We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
double doors to patio atrea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
double doors to patio atrea
state of the art kitchen spectacular view from the rooftop terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
double doors to patio atrea
state of the art kitchen
spectacular view from the rooftop terrace
outside seating area
entrance from valley footpath
bedroom wing
rooftop terrace
ñounge
outside seating area
dining room
double bedroom
ensuite shower room
view from bedroom window
bedroom
dining room
family bathroom
view from bedroom window
view from bedroom
lounge with stairs to kitchen
bedroom
well equipped kitchen
modern kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marieX723...
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I really enjoyed my stay the location was lovely and the view was great this property has been newly decorated and was warm and cosy
I had a very relaxing time with lots to see and do with lots of restaurant and bars within walking distance
I would recommend this appartment to everyone that wishes to have a relaxing holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nione
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAGAH
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, poor facilities.”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Booked via Trip Advisor and found the communication from the owner sparse. It came to the day before our visit and we hadn't been informed of when we could arrive/when we had to vacate, where I could pick up the keys, what parking was like etc. I contacted the owner for this information and received a prompt response - just a shame this wasn't included in the booking information. To clear up the parking question - there isn't any right on the property, and immediately outside is double yellow lines. Have to park (for free) on the sea front - makes bringing cases etc. inside quite labourious.

The house itself is in a fantastic location with beautiful views. Had we visited in summer it would have been amazing to have a BBQ on the terrace looking out at the sea. It is such an unusual property, and has obviously been designed very well - we found it really interesting exploring.

However there were more 'cons' than 'pros' with this property:

- Though it is advertised as suitable for children, I would disagree with this as there are 2 sets of very steep steps to access the property, these were completely inaccessible for a pram and we therefore had to carry our 5 month old down these in the rain. Didn't feel very safe as they were quite slippy. There is a gate at the bottom of the property leading onto quite a steep path that eventually connects to Saltburn bank, through the hotel at the bottom, and the coast road at the top - it was also slippy and covered in leaves so not great access for carrying cases or babies again! Also due to the steep spiral staircase in the living room leading down to the kitchen there was no way we could leave children unattended in the living area for fear they would fall down.

- No 'home comforts' were provided: hand soap, tea, coffee, dishwasher tabs etc. there was 1 toilet roll for each bathroom (luckily we found where they were stored in the house), which was never going to be enough for 5 people staying for 3 nights. There is supposedly wifi provided, but none of us (including one of our group who works with computers) could find or access the wifi, despite there being instructions in the welcome pack. Luckily there was a 3G signal ...

- The whole place smelt very strongly of mould and damp. Both bedrooms had black mould on the walls and ceilings. There was a dehumidifier running continuously in the living room but the place could do with a good scrubbing and airing out before next season. Both bathrooms had mould lining the shower and bath - a lot of mould. We found spiders and cobwebs in both bedrooms - in obvious places, we weren't looking for them! Made us wonder when it was last cleaned.

- It rained heavily for most of our stay, which resulted in the sky light in the living room leaking water onto the wooden living room floor. Actually it leaked onto the baby who was playing directly underneath it ...

In its favor it was lovely and warm and you can play with the heating settings to your hearts content! There was hot water when you needed it. There is a TV with Sky box, only picks up 'normal' channels but that was enough.
There was a lot of 'stuff' in the kitchen, but nothing of much use. Hundreds of wine glasses, but no glasses you could drink cordial out of. Might be good for parties, wasn't much use to us.

Currently I wouldn't recommend this rental to my friends for the above reasons. However, if the owners put some effort into making it less damp and moldy and provided a few home comforts I think this would improve the place no end. For the amount we paid to stay here we were very surprised at the lack of amenities. There's nothing you can do about the access except be aware before you go and make plans!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of amenities and dirty feeling.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outstanding views and warm cosy atmosphere
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
paulglia
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, interesting property, shame about the damp!”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We rented both 'the outlook' and it's neighbour 'treetops' whilst attending an important family celebration so were looking for good quality accommodation in a town we know well and love. Both properties are situated in a great location with sea views and just a short stroll to the beach and charming nearby woodland.

'Treetops' did not disappoint, being spacious, clean, comfortable, equipped with good quality furnishings, representing decent value and I would recommend this property without hesitation.

'The Outlook' unfortunately had problems with damp as mentioned in the previous review. There was a very noticeable smell of damp throughout the property despite the portable dehumidifier running constantly, as well as heating and ventilating the property throughout our stay. Visible signs of damp were also noticeable in several areas.

We carefully considered contacting the owner at the start of our stay to discuss the issue with damp, but decided to just get on with the planned family celebrations, hoping with some airing and heating the conditions would improve. Unfortunately this did not prove to be the case.

I would have expected such an obviously chronic issue to have been mentioned prior to or at our arrival and not left for us as guests to discover and then be responsible for raising with the owner.

The mattresses were not the most comfortable and possibly need replacement with ones of better quality. The accommodation is otherwise well appointed with two good sized bedrooms and bathrooms and a small lounge/dining area.

The owner was flexible with regards to our arrival and departure dates and helpful with providing the linen required to facilitate use of the extra beds in both properties (as advertised).

Overall, we found 'the Outlook' to be well located and mostly well appointed, however the issue of damp was disappointing, made for an unpleasant environment in which to stay and did not in my opinion represent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, historic interest and character of the property
Liked least: The damp and mattress quality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
“A Tale of Two Extremes – Is this your 1 star or 5 star? – A total review”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
15
people found this review helpful

I always try to be fair and balanced in my reviews and this one is the most difficult I have ever undertaken. So that you can make your mind up if this is for you, quickly, I am writing under headings that will allow you to skip anything that you’re not interested in and get to what you consider important. If at the end I have been helpful in making your mind up either for or against, please tick the “Helpful” box and encourage me to write another review.
In a Nut Shell
This property is in a great situation and for what it could be is reasonably priced. It is decorated, furnished and designed to a high standard. The location of the bedrooms and separate bathroom/toilets makes it ideal for two couples to share. It is dog friendly.
It would not be suitable for couples with young children or those with any infirmity. There are issues caused by damp and possible misuse/extra cleaning requirements.
Who is it for?
This house is in an excellent position for anyone who can walk up and down stairs or hills easily and has a good sense of balance. If this is not you stop reading now. Its design affords some lovely views and the garden is ideal for anyone who has a dog, (although the wrought iron fence has gaps large enough for small or medium sized dogs to be little escapees if they are so inclined).
The House Itself – the good aspects.
The house is built into the side of a hill and is virtually invisible from the road, being a converted Toll house for entry into the lovely valley during Victorian times. The balustrade flat roof, which is level with the pavement entry, affords some fine views over the wood and the coast line. Entry to the building and gardens is either side of the house down stone steps, (the one to the right having a hand rail - reassuring when carrying heavy cases etc.
The entrance patio has sufficient, although slightly damaged, garden furniture to allow outside eating when the sun shines and again affords a view of the sea.
The entrance and centre of the building is given to a dining area/bedroom corridor to the left, which could seat up to six, a central lounge area comfortably furnished a good standard and looking onto a spiral stair case leading down to the underground kitchen and to the right is a cloakroom area leading to the second bedroom. Both bedrooms are well furnished and of a decent size and the beds are comfortable. There is plenty of storage space.
There is more than sufficient heating throughout the house-you definitely will not be cold.
In the basement the kitchen is fully equipped , even down to champagne glasses but none of the pans is non-stick and we were pleased that we had taken our own frying pan. There is a breakfast bar which is pleasant enough but we preferred to take our meals upstairs, especially as our dog couldn’t join us in the kitchen.

The House itself – The bad aspects
The main problem is that of damp, caused because the lead flashing has become partly detached in places and instead of diverting water away is in some cases acting as a funnel. The house has a dehumidifier but it is clear that to be satisfactory the owner needs to review the situation with a professional builder. The cost of not doing so, in the long run will be far more. At the moment there is evidence of black mould around the property that makes some aspects of living there unpleasant, especially in the bedrooms. At the very least air fresheners are needed. I don’t have an axe to grind, that is just how it is – if the problem was resolved I would give the Outlook five stars and grab the chance of another booking.
The entrance to the kitchen is down an iron spiral stair case which tapers to an almost straight drop at the narrow side. Fortunately we were all able bodied and the dog had sufficient sense to realise its limitations. If you are six feet tall or above watch your head as you descend beneath the ground floor. Equally the hob vent is very low and made of glass and my taller friend cursed more than once as he tried to cook and banged his head.
The Area – Beach and Woodland
We were very pleasantly surprised at how attractive the area is, combining a long but fairly traditional beach front, trinket shops, ice cream parlours, pier etc with some beautiful walks in woods that lead right up to or from the beach. The beach has large pebbles, initially giving way to fine sand along its whole length. The areas to the right and left allow dogs on the beach and the central area is usually humans only ( Hints and Tips)The valley is strewn with tracks laid down mainly in Victorian times and forms part of the Cleveland Way which leads almost up to the Look Out. At the beach end of the valley is a children’s play area and for those that can walk further there is an Italian Garden and a delightful café.
On a more mundane level, slightly up hill and across the main road there is a sizeable Sainsbury’s supermarket down a side road.
Hints and Tips
From the Look Out there are areas of the beach for dog walking to the left and right as you face the sea. The right end is the one to go for. Not only is it nearer it is not prone to pollution. Both ends are used by numerous dog owners but are clean and “Doggy Heaven”.
The central beach, which stretches from just before the pier and in front of the sea wall/promenade, is dog forbidden up to 30th September. There are numerous small notices that tell you that it is monitored and there are fines of up to £500 for those who break the rules but we saw several instances. Your dog needs to be back on a lead when you walk along the promenade to avoid total chaos amongst school parties, open cafes and numerous furry friends.
From the promenade it is well worth taking the funicular railway at least once. It is a pound each, dogs ride free and our dog loved it so much we did it twice. At the top the road curves to your left and will take you almost directly back to your address.
Dear reader
Thank you for taking the trouble to read this review. I hope it helps you make the right choice or at least avoid the wrong one. If so, do me a favour and tick the Helpful box - for which many thanks!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$133
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing