We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place; We will definitely stay here in future.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous place; We will definitely stay here in future.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 16th December 20111 fro two weeks. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about the place, the all inclusive style. The hotel and gardens are very spacious and the food is absolutely worth putting on extra Kilos ! They also have a nice gym to burn it off. Although they need modernization of their rooms, they were spacious with ample space for a longer stay. Our room was facing the gardens and a distant sea view . We made good friends from Germany.

The best thing we liked was there way to set out all the vegetarian food separably from the non-veg with a separate vegetarian station and clear labeling. They had Indian, continental and some Russian dishes and lots of fresh fruits. What more one can want on a holiday !

Room Tip: There are only ground and first floor rooms scattered in a very ground howevr avoid nearer the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trupti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    570
    162
    41
    18
See reviews for
463
745
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel is 200% recommended for stay such a great ambiance , live music in evening swimming pool inside (although didnt used it) Great breakfast buffet , Very near to the beach so best location and shares same beach as of Leela. This hotel have less indians as tourists maybe thats the reason the boat ride they offer the persons doing it is more interested in interacting with foreign tourists in hope to get more tips than Indian tourists .

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidsofshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEAFORD EAST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Arrived at Dona Sylvia 5th February for our 4 week holiday. As we got off the coach we were greeted by the lovely staff there. We had lunch and then got taken to our room (No 32 next to housekeeping) we stayed there last year and thought that it was in a good position. We met loads of people that we had seen other years and had lots of laughs. We thought that Mama Mia's was better this year however you only get 1 ticket per week whereas last year you got 2. We managed to change the curries and kebabs for another 2 Mama Mia's so that was good.
We suffered quite badly with 2 separate bouts of Delhi Belly in the end getting the doctor in for the injection. This was the best option as it was getting near the end of the holiday and did the trick.
A large group of Russians were noisy and arrogant, and were also getting food from Mama Mia's snack bar and taking it to the Haystack and giving it to other Russians who were staying at the Radisson. This got reported and was soon stopped.
Once again the Valentines night was very good, the staff worked so hard getting it all ready.
We experienced the elections whilst we were there and it was quite funny really. Lets just say we did not go without booze.
Other years we have visited the same shack every day but this time we decided to vary it a bit. We found our favourite to be GG's. The beds were very comfy and a good distance apart. The chips were also very good and you did not get hassled to visit their jewellers shop.
We were a bit disappointed that we would not be going through the domestic end to check in this year but our coach was the first to arrive at the airport so there was no queueing to check in and the Immigration queue was quite quick.
All in all another great holiday.
All in all a great holiday

Room Tip: If you are not happy with the allocated room, go to reception and asked to be changed. Don't su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

we have just come back at the end of feb/2012 from the Dona Sylia beach resort after our 8th winter holiday there people ask us why do we go back every winter well after holidaying in most places around the world you can not beat the weather there but it is the hotel that brings us back the bunglows are not 5* but they are very clean and have every thing you nead they are doing upgrading they have a kettle tea coffee ext very good aircon which has been upgraded from last year plenty of free drinking water and all the clean towels you could want, the grounds are amazing worked on every day to keep them tip top, the seagull buffet restaurant is open for breakfast,lunch and dinner ok we are in India so there is lots of curry but also other dishes you only have to ask and they will do there best to cook for you ,also twice a week they set out a great open air dinner at the haystack with lights candles on every table the waiters bring you drinks help yourself to starters, main,and sweets, the MAMA MIA GRILL is a must you get one free ticket for every week your there the tables are laid out by the Hotel pool waiter service we had an amassing steak there the lemon tart to die for, the Kebabs n Kurries is ok but for us the seagull curry was better the hotel has a nice large pool but can get very hot we prefer the short walk to the beach were you get a cool wind off the sea thre are Shacks on the beach with sunbeds we do not bother going back to the hotel for lunch as the food is freshly cooked and very cheap we use the SILVER SANDS run by Mario a lunch for two with drinks is only 400-500 pupees, there is enternment most nights in the hotel not night clubs and live enternment on Haystack nights,all the staff are very helpful and friendly and the front lobby desk will always help you with anything you nead on that note i would like to thank Sannie,Maxy,Gita,and all the team who work so hard to make our holiday a home from home just outside the hotel there are plenty of local shops and restaurants we eat out a few times at the family places as it is very cheap and it is nice to meet the local people(very safe to walk out)we like a base and the DS has it all for us a great chill out holiday with nice people our home from home we have booked for next year cannot wait to be back.the only downside we found this year was the new Radisson hotel next door they all took a shortcut from there though the DS to the beach they did make a lot of noise and cut though people around the pool we were told they had there own path but it was quicker to take our path to the beach i do hope will be sorted by next year they were even useing the DS pool and lobby other than that we will see how it goes next year i do hope it will not be our last holiday there as so many people were unhappy with this.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank holidaymad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had a brilliant two weeks here in January, amazing weather, brilliant food, huge beach, great service, clean rooms and fantastic food!!
Loved how the rooms were all little bungalows rather than a big hotel block, really added to the feeling of privacy and it never felt crowded at the resort. We had a room with a shared balcony but this really wasn't a problem as there is so much space at the resort/beach we never used the balcony.

The room and the resort in general were kept spotless by the brilliant staff working constantly to keep everything looking great. Our room was cleaned thoroughly every day, despite us getting sand all over the place!! Also two fresh bottles of water in the room every day, and they'd always send more if you asked at reception.
Only problem with the room was that the A/C unit didn't work, but the ceiling fan was more than enough to keep the room cool even in nearly 40 degress so it was not a problem as we wouldn't of used it anyway. I'm sure had we reported it they'd of sorted it straight away, reception were always very helpful.

The resort had a great pool with lots of space around it, but we hardly spent any time there due to the huge beach less than a 5 minute walk from the rooms. Never seen such a huge beach, we walked for an hour and a half in one direction one day and still couldn't see the end of it! And bar a few beach shacks, it's just empty which is brilliant. The hotels don't own/use the beach which adds to it's beautiful simplicity, just a collection of beach shacks in the areas where the hotels pathway to the beach ends. As soon as you walk along away from there it's just empty space!

Loads of beds on the beach which are free to use as long as you buy the odd drink (about 20 rupees, nothing!) Only one shack was rude and insisted you ate lunch there to use their beds, so we just moved along. Only negative about the beach was the abundance of sellers on walking up and down, but once you give them the message you're not interested they will move on. (trick is to simply say 'no' rather than let them get you into a conversation, seems rude but they will pester you then)

Best bit about the resort for us was the food. We had worried that after two weeks the buffet would get repetitive and monotonous, but I don't think in the whole two weeks did they repeat a dish, especially impressive given the amount of choice each day! Obviously the curry was superb with plenty of choice, but also just as much great western food if you needed a break from the indian food! Also brilliant for vegetarians, with the main buffet area being veggie. But still plenty of great meat dishes too.
Twice a week they did the buffet dinner out in the garden with some entertainment which was a nice change.

Also a nice touch to have a dinner included at each a la carte restaurant. The grill restaurant beside the pool was brilliant, they really transformed the area at night and the food was superb. Then the 'kebabs & kurries' restaurant was top class indian food, and so much of it included! Well up there with the best indian food I've had. But we still had some of our best meals at the buffet restaurant which proves the quality they produce everyday. The paneer curries were addictive!

Goa itself was fantastic too, we booked a taxi from reception one day, and for 3000 rupees (about £40?) we did a tour of south goa for about ten hours. They had a set route but were happy to change it to where you wanted to go. The driver would wait for you at each place until you were ready to move on. (Definitely make sure you visit the spice plantation if you do go out, and if you go at lunch the buffet lunch (included in the tour price) is brilliant!

All in all it was a brilliant relaxing holiday with perfect weather throughout. Brilliant food in a really relaxing environment. Plenty of tourism and culture available when wanted but great to retreat back to the tranquillity of the resort!

When hearing people there say it's there 10th, 15th or even 20th time at Dona Sylvia, I can definitely see why! When we return to goa, it will definitely be to Dona Sylvia.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
1.8 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
15.1 km away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
37.7 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Property: Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Address: | Cavelossim Beach, Mobor, Next to Radisson Blu, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort is spread over 20 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the southern coast of Goa, it nestles by the soft white sands of Cavelossim beach. The Resort offers comfortable air-conditioned rooms with all modern amenities in Mediterranean style villas with balconies and open sit-outs. The Resort has excellent conference facilities, extensive options for outdoor events / theme parties and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing