We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gaffino's Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is our fourth visit to Goa, second to Cavelossim. Last year (Feb 2011) we used to pass Gaffinos and could see how busy the restaurant and bar was which prompted us to book it this year. It was not until after we had booked that I found a review saying that money had gone missing from the safety deposit boxes and started to worry. However, when we arrived all the staff had been changed apparently resulting from similar reports. The problem was, with the exception of the manager the staff did not speak English. It was a challenge to find out whether you would receive tea or coffee for breakfast. As they could not get breakfast right it comes as no surprise that the restaurant was empty most nights. A group of 6 came in for dinner about 10pm, as they had eaten there for many years, received their meal about 11pm and said they would never return. We asked for an air-con room which we got, but it was on the top floor and had a second shower in the bathroom-namely the leak from the ceiling. I reported to the manager the water was coming down the wall on the hallway and through the light switches, and he told Brian Gaffinos, who was at the bar, who replied 'the water tank is leaking and the electrics are insulated'! Good ownership skills

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disappointed838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2011

We never stayed at Gaffinos,but we ate and drank in it,the staff were tremendous,really friendly and helpful,they couldn't do enough for us,Jeevan the manager,Willie and Sam were always smiling and happy and the food was typical Indian and Goan,delicious,this place is definately worth a couple of visits,don't bother about the doom merchants,go and judge by yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankandviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We went to visit our friends who were staying at Gaffinos, infact, the previous review by Nancy, is about the two couples who we visited! This place is old, tired, and needs to jump quickly into the current day! As one of the first places to stay in Cavelossim it should be proud of it's longevity! But unless they sort things out, it won't survive! The rooms are dark and dingy, and basic is what you get, the lack lustre staff haven't got a clue really, they run out of alcohol all the time ( despite knowing they have guests that drink certain brands) do yourself a favour and go elsewhere - I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy !

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

As two couples we have travelled 4 times to Goa, and this is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We do not book 5 star anytime and are used to quite basic in Goa - but here is basic and basic and this is definately basic. Beds are like sleeping on blocks of concrete, towels scratch your skin off. The rooms were clean which is the best I can say about this hotel. Take ear plugs as the dogs next door bark and howl. The staff really could not give a damn apart from Manuel who really tries to help but does not have the authority to do anything. If you check out their beach shack it is probably the biggest on the beach but no one goes there which wll tell you a lot. Beach Shade shack next door is always packed the food is great and provided you have something to eat there sunbeds are free. They also make sure that you are really looked after. Mrs Watson (Watsons shop next to the gaffinos) is a delight and Mrs Watson became the highlight of of holday as she had a great sense of humour, especially when she put sleeping tablets in the dogs food so we could get some sleep!! Love you Mrs Watson. Anyway to finish off - Mobor beach is an amazing resort with some fanastic people just do yourselves a favour spend just a little bit more and stay away from the Gaffinos

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186262Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I have been staying in this hotel a lot many years, somettimes for 2-3 days sometimes just for a day. I been staying here from 1996 i think atleast 4-5 times or more in a year.

I like the hotel cause its not very expensive and has a very very friendly atmosphere. The staff is extremely freindly, (Although I will not say the same about the owner.) helpfull and nice. The restaurant situation and ambience is just great. The settting and furniture of the restaurant makes you feel relaxed.

The rooms are very clean and so are the toilets. Amenities are very basic but good. Best is there is no TV in the room. Food quality is good and fresh.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aminkavle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.0 km away
Colonia Jose' Menino Resort
0.0 km away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
921 reviews
0.0 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#6 of 10 in Cavelossim
209 reviews
0.0 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,296 reviews
0.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaffino's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaffino's Beach Resort

Address: Mobor Beach, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Price Range: €20 - €23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gaffino's Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and LoveHolidays so you can book your Gaffino's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaffinos Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Gaffino's Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing