We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
13
7
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
7
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional market old fashioned pub beer shop town hotel micro brewery moors yorkshire
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

A fabulous old-fashioned pub, we took part in their Wed night Pub Quiz (and lost, heavily ... ) whenever we get the chance, enjoy their spectacular beer festivals, take visitors to their exciting little beer shop and always enjoy the warmth of their hospitality. The function rooms are very interesting; being a former micro-brewery and full of ephemera, and the glass-roofed passage room is particularly cute – all highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

This is a difficult place to review. The staff couldn't have been more friendly, the room (our was in the block at the back which we were told used to be a brewery) was spacious and clean, and the bed was comfortable. The shower was a bit on the small side but adequate for a few days. Breakfast was pretty good too.

The beer garden is quite pleasant, and theres a good choice of reasonably priced beers but the pub itself is a bit shabby both inside and out. The "festival hall" between the pub and the beer garden is an absolute eyesore. They really need to do something with the space that looks like something between a storage shed and a industrial unit. Unfortunately theres no way to avoid it if you are staying in the block at the back.

All in all, I would be happy to stay again, but I would think theres more classy establishments at similar prices in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Businesstravelsadrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

My friends (a couple) and I spent one night here on our way to visit Castle Howard. We wished it could have been more. What a gem. A real pub, great welcome. We were given good advice on where to eat that evening and returned to find the local quiz night in progress and again made to feel welcome. Breakfast was excellent and we got good directions on how to head on our journey.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms in old brewery were good.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Just a lovely comfortable and welcoming place to either spend a few hours or as we have stay for a few days. Neil, Jeff, and all the staff are brilliant. Very helpful and can't do enough to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but room 5 is our favourite.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jeanbarnes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed at suddaby's recently and would go back.. staff are really friendly and helpful, rooms basic but spotless.. bedding, towels changed, room cleaned and extra milk daily so for the price I paid couldn't complain. Meant to take pics but unfortunately forgot but I would recommend only down fall was the room was quite cold even with the heating on as it's single glazed Windows.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews