We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best cakes!!”

Congleton Garden Centre
Ranked #26 of 92 Restaurants in Congleton
Description: Walk into Congleton Garden Centre and you enter into a different world. We are proud to be a traditional family run business and are passionate about providing our customers with quality plants and products, sourced locally wherever possible, backed up by good old fashioned customer service. Our Garden Centre is set within the beautiful English countryside – just outside the historic market town of Congleton in Cheshire. It’s maintained and created each day by the Family and caring staff, who have grown the business for well over 60 years and who today are passionately dedicated to be of assistance, advice and help in whatever you need to make your garden and home special. To visit Congleton Garden Centre is to have an amazing experience. You’ll want to come back again and again throughout the changing seasons and in the year ahead. Our ever popular Restaurant, Coffee Lounge, Free Children's Playground, Farm Shop & Butchery counter are not to be missed
Restaurant details
Description: Walk into Congleton Garden Centre and you enter into a different world. We are proud to be a traditional family run business and are passionate about providing our customers with quality plants and products, sourced locally wherever possible, backed up by good old fashioned customer service. Our Garden Centre is set within the beautiful English countryside – just outside the historic market town of Congleton in Cheshire. It’s maintained and created each day by the Family and caring staff, who have grown the business for well over 60 years and who today are passionately dedicated to be of assistance, advice and help in whatever you need to make your garden and home special. To visit Congleton Garden Centre is to have an amazing experience. You’ll want to come back again and again throughout the changing seasons and in the year ahead. Our ever popular Restaurant, Coffee Lounge, Free Children's Playground, Farm Shop & Butchery counter are not to be missed
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We regularly visit CGC as a family. Our little girl absolutely loves playing outside the café in the sand pit. The food is always delicious and great value for money, with friendly staff that are always polite and willing to help. The cakes are delicious!!! We love the farm shop! The veg is always fresh and delicious with a fantastic butcher too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ED101991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed an afternoon out at Congleton Garden Centre.

We dined in the beautiful Coffee Shop which also has a lovely playground for Children

The Garden Centre was lovely to look round and the staff so helpful

Well worth a visit

Thank mick0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Decided to visit as we haven't been for a while. Unfortunately they ran out of scones so no cream tea which was disappointing. Couldn't order chips or a sandwich as it was 3pm and they stopped doing food. Though there are no notices to say that and it's not written on the menu. There's a big sign outside saying food all day though! Cakes we did have were nice though and the staff were nice.

Thank HGB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Manager at Congleton Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Congleton Garden Centre. As it was Mothering Sunday it was an exceptionally busy trading day for us but we sincerely hope that you enjoyed your cake and service. We have now updated signage within the Coffee Shop to be clear with serving times on Hot & Cold food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Visited the cafe at the garden centre with my family.
We sat down at looked at the menu and we decided on panini so and sandwiches, which all come with a side salad.
We asked for chips instead of the salad as for health reasons my wife cannot eat much salad and my daughter and I do not eat salad!
This was fine with the waitress and went to sort our order.
A little while later our order turned up all with salad on the plates and no chips. We pointed out to the waitress that we did not want the salads but did ask for chips instead.
Well she stormed back to the kitchen with our plates and came back with them with what we had ordered. She was not very happy and I think needs to have a course on customer service, the other ladies in there were pleasant and attentive.
It did sour our visit and may not bother going there again.
Food was good though and reasonably priced, even though they try to overcharge us!!!

Thank sibby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Manager at Congleton Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Congleton Garden Centre and we do hope you will visit us again. All comments have been fed back to our Coffee Shop and will reviewed as part of our continuous improvement approach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Not very welcoming. Some staff ok but others rather curt ( long blonde pony tail) and give an impression they are doing customers a favour serving them.
Pleasant enough venue which has been extended to add sofa area. Seems popular with elders.
Food hit and miss. The panini (veg) option does not match the menu description. The bread is soaked in a strong herby ragu which is odd and unpleasant. (And not mentioned on the menu).
That went back which meant the 15 min wait for a soup as replacement left my fellow diner finished before I'd received mine. Soup tasty.
Service is generally slow, even for drinks.
Bill came with panini still charged.
All quite poor overall.

Thank dollydelash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Manager at Congleton Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Congleton Garden Centre. We are very sorry to hear your feedback and your comments have been fed back to our Coffee Shop team and will be reviewed as part of our continual improvement meetings. If you have any issues at the time, please ask to speak to management and we will gladly assist in any way we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Congleton Garden Centre also viewed

Congleton, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to Congleton Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing