We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
105
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whole family pool bar lovely family wrap around balcony wedding planner jaw dropping run family business breakfasts and lunches lovely bar perfect holiday excellent hosts next year small complex nearby restaurants entire stay overlooking the sea local beach
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Our first visit to the Villa Rosa, we were looked after wonderfully by Joy and Mum Rosa. The food prepared by Rosa was excellent - even managed to get my husband to have his first Greek Salad. Our room lead onto a patio and onto the beautiful gardens. The view sitting in bed from the window overlooking the Aegean was a sight to behold. Joy could not me more helpful and attended to all our needs. A big thank you.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank fansKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

We came here for the final few days of our holiday after a week in a private villa. We were concerned that coming to a shared accommodation may have felt disappointing after that, but this was certainly not the case!
Every aspect of our stay was delightful, from our initial email communications with Pierros (who we coincidentally met at the airport introduced by our Villa-Select rep) to our surprise gifts left by our hosts in our fridge (incredible fresh fruit and nut salad in cinnamon and bottle of wine!) on our wedding anniversary!
The ground floor apartment and studio we booked for our family of 5 were immaculately clean, comfortable beds, breathtaking views and regular maid service.

The swimming pool is out of this world, (careful...it gets deep!) with ocean views and snack bar service. Crystal clear water and beautifully designed poolside seating and eating areas. A delightful, friendly ambiance.
The garden area is incredibly beautiful. Grass so spongey it feels like rubber to walk on. The planting is divine and the views are totally captivating.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The family who run it are warm and welcoming. The service is as good as I have in 5* hotels.
We will definitely be returning. Miss you already!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Minimumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

We stay in nearby Karavados (1/2 km away) each year and visit Villa Rosa regularly.

A lovely clean pool, great views, excellent service and we're welcomed year after year as visitors. Can't vouch for accommodation, although it looks lovely. Families look as though they're having an amazing time abs based on other reviews, I can thoroughly believe that.

Excellent family business and puts other nearby pool bars to shame.

Definitely drop in if you're in Trapezaki or Karavados and have the fig salad whilst taking in the views.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Darryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

It was our first time at Villa Rosa, we booked on the basis of the wonderful reviews here, and the amazing photos. Having sickened of the factory-farming of all-inclusive resorts, we were looking for something less structured, and with fewer people..
Booking directly is always a risk, but any unease soon evaporated following an excellent email correspondence with Pierros about our booking. He was really helpful in organising our car hire and our pick-up from the airport (Dennis in his taxi!). We felt excited to see whether the place lived up to the hype.
When we arrived (late at night), Joy was there to welcome us, and we were surprised and relieved not to have to do all the paperwork and ‘settling up’ there and then. Joy told us to relax after our journey, and sleep and we would sort it all out tomorrow. Already, we were impressed.
We woke up to views which were more amazing than the photos, and could see that the gardens and grounds were beautifully-kept. In fact, although the interior of the apartment at Villa Rosa was clean, comfortable and functional, the main attraction is definitely the outside area.
We had a wrap-around verandah, on three sides of the apartment, and could see across to Zakynthos and all around the bay. Occasionally sailboats or luxury yachts made their way across the bay, and in the distance the ferry to Zakynthos from Pessada could be seen several times a day.
In the garden, there are abundant fig trees, apricot trees, palm trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea, and lots of areas to sit out and enjoy the breeze.
The pool was beautiful, clean and well-maintained, with plenty of sunbeds,and shady chairs and tables close by. It felt like being on the deck of a ship, as, over the railings, were uninterrupted views of the bay. There’s a deep end, a shallow end, and a small baby area. It’s easy to keep an eye on the children from the sunbed area.
The pool bar was manned by Joy, and occasionally Rosa herself, and has hot and cold drinks, snacks, breakfast and lunch food,and ice-creams, and a shady terrace. Some days we were happy to just have one of Rosa’s delicious Greek Salads at lunchtime and eat no more (apart from a cheeky ice-cream!). Joy was kind enough to let us keep a tab behind the bar, so that the children could get a drink or ice-cream easily, and we didn’t have to carry any cash. There’s a grassy lawn behind the bar which my daughter and her new friends used to have a gymnastics practice most days.
Which brings me to the children: they were never out of the pool, and previous guests had left various lilos and water toys, which our two used, and added to, of course. They were in a perpetual state of bliss, and as anyone knows, a happy child means a happy parent. The other families that were there (I think there were four or five) also had children. They were lovely families who also were involved with their children, and we took it in turns to supervise. Whether we were just lucky, or this is the norm at Villa Rosa, I don’t know, but we were relieved. It never felt busy, too noisy or ‘too much’by the pool, and again, we were glad we chose to do something different this year. It was just enough company to stop us getting bored, but definitely plenty of time spent alone, as a family.
This was a wonderful holiday, with a lovely personal touch by the very hospitable Georgatos family, and all our needs were catered for at Villa Rosa. I cannot recommend it highly enough. We felt seriously spoilt by the location, and we are going to have a tough job finding somewhere as good for next year – who knows, we may go back!

Points to note:

• You definitely need to hire a car. If you didn’t have one, you could walk to the mini-market, a couple of tavernas or the local Trapezaki beach, but anything else would be too far.
• There was never any problem getting a sunbed (or four) at Villa Rosa, at any time of the day, and we were there at the height of the season. We had been so tired of the stressful and escalating game of ‘sunbed-baggsy’ which seems to be normal at even the best all-inclusive resorts and hotels elsewhere, and were overjoyed at not having to play this year..
• You need to bring beach towels, but a hairdryer is provided, so you can leave that at home.

General notes and recommendations about Kefalonia:

• There is a coastal drive from Argostoli to Fiskardo which has jaw-dropping, humbling views. Never has the word ‘wow’ been so over-used as in our car on that journey!
• Fiskardo, Asso and Sami were lovely to visit – lots of sailboats and yachts moored, nice cafes and restaurants, and bjou shops.
• Eating out at tavernas was just amazing value, with a full meal for a family of four, and drinks for mum and dad, coming to the equivalent of £35-40. The strength of the pound helped here, but it is definitely cheaper than in Spain or Italy, and probably Turkey too…
• If you are looking for a lively time, at a hustling resort with lots of English pubs, entertainment and razzmatazz, this is not the island, or the holiday for you. There are no fast-food places. We didn’t see any nightclubs (but weren’t looking), or groups of teenagers travelling and partying alone.
• Also, if you haven’t been before, Greece is a dress-down kind of place, so you don’t need much in the way of dressy evening clothes, heels, make-up etc..
• If you are looking for an authentic Greek experience, with incredible scenery, nature, food and friendly and relaxed locals, look no further. You will be enchanted….
• We saw no crime, and few police. It felt very safe.
• The roads are twisty, hilly and narrow, but very quiet. The car hire companies generally give you a small car, like a Fiat Panda, or a Nissan Note, but this is because the roads are narrow, and parking is normally roadside, so it’s probably worth giving it a go, instead of automatically going for an upgrade.

Room Tip: Willl not go room with any apartment here..
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank YummyMummy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

Thank you Joy and Rosa for looking after us. You definitely go the whole hog!!☺ We loved our apartment which had wonderful views, clean, comfortable and very very quiet. It was so lovely to wake up with a view of the sea and enjoy breakfast on our wrap around balcony.
Thank you also for my providing us wyith lunch to suite my fiancé 's dietary needs!
We will definitely be back again and stay in our apartment again.

Thank you Pierros and Dennis for sorting our transport, both car hire and taxi.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jaquisings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews