We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
425
232
96
48
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
232
96
48
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fins restaurant beach boys the general manager our honeymoon breakfast and dinner beach restaurant half board kids club animation team masai mara fresh towels sea facing private beach beach beds white sand indian ocean lovely beach
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and i together with our 8 month baby stayed at Diani Reef for 4 nights. If you are traveling with a baby/ small kid this avoid this hotel. The only good thing about this hotel is the outdoor swimming and beach area. And the rest of it just bad and worst.. Starting with the rooms were quite average and dark. The next thing food my wife and i are foodies we love food we travel and go to different places just to eat food and we are vegetarians. The food here was just bland & bad, the food that was served during lunch time was served again for dinner. The breakfast was just ok with no variety. We started skipping meals at the hotel and eating outside in other hotels. The other thing you need to know they dont provide breakfast/lunch/dinner as in-room service if you are on full board even if you there with your kid. If you want to order something or even have your meal/breakfast in your room you have to pay for it. We were not told about the evening/snacks and tea found out on our 2nd day when we were passing by the area. The service was below average, we were told because it was in Aug and they had many people all service requests took time i.e bringing water or extra pillow, when we had to order our baby's puree took 1 hr and they had not blended it well 1st time so called them back to make it right took another 30mints. For a 3/4 star hotel like you'd expect more. Iv stayed at many places in Dian. This place is not cheap, if your paying to stay at such 4 star a hotel you would expect good service, rooms, and some great food. But this had none with food being the worst vegetarian food iv ever had in Diani.

Room tip: Parents with kids book your room closer to the reception/dinning area.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirJu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianireefbeachresort, Resort Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa!

Guest feedback is of utmost importance as it helps us understand which aspects of our hospitality require improvement. We regret the issues that you had to face during your stay with us. We assure you that this is a rare occurrence at our hotel and we always ensure to keep our website and guests updated with all the services we provide. We’ve duly noted your feedback regarding the culinary spread and accommodation, and shared with the concerned department for immediate rectification.

We hope you won’t judge us based on this one incident and give us another opportunity to host you with better services and hospitality.

Best Regards,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A bit of a grand dame that lost her youthful bloom. Nice hotel with a lovely beach. However the rooms have a faintly musty smell thats a bit unpleasant but not noticeable if you keep your windows open...watch out for monkeys though!
Well dressed room but old stains on the sheets and towels.
Very nice, helpful and friendly staff.
Food was ok. Nice breakfast buffet and the chef was happy to oblige in adding a few items to the lunch buffet.
Ask for the sea facing rooms .

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank StellaE146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianireefbeachresort, Resort Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Guest,

Greetings from Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking out time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that our breakfast buffet, sea facing accommodation and hospitality added value to your stay. We assure you that we are updated with the current trends and keep upgrading our property to give the best of stay experience. However, we regret the issue that you had to face and shared the same with the team for necessary rectifications.

We hope you’ll give us another opportunity to host you with better services and facilities. Do connect with us through our social media channels and stay updated on upcoming offers and promotions.

Best Regards,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

I'm afraid i'm really late leaving this review but it was my first visit to Kenya after my husband retired from military life after serving 23 yrs and this was our reward. Beautiful hotel, clean, friendly and room overlooking the gardens into the sea with balcony was just lovely. The staff were great, it was March and a stonking 42c.We had the time of our lives, arranged through locals to go up to Masai Mara, i definitely recommend using the locals as we were on same little flight as clients rep had organised, we were straight off into an open landrover and away whilst the rest of the plane crammed into buses with a tiny little opening in the roof!
6 of us organised this with a guy just outside along the road, they couldn't do enough. Everywhere is dangerous, look at London! we were well looked after, we stayed up on the gated camp on Masia with electric fending but oh my god, amazing huge big tents with full ensuite bathroom in them and raised wooden beds! We had 3 game drives and we saw a lot of animals! The only one we didn't see was a rhino. amazing exp amazing holiday and one which really set the benchmark quite high.

If you are thinking of going, this hotel sits on something like an 11 mile stretch of beach, it is beautiful and the water was 29c! Crystal clear and pure as the bounty ads.

There are fish under glass as you walk in reception area, niche but good. Food was good, everything was just fine and we did go back to a different hotel but it wasn't the same.
We took a private driver to take us into Mombasa via ferry for the day to visit Fort Jesus etc and we paid a local guide, it is so worth sorting this yourself as it is really cheap. The guide left us and we waited patiently on a street sidewalk for our driver, we were safe the whole time.
Go, see for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Room tip: Room ha balcony overlooking the pool and sea view, not noisey
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianireefbeachresort, Resort Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa!

Thank you for the perfect star rating and for taking out time to share such a wonderful review on this esteemed travel platform to make our day. We are glad that you found our hotel clean, beautiful and enjoyed the view from the balcony. It gives us pleasure to read that our associates were friendly and your stay was made better with our excellent culinary spread. Your kind commendations have been shared with the team and received with much gratitude.

It was a pleasure serving you and we are looking forward to welcome you back for many such enriching stays. Do follow us on the social media for the latest updates.

Best Regards,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Worst stay ever, superior sea facing room was so small, not well maintain, dirty & so was the bathroom. The jacuzzi looks like a joke see attached pic. Service was also parthetic, moved to nearby hotel that has better views, more spacious rooms with better hygine. Dont waste your money here.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Jetinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianireefbeachresort, Resort Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa!

It’s prime endeavor to offer our guests with a comfortable stay experience. However, we regret that the same was not achieved during your visit. While such is not the norm here, your concerns regarding the rooms, Jacuzzi and services have been noted for immediate rectification.

We hope that you’ll give us another opportunity to welcome you back with the excellence that we are known for and reinstate your faith in us.

Best Regards,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

This place was beautiful with a beautiful beach and pools too and the staff were friendly the hotel was huge the salon was a lovely experience but expensive the rooms let it down they smelt of damp and the bathrooms were old and needed updating we had issues with the shower and the bedding the staff were helpful but for this kind of hotel it really needs updating. The best was the afternoon tea and the food the chefs waiters waitresses all were friendly experienced and provided a professional and happy experience for us all even when it rained all day. Just the bathroom and hotel rooms let this place down

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Husnatalati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianireefbeachresort, Resort Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa!

Thank you for reviewing us on this esteemed platform. It makes us happy to know that our strategic location, pool side area, helpful associates, amazing salon and culinary spread added value to your stay. We have duly shared your commendations with the team and received with much gratitude. Also, your kind suggestions have been forwarded to the management for the requisite amendments to be done at the earliest.

It was a pleasure serving you and your loved ones. We look forward to welcoming you back for many such enriching stays. Do follow us on social media for the latest updates.

Best Regards,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews