We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
76
52
12
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
52
12
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub the river sunday lunch fish and chips country hotel great food big portions comfortable double bed best steak i have ever had left feeling outside area lovely friendly staff breakfast room both nights excellent value for money birthday party freshly cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018

From the moment i walked in , i was made to feel welcome a real old style pub Inn
Room rate was good ideal for those that stay on company expenses, room was clean with large screen TV and hot shower , could not hear noise from downstairs bar.
Food excellent i spent 20 mins checking out the food being served plenty on the plates
meals ranged from approx £10 for burgers upto £25 ish for steaks, about average
On a summers night you can sit outside next to river and enjoy the veiw
Travel time to Newcastle approx 35mins

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely setting right by the river and Haydon ‘s Bridge

Sirloin steak cooked just how I like it, Hubby had steak and Ale pie, lovely lean meat and lots of gravy, attentive service and very friendly , did not leave hungry, superb thank you

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank WendyAndyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We only ate an evening meal at the Anchor. Basic choice of food and opted for burger and chips. The chips were inedible. Very disappointing for such basic food.
The waiter was attentive but when he asked if everything was ok and we said no, did nothing about it and offered no alternative. On paying the bill the same thing happened.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Thought this place was great. They should get a DJ in like Calvin harris and I thought Amy the waitress was very polite, definitely recommend this place I’ll be back for a messy night very soon! Can’t wait

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank liam12344794949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We spent a night here with friends, the staff were friendly, the food excellent, and the room very comfortable. It was a bonus to be able to sit and enjoy a late afternoon drink outside by the river, enjoy the view and the wild life.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank Gandulph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews