We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gentian House(Middleton in Teesdale)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Brunswick House(Middleton in Teesdale)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moorcock Inn(Middleton in Teesdale)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teesdale Hotel(Middleton in Teesdale)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rose & Crown(Romaldkirk)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jersey Farm(Barnard Castle)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leekworth Caravan Park(Middleton in Teesdale)
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Hill B&B(Middleton in Teesdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belvedere House B&B(Middleton in Teesdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
237
82
26
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
237
82
26
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench restaurantscallopssoupbrisketsteakout of this worldtwo nightsstayed here for one nighta real gemlovely roomnight staygreat foodfollowing morningplenty of choicepennine waycheffrank
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked a two-night stay as a quick getaway. The food and service was exceptional. I had a huge bowl of sea-fresh mussels, followed by a succulent rack of lamb and washed down by an excellent pint of black Sheep. French cuisine and English ale at is very best. Our welcome was warm and friendly and the staff were very attentive. Just what we wanted to allow us to enjoy our break from the hurly-burly.

Room Tip: We booked through Groupon into a standard room. It may be better to pay a little more for a room with more character.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a groupon deal which was exceptionally good value. Our room was nicely decorated clean and comfortable. We decided to eat in the restaurant on the first night- the food was nice but a bit more fancy and pricey compared to other pubs in the area, not really what me and my partner are in to- preferring more traditional options, but food was plentiful and cooked and presented well. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety- scrambled eggs and salmon, full English, pancakes and the "famous" gateau. Only one main grumble- our room was VERY noisy, music from the bar could be heard word for word, not ideal when you're wanting to get to sleep for a busy day of exploring. To conclude we enjoyed our stay and would return if in the area and the price was right

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cherryblossom759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Do not hesitate to ring and ask for a deal, this is a wonerful place to stay with excellent staff,rooms,food and walks. The food is to die for and does not leave you wanting......... only wondering what could possibly top it next time! Excellent menu choices both bar meals and restaurant. Rooms are comfortable,clean and well provided with good decor. We went for a quiet 60th birthday away hustle and bustle, the whole staff and clients sang happy birthday. Big thanks to Franck, Matt and Dan, all very helpful and very charming. We will definately be returning. We had to change our booking at short notice and Franck was very understanding and amenamle an excellent host.

Room Tip: Not suitable for disabled access. Saturday night a little noisy but hey what do you expect it is a bar/hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracy-marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I met a lifelong friend and we stayed at The Forresters Hotel.On arrival we were greeted by the smiling and friendly owner,this was the start of a fantastic two night break in lovely Middleton,which held many childhood memories for me.The owner showed us to our lovely twin room,which was excellent,gorgeous luxury bathroom,telescope and all!beds spotless and very comfy,tea,coffee,hot chocolate readily available.The views towards the church and onto the village were lovely.We decided to stay in for our evening meals,and we were so glad we did!The food is first class,very French,a wonderful reflection on Franc the French owner,the quality was outstanding,and presentation so perfect.I personally had the twice baked cheese soufflé both evenings as it was second to none!main courses were yummy and we delighted in different choices,each of us thoroughly enjoying each evening meal!
Dan was the man at breakfast time!a breath of fresh air and made breakfast a blast!the ingredients used were delicious,fresh and tasty!enjoyed by us both!the pancakes were absolutely gorgeous.Thankyou for a terrific stay,your friendly attention to detail and atmospheric surroundings are a winner.Hope the season is good for you all,and can't wait to return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank CumbriaLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from staying 3 days at the Forresters using a Groupon voucher. We had a wonderful time.We hadn't realised that the restaurant had a distinct french feel but this was a big bonus. We had all our meals in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed every single one. Our room was of a reasonable size with a big bathroom. Franck and his staff were very friendly and helpful and Jo his wife is a superb cook. The only slight negative, that on the first night there was quite a bit of noise in the bedroom from down below. We will definitely be back

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank redscarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews