We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
US$185
US$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/07/21
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
HurbUS$185
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,740)
Filter reviews
1,740 results
Traveller rating
578
555
312
185
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
578
555
312
185
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room steam railway roll top bath bottle of prosecco lovely hotel both nights four poster bed a bit tired log fire enjoyable stay short break garten aviemore dog itison decking bistro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,740 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2021 via mobile

We have visited the boat hotel for many years and absolutely love it! Great friendly staff and atmosphere. Can’t wait for our next visit! Everything about it is relaxed and the food is absolutely delicious. The outdoor space is lovely and relaxing for a drink at night and cosy too!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiswe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

I am glad to hear you had another great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2021

Love the hotel - the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is good. We have been coming for years and always enjoy our stays. However, there are now so many dogs in the hotel. I like dogs but don't want to think of them having slept in the bed or sat at the table. One next door to us barked continuously, although thankfully not after 10pm.
This is great for people who want their dogs with them at all times but I doubt very much if we'll be back.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandymK200BX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear that having the dogs in the hotel has put you off a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2021

I don't know where to start, the love and devotion both the Hotel Managers, Dean & Magda have provided as Hoteliers through what has been a challenging number of months is next to amazing, what they have both achieved in the way of building on the guest experience has been amazing, the hard work and hours both Dean & Magda have put in to redecorate the rooms and the hotel as a whole while the Hotel was closed has been a great achievement.

Our stay was for two nights and in that time we managed to use the front outside dining to our advantage with over head coverings and heating it was marvellous.

So looking forward to our next stay.

Thank you

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank andreasB6677TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The team worked hard to redecorate the rooms and I am glad you liked the changes. I look forward to your return again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021

This was our first visit to The Boat and our first overnight stay post lockdown.

The hotel has two parking areas which can be full at busy times but there is plenty roadside parking until there is a space.

There is contactless check-in, and expected sanitiser and warnings. At present the foyer has a wooden board floor, obviously part of upgrade work.

All public areas and rooms are spotlessly clean, fresh and many seem newly decorated. All areas are very warm, with several open fires.

Our room and bathroom were smartly decorated and bathroom appeared recently renovated. The bathroom was quite small although the shower area had plenty room and an excellent shower.

The room was warm and had tartan and tweed furnishings. The double bed was two singles together providing a large bed. It was very comfortable and gave a good night's sleep.

We ate all our meals in the hotel. Breakfast was good, all table service as is the norm now. We had a sandwich lunch in the bar, receiving the usual attentive service from staff and a very tasty sandwich.

As this was our first post lockdown visit it took a little time to get used to the new rules. No alcohol with meals indoors etc. We did not use the outdoor area due to the colder weather during our visit. However many others used this area for food and drink.

The hotel has an app for ordering room service, food and drink. Indoor service is nearly normal apart from masks! We enjoyed the food we ate for our evening meal. The service is first class, all staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was well presented, good sized portions and hot. The waiting staff and kitchen were obliging and helpful to my wife who has some restrictions to diet at present.

Bar staff were friendly and interested in discussing the merits of their range of malts.

The hotel is pet friendly however we do have reservations about pets being in the eating areas of the hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, and would happily return to The Boat Inn.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RollandButter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. It is much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. I hope you will be able to make a return visit once the final touches are finished and the weather is a bit warmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

So good to have a break after the long covid winter. So well looked after at The Inn Boat of Garten. Great room with easy access to outside. Fabulous food. Service excellent too. We had drinks outside on a chilly evening but the outside heaters were wonderful.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kgilli908245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the food fabulous. I will pass your lovey comments to the staff and I hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews