We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz(Luz)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
491
149
30
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
149
30
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolstudio apartmenthugo beatywashing machinean adultsea viewfully equipped gymgarage doorquality accommodationseparate kitchenspa facilitiesreception stafflarge fridge freezerunderfloor heatingall mod conssky boxself catering
Filter
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Lovely apartment, we stayed in a studio apartment which is usually basic. Not this one!! Double bed, large lounge/diner, bathroom with twin basins and separate kitchen with everything you could wish for - a real home from home - washing machine, dishwasher, full oven, hob, kettle, toaster....... enough cutlery and crockery for at least 6 people. There was a welcome tray upon arrival with coffee, tea & sugar and the fridge was stocked with milk and bottled water. The lounge had air con, a TV with basic satellite channels and a hifi. All beautifully clean throughout. Ample parking if you have a car. The complex has all you need, a really nice bar/retaurant attached which served a really good breakfast - real bacon, rare indeed in foreign lands - and a limited but well cooked menu for lunch & evening meals, as well as free internet facility for adults. There are a number of bars & restaurants as well as a lovely beach within less than a 10 minute walk, although we didn't try many as the apartment was so well equipped we were happy to cook & eat in. I would say that Praia da Luz is not for party animals, the resort is small and perfect for families & couples. There is a lovely supermarket - baptista just over a 5 min walk away - well stocked and well priced. The complex caters for families and adults with a childrens pool, shared pool and a separate adults only pool area, as well as an indoor pool & health & beauty spa. No complaints, we will return later this year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welshjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This is the fifth time I have visited EdL and in general the accommodation is still very good.

However it looks like they have had another change of management and in some areas things have changed for the worst.

Check-out times changed from noon to 10am which is a real pain if you have a later flight (think the check in has gone later as well)

Maid service - still happens and towels changed beds made but linen not changed mid week

Towels for pool and gym - used to be free - now charged at 1Euro 50 each - which would mount up over a week especially with a family

Wireless internet in Hugo Beatty bar - very flakey - keeps on disconnecting - staff (getting fed up with ) having to reset the router often. Hopeless for Skype and web browsing / e-mail very slow. This seemed to annoy a lot of people that wanted to run their businesses while on holiday.

Blipper for external gate didn't work - several others seemed to have this problem and the gate was left open for some time

Fire extinguisher missing from room

Many (minor) maintenance issues need attending to eg lots of blown light bulbs

There are other areas of (minor) concern - each in there own area not hugely significant but all add up to make you wonder what next.

Seems impossible to get a good deal by going direct to the hotel anymore - offered 10pc off rack rate which is some 25pc more expensive than you can buy online but hotel insists it is their "best deal" for a regular customer.
Difficult to find someone with real authority to deal with this rather than getting standard emails

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian-Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Clean rooms, very BIG! Stayed there the last week of March and really benefited from off season rates. These were probably built to be condos, we had a three bedroom on the top floor, great view from the patio! The gym was also tremendous, plenty of good equipment. The town has some good restaurants, Cafe Atlantico is really nice. The bar/restaurant attached to the hotel, the Hugo Beaty, has a great english breakfast. Nightlife not really hopping during the off season, but wasn't there for that.

Room Tip: A real deal during the off season
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank throckmortonSanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I have just returned from a week in this resort and cannot fault it in any way. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and very well equipped - just like home from home! The staff were also very helpful and when I complained about one minor thing, it was sorted immediately without any fuss. We liked the fact that there was an adult only pool area, so no screaming children running around you. The hotel is also well located in the resort being a short walk from beach, bars and shops. Will be booking here again later this year with my husband.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Telsy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Went to Estrela da Luz in May. Nice location about 10 mins walk from the beach.
Booked a studio apartment and when we arrived found that even though the studio apartment was large there was only a sofa bed for the sleepling arrangements.
When we queried this with reception (who are really only a management company managing these private apartments) they told us that all the studio apartments have sofa beds in them. We complained as the mattress in only about 3cm thick and they eventually upgraded us to a one bed apartment with a proper bed. Reception said it had been advertised with a sofa bed but we couldn't see it. Can't see why they have sofa beds as the studios are big enough to accomodate a bed.
Apart from that nice place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrianandBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews