We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home with great breakfast, wonderful hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Ranked #1 of 5 Dalkeith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We stayed at Rathan House during our visit to Scotland for our 9 year wedding anniversary in May 2017. It was our first trip to Scotland and Ewan (the owner) was very helpful and informative. He went above and beyond to accommodate us and even drove us to the airport because we ran into a bind! Rathan House is a very nice place that is owned and operated by a very special couple.
And, it is quite convenient! You can hop on a bus right outside the front door and easily get to the center of town within about 30 minutes! We would definitely consider staying there again! We highly recommend this place!
Cindy and Scott from Chicago, IL USA!

Room Tip: Wonderful, huge room that included a bunk bed for kids. It had doors that opened to a beautiful, lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Well you certainly entertained Irene and me.

I am always a sucker when a blond lady urgently needs to be taken to an airport in a hurry to catch a plane. .

Thank you for your kind remarks. Always appreciated.

Scotland is now basking in too much sun and heat - amazing.

Haste ye back

Yrs
Ewan & Irene and the doggies
Rathan Hoose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 234 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

I've stayed here for several days. The self catering apartment is clean, bright and airy and is well equipped.
The couple that own Eskbank Guesthouse are friendly, accommodating and helpful.
There's a lovely garden and dogs are welcome.
It's ideally situated within Dalkeith to access Edinburgh either by bus, train or car. The buses run frequently and only a couple of minutes away from the Guesthouse.
The Town itself has a variety of shops and places to eat and drink.
We visited Seacliff (North Berwickshire)to specifically go horse riding at Seacliff Stables, which is a half hour drive. A lovely scenic route. The Stables are well presented with friendly helpful staff. The horses are good at there jobs and the trek was along a beautiful private beach-fab for cantering along.
I'd highly recommend both Eskbank Guesthouse and if horse riding is your thing then taking the time to go to Seacliff Stable is definitely worthwhile.....

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you for your review. It has been a pleasure having you as holiday guests and watching your daughters play with our Flatcoated Retreivers. It is good that the holiday house seems to have lived up to your expectations. I wasnt aware of the great horseriding stables with beech riding at Seacliff and that is a good one to suggest to other holidaymakers.

Irene MacRae

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Rathan House in Dalkeith for one night while visiting family in Edinburgh. I can honestly say it was one of the best guest houses we have stayed in. Our room overlooked a lovely large walled garden. The room was lovely and clean with a comfortable bed, quality toiletries and hostess tray. The great breakfast in the morning was served by Ewan who is extremely good in encouraging his guests to join in with conversation. He is very informative, and has fascinating stories to tell. You must try his unique cold porridge with fruit. Iv never been a fan of porridge but I'm going to try to make this myself. I also had French toast and bacon, delicious! David had haddock for his breakfast, that alone should tell you how fresh and appealing this was, as he is usually a full fry up kind of a man. It was lovely to sit at a big table and share our time with the other guests. I wish we could have stayed longer, but I look forward to returning again one day. Thank you for making us feel welcome, for sharing your lovely home, stories and great advice. Shirley and David

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank shirlhall8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

EEEEE!, These Northumbrians are just Scots wi ' heids back to front?
They say such nice things. ( Embarrassing really )

I am sure there are lots of nice guesthouses better than Rathan ..you just haven't stayed in them yet.

As a serious point. The UK is great at good B&B's and guesthouses . Part of the fun is meeting the people who run them , and most of the fun for the proprietors is meeting lovely people predisposed to be pleased and happy bunnies ( its Easter) .we make new friends a lot.

Sadly the B&B sector is under pressure and the public must support them by seeking them out V's the big brand big public co offerings. If not the independant offering of B&B will dwindle

Thank you for supporting the small independant B&B sector. Your comments really are really kind and appreciated . Hope to see you again in bonnie Dalkeith.

Ewan & Irene MacRae and the doggies
Rathan Hoose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We couldn't fault the location or the quality of period accommodation with a lovely garden. Clean, tidy, warm room with all amenities (kettle too small to brew two hot drinks at the same time). Amenable host even going so far as to to offer to collect us from the railway station. Vegetarian breakfast not as expected and a little disappointing. Overall would stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightysheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Rathan House and thank you for your kind words.

I am sorry the veggie breakies wasnt top notch. I had thought apple /raspberry and fresh whipped cream cranachan would hit the spot and had purchased sweetpotato and beans burger which was served with butter mushrooms. We did have a new waitress and I was cooking because Irene had to attend to family affairs. So I am sorry. We are always learning and can always do better and we strive to improve. if you don't mind I shall call you to see where we missed the mark.

We have a taste of Scotland award and ensuring our breakies excellence is very important to us and we hope our guests. In this case it seems we didn't and I am sorry.

All the best.

Ewan MacRae
Rathan House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

In Dalkeith for business and just stayed one night but the accommodation was perfect, comfy, clean rooms, lovely food and a very helpful host. Better than any faceless chain of hotels. All in all you couldn't beat staying at Rathan House.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for your kind review. Our focus is 90% on the tourist and our breakfast style is 3 courses , bespoke cooking and so can not be the quickest. (Those taking a bus to sightsee in Edinburgh are best to wait until 9.15 when the rush hour is mostly over and the bus journeytime reduces..... it makes sense )

So it is especially pleasing when a business guest appreciates what we try to do at breakfast.

Thank you.

Ewan MacRae
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalkeith hotels
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
1.1 km away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
1,014 reviews
2 km away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#2 of 5 in Dalkeith
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Fairshiels B&B
Fairshiels B&B
#4 of 5 in Dalkeith
9 reviews
0.7 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalkeith
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Address: 45 Eskbank Road | Eskbank, Dalkeith EH22 3BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dalkeith
Price Range: €70 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUS ( no. 3) to Edinburgh Royal Mile - 24 hra ( every 7 mins weekdays) from Rathan House driveway. Cost £1.50/ bus journey.Family Rooms - 2 doubles 3 twin 1 single 1 ( all ensuite)Airport ( 12 miles...95% dual carriageway) 16 minutesFamily holiday oriented upmarket Scottish Tourist Board quality rated 4 star guesthouse - with Parking in the Grounds - set in the leafy Eskbank conservation area with large sheltered peaceful 3/4 acres beautiful walled garden - with a croquet lawn. In an ideal location for park and ride to Edinburgh Scotland. . 7 all en-suite rooms with great memory foam medium firm mattresses. 1 very large and 1 smaller family room. 3 doubles and 1 twin . Near to Dalhousie Castle, Roslin Chapel, Dalkeith palace Adventure Playground and Country park & The Butterfly Farm. Well behaved dogs welcome. 13 Miles from Edinburgh Airport - along A720 (dual carriageway) making Dalkeith a great base for getting quickly to and from the airport for an Edinburgh fly/drive visit. It is also true that the road route into/out of Edinburgh is quicker than from any other direction. There are 6 restaurants/pubs within 2-5 min walk. 1 excellent - ITIHAAS - is 140 yds away. Bus runs every 10 mins to central Edinburgh from stop 30 meters from the driveway. Edinburgh Airport is a 14 minutes drive - 90% of which is dual carriageway...which makes Dalkeith a great base for Flydrive Edinburgh visits. Breakfasts:-Edwardian/ Highland in style - 10 cooked options including 5 seafood dishes - 3 courses - the opposite of an Ulster Fry. Signature dish - "Spealtragan" which few will have tasted. Curious? Let the fairy pipers DE-STRESS you at Rathan House in Eskbank! Dalkeith EH22 3BH ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathan House - The Guesthouse At Eskbank Dalkeith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing