We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
221
19
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
19
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an extensive menu turtle hatchery fantastic boutique hotel beach boys each meal african art out of this world junior suite ukunda airstrip home away from home ocean view comfortable rooms little things heaven on earth south coast amazing place buy something
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We had the pleasure of staying at Afrochic in June 2015. Service was first class from the moment we arrived at Ukunda airport and throughout the entire stay. We didn't imagine we could have such a fun and restful experience at a hotel with our 5 year old and 2 year old kids, but everyone at Afrochic made sure we were always very comfortable. Many thanks to the staff for all they did - especially for babysitting the kids while my wife and I wandered off down the beach for our daily workouts!

Special mention goes out to Top Chef Masudi. Thank you so much for making every meal a memorable culinary experience. Your talent is unique and will never be forgotten!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rongewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at AfroChic Diani, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

Thank you so very much for making time to write your review. We are delighted to hear that your experience was memorable and that you enjoyed Masudi's food. He is well known here in Kenya and delights in looking after guests' particular requests. We hope you will visit us again in the not to distant future.
Many thanks
Richard and The AfroChic Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

This small beach house was the best accommodation for our family holiday. We were 22 of us with 6 children and it was amazing. The staff are so friendly and accommodating that made our stay a lasting memory. The food was outstanding and thus we all picked up lots of weight. The rooms are large spacious and have everything you would wish for on a holiday. It was a luxury 7 days and I would come here again and again.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 663aartir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at AfroChic Diani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

AfroChic felt empty after you all left! Your family certainly created a wonderful atmosphere whilst you were with us. We loved that you all came from different countries and cities for a very special reunion that was clearly close to your hearts! The AfroChic team were delighted to look after you and enjoyed themselves whilst doing so!
We shall meet again and we at AfroChic look forward to that very much! We hope you arrived home feeling relaxed and rejuvenated from your beach holiday
Warm wishes to a lovely family!
Richard and the Afrochic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

The service was good, but as we were a small family I felt we got forgotten as the larger groups over shadowed us. A couple of times the dishes we had ordered came with other things than we were expecting and we were only informed after the dish had been placed on our table and we had to ask why a certain item was missing or replaced - would have been better to tell us as we ordered. Our children were really well taken care of food wise. They made whatever we asked for at whatever time we wanted it - love the whole eat what you want at whatever time you want attitude, perfect with children. Lovely well maintained pool and beach strip. The room was perfect, clean and hot powerful showers.

Room tip: Punda milia for families
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgoflyakite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at AfroChic Diani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it’s much appreciated. We so enjoyed hosting you and your family – great to hear the children had a super time! We were very sad to hear your feedback on our service delivery – I have discussed your very valid points at length with the staff so that this doesn’t occur again and we continue to uphold the highest standards here at AfroChic. We do hope you’ll come back and see us again soon one day.
Best wishes
Richard and all at AfroChic Diani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Diani beach an the Indian Ocean is a very special place. Finding Afro chic: a small, boutique hotel where staff look after your every need with friendly efficiency, is the icing on the cake! Richard the manager is a delightful and diligent man who runs a happy, efficient and welcoming hotel. Everywhere is spotless, the pool, gardens and beach are beautiful and there are plentiful spots to relax and snooze.... or, like our children, play all day in the water! Mealtimes are at the time of your choice, which is so helpful, and whilst the menu is vast,chef will prepare anything that you might need! The food is consistently fresh and delicious. You can stay a week and still be exploring the menu ! The rooms are well appointed, very comfortable and the sea views stunning. We have enjoyed every minute of our two two week long stays, and we are all always sad to leave. Children of 5 and 9 made to feel very welcome and we can't wait to visit again! A real gem of a little hotel. Thank you to you all for everything! One of our favourite holidays ever! Elaine, Nev, Finlay and Kitty.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at AfroChic Diani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Dear Elaine, Nev, Finlay and Kitty
How kind of you to take time to post such a fantastic review – it’s lovely to see a familiar face at AfroChic and we hope that you and your family will indeed be back again soon – be in relaxing under the palms or splashing about In the pool!
Best wishes
Richard and all at AfroChic Daini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

On our honeymoon for 4 days after doing a 4 day Safari in Borana.
AfroChic is beautiful!!! The staff were more then accommodating, so friendly and constantly smiling! They were always up for a joke but were so attentive! The food was out of this world and so much choice!
Looking at going back next year to celebrate our 1year anniversary!
The beaches are beautiful but were spoiled by the beach boys - we only managed to walk on the beach once but the security guard had to help us as we were being mobbed by the local.
I can't wait to go back to be spoilt and treated like royalty!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank h3101Lfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at AfroChic Diani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

We are really chuffed with your lovely feedback – thank you! We love hosting honeymooners and the two of you were great company. All the staff very much enjoyed getting to know you and were only happy to treat you both as resident royalty!
Do hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Richard and all at AfroChic Daini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews