We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$223
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dalhousie Castle(Bonnyrigg)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$297
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$192
US$187
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sun Inn(Dalkeith)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairshiels B&B(Dalkeith)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
161
58
14
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
58
14
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsbeautiful gardenindian restaurantgreat hostsscottish historyguest houseself catering apartmentan excellent basebreakfast tablekippersgreat place to startscottish couplefish choicesoffered fantasticgreat breakfast in the morningexcellent bus servicetwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 251 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

I've stayed here for several days. The self catering apartment is clean, bright and airy and is well equipped.
The couple that own Eskbank Guesthouse are friendly, accommodating and helpful.
There's a lovely garden and dogs are welcome.
It's ideally situated within Dalkeith to access Edinburgh either by bus, train or car. The buses run frequently and only a couple of minutes away from the Guesthouse.
The Town itself has a variety of shops and places to eat and drink.
We visited Seacliff (North Berwickshire)to specifically go horse riding at Seacliff Stables, which is a half hour drive. A lovely scenic route. The Stables are well presented with friendly helpful staff. The horses are good at there jobs and the trek was along a beautiful private beach-fab for cantering along.
I'd highly recommend both Eskbank Guesthouse and if horse riding is your thing then taking the time to go to Seacliff Stable is definitely worthwhile.....

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you for your review. It has been a pleasure having you as holiday guests and watching your daughters play with our Flatcoated Retreivers. It is good that the holiday house seems to have lived up to your expectations. I wasnt aware of the great horseriding stables with beech riding at Seacliff and that is a good one to suggest to other holidaymakers.

Irene MacRae

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Rathan House in Dalkeith for one night while visiting family in Edinburgh. I can honestly say it was one of the best guest houses we have stayed in. Our room overlooked a lovely large walled garden. The room was lovely and clean with a comfortable bed, quality toiletries and hostess tray. The great breakfast in the morning was served by Ewan who is extremely good in encouraging his guests to join in with conversation. He is very informative, and has fascinating stories to tell. You must try his unique cold porridge with fruit. Iv never been a fan of porridge but I'm going to try to make this myself. I also had French toast and bacon, delicious! David had haddock for his breakfast, that alone should tell you how fresh and appealing this was, as he is usually a full fry up kind of a man. It was lovely to sit at a big table and share our time with the other guests. I wish we could have stayed longer, but I look forward to returning again one day. Thank you for making us feel welcome, for sharing your lovely home, stories and great advice. Shirley and David

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank shirlhall8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

EEEEE!, These Northumbrians are just Scots wi ' heids back to front?
They say such nice things. ( Embarrassing really )

I am sure there are lots of nice guesthouses better than Rathan ..you just haven't stayed in them yet.

As a serious point. The UK is great at good B&B's and guesthouses . Part of the fun is meeting the people who run them , and most of the fun for the proprietors is meeting lovely people predisposed to be pleased and happy bunnies ( its Easter) .we make new friends a lot.

Sadly the B&B sector is under pressure and the public must support them by seeking them out V's the big brand big public co offerings. If not the independant offering of B&B will dwindle

Thank you for supporting the small independant B&B sector. Your comments really are really kind and appreciated . Hope to see you again in bonnie Dalkeith.

Ewan & Irene MacRae and the doggies
Rathan Hoose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We couldn't fault the location or the quality of period accommodation with a lovely garden. Clean, tidy, warm room with all amenities (kettle too small to brew two hot drinks at the same time). Amenable host even going so far as to to offer to collect us from the railway station. Vegetarian breakfast not as expected and a little disappointing. Overall would stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightysheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Rathan House and thank you for your kind words.

I am sorry the veggie breakies wasnt top notch. I had thought apple /raspberry and fresh whipped cream cranachan would hit the spot and had purchased sweetpotato and beans burger which was served with butter mushrooms. We did have a new waitress and I was cooking because Irene had to attend to family affairs. So I am sorry. We are always learning and can always do better and we strive to improve. if you don't mind I shall call you to see where we missed the mark.

We have a taste of Scotland award and ensuring our breakies excellence is very important to us and we hope our guests. In this case it seems we didn't and I am sorry.

All the best.

Ewan MacRae
Rathan House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

In Dalkeith for business and just stayed one night but the accommodation was perfect, comfy, clean rooms, lovely food and a very helpful host. Better than any faceless chain of hotels. All in all you couldn't beat staying at Rathan House.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for your kind review. Our focus is 90% on the tourist and our breakfast style is 3 courses , bespoke cooking and so can not be the quickest. (Those taking a bus to sightsee in Edinburgh are best to wait until 9.15 when the rush hour is mostly over and the bus journeytime reduces..... it makes sense )

So it is especially pleasing when a business guest appreciates what we try to do at breakfast.

Thank you.

Ewan MacRae
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Everything was to a very high standard. The room was clean and quiet, the breakfast was delicious and the owner was very friendly. There are a few local restaurants and pub within a few minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank plantraveldiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. You came at the dullest time in the year weather wise. We hope you will put us on your list for a summer visit when the walled garden is at its best. There is a new Italian restaurant opened up within 200 yds and by all accounts it is excellent.
Thank you again and haste ye back.

Ewan & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews