side, but still a very tasty lunch!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed for Easter 2017 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Hospitality impeccable, superb cuisine, immaculate room & ensuite, plenty of choice at the bar. Our waitress went the extra mile to make our 4year old a "chocolate burger" from icing to entertain him! Will certainly return and recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews