We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,482)
Filter reviews
1,482 results
Traveller rating
699
508
162
61
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
508
162
61
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grill main restaurant beach boys half board all inclusive package nyama choma animation team water aerobics f b manager day safari evening entertainment masai dancers choice of restaurants beach volleyball indian food fantastic holiday beach bar
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,482 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is not up to the 4 star rating and suffers from very poor rooms, untrained staff, repeated and recycled food. The good is the natural beach and the lovely pools. Some staff are gems and carry this hotel. So good holiday outside the rooms and on the beach. Most Staff need to realise they are working for the customers. Management need to address this, create a team spirit. Restaurant staff look away at guests carrying their own luggage rather then trying to help. Poor show.
Don't take room 154 - tv makes noise like one is frying chips ; shower needs a massage to work. No fridge.
Don't ask the chefs on duty for anything special to your taste / they make you feel you better go to another restaurant. Sorry. Too many negatives but it seems management dont care or don't have solutions so good luck to them.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Madhav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Madhav,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Southern Palms Beach Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the beach, pools and very much appreciate your positive comments about our staff.

We are sorry that there are some areas you did not feel as positive about during your stay and we have taken note of all details to improve on our customer service to ensure that all guests staying with us enjoys a memorable holiday to look forward to.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for what we trust would be a much more enjoyable stay.

Thank you and best regards
Nellie Njonjo
GUESTS RELATIONS MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good value for the rates they charge. Staff is friendly and the food options are plenty. Massive pools make the resort a great relaxation spot and the beach is just unbeatable. Drink options in the all inclusive have some wines and local spirits .. More than enough!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KaiUWulff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear KaiUWulff,

Thank you for being our Guest and for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay in Southern Palms Beach Resort.
It was a pleasure for us to have an opportunity to make your stay and your holidays with us an enjoyable experience.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back again.

Warm regards
Nellie Njonjo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

At the beginning of our trip- the staff (on the ground) are really super! Friendly! Good amenities with pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable staff especially at the dive Centre. Hotel grounds neat and spacious. Pity no active tour desks or anyone to book tours with-even worse is no one at reception could advise on when the tour desks would be open. Lovely drinks on arrival but a pity to find the room upgrade paid for (in advance) had clearly been ignored. An honest mistake is one thing but what speaks loudest is how it is handled. Upon notifying reception, the manager on duty (Ruth) who we had personally corresponded with regarding confirming the upgrade could not even bother to come out and apologize or advise that the matter had been corrected. Even worse when it clearly states on the wall she's the manager on duty at the time-badly handled Ruth and after a long travel I definitely would have preferred a smooth checkin process. The pool bar is fantastic. On a separate note, caution transfers from the airport and rather take the taxi. It's not a quick transfer and takes in the region of 2 hours. Surcharge for hiring the safe but spacious rooms.

Room Tip: Go all inclusive and opt for a sea facing room, preferably on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lotter,

Thank you for being our Guest and for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay in Southern Palms Beach Resort.

We appreciate your positive comments about our resort, friendly staff, good amenities and lovely welcome drink.

We are however very apologetic for the manner in which your requests were handled. All our Tour Agents have their respective desks with different timings here in the Resort where guests can meet the Tour Representative and book excursions. We have raised this issue with our Front office Team so that this error may not be repeated to inconvenience our guests in future.

The Manager on duty as she had previously communicated with you was supposed to meet you on arrival to address all your concerns. We have however addressed the issue with her to ensure that it is not repeated again.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Thank you once again for choosing Southern Palms Beach Resort for your holiday.

With best regards
Nellie Njonjo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We were attending wedding at southern Palm .Rooms are not maintained well .All sanitary fittings taps showers and cistern furniture require replacement.Despite being such nice beach location, management neglects hotel rooms which is their main source of income.we were not provided towels till next day evening despite calls to reception n house keeping .Linens and towels require replacement.Food provided breakfast lunch and dinner was very good taste.Tv are very old style .Pool is very nice and well maintained.It looks may be they offer cheaper rate and ignore maintenance.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sureprogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sureprogr,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Southern Palms Beach Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the food, beach and the pool.

We're very sorry that the resort did not live up to your expectations in ensuring all amenities in your room and the equipments were up to the required standard.

We have noted your concerns and will work upon them to improve our standards for all our other guests in future.

Thank you once again for choosing Southern Palms Beach Resort for your stay.

Kind Regards
Nellie Njonjo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Stayed at Southern Palms for 4 nights before a safari and 7 nights after. The staff at this hotel are the main asset - very friendly, helpful, courteous and with lovely smiles on their faces.
The rooms are a bit dated but kept spotlessly clean.Very good pool and a lovely beach. A number of activities if you need them. We had an all inclusive package. There was plenty of food available and we could always find something to eat. I think breakfast and lunch were the best meals.

The entertainment was not to my taste and as our rooms were near that area we found it quite loud. It did finish at 11:00pm.

Wi-fi is poor and only available in certain places.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entertainment area if you need to get to sleep before it ends or you have young children.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ruthbwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ruthbwt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at Southern Palms Beach Resort!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your compliment on the cleanliness of the resort. We are also glad to hear that you loved our beach, pool and enjoyed the food. Thank you also for appreciating our staff, it’s always a pleasure to be able to share reviews like this with them and show them what a positive impact they have on our guests.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Nellie Njonjo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews