We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Cesky Sternberk Castle
from US$95.56
More Info
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
95
34
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
95
34
10
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

This castle is now in possession of the Štenberk family who also owned it before the confiscation during the 40's.The family is taking care of it pretty well and it is visible that this castle is important to it's owners.
Interiors and collections are interesting and well maintained. Our guide was knowledgeable and was able to attract attention of visitors to various small details worth noticing. Definitely this castle is worth visiting.
On a negative side unfortunately the parking lot is too small for the amount of people coming to visit and even small pets are not allowed to enter. To be sincere children are causing more damage to the items and wallpapers of the castle rather than a little dog in a bag, so it could be something for castle management to think about.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank lera_nechaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

After the castle of Hluboka above Vltava, the castle of Steenberkov was not impressed either from the outside (also being reconstructed), or by the interior decoration, and the excursion itself, because of the large number of people, smeared the impression, t. All the people did not fit in small rooms and had to spread out over several rooms.
После замка Глубока над Влтавой, замок Штенберков не впечатлил, ни снаружи(к тому же идет реконструкция), ни внутренним убранством, да и сама экскурсия из-за большого количества людей смазала впечатление, т.к. в маленькие комнаты не умещались все люди и приходилось растекаться на несколько помещений.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Andrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

The castle is situated at one of the best places, at the top of a hill whilst the river passes a few meters by it, don't miss it!

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We got a private tour for just the GFriend and I, so cheap for such an excellent tour, plus you can take photos..
Also the owners live there, and it’s been in the family for over 800 years, they were always generous to the surrounding towns, helping them out..
Been to a lot of castles, this is a MUST

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Food_Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We visited one Saturday afternoon. Unfortunately the roadwork's on the D1 meant a long detour compared to how long it should have taken but very quiet on the long winding country roads to get to the Palace once off the motorway.

Parking is across the road for a small fee and then a short work across the road and up a small hill. (Although there were a few cars parked at the top but not sure if that was staff only)

Once in the small courtyard you have a snack bar with tables and chairs outside, a restaurant and a gift shop where you purchase your tickets.

We didn't eat there but was standard Czech fare with normal sort of prices. The kids had a hotdog and ice cream, Prices and quality the same as everywhere else.

Entrance fee to get into the palace was cheaper than some of the others and the tour lasts about one hour and is guided in Czech but as I was the only non Czech speaker in our family I was given a laminated guide booklet with information about the tour as we would go through it. (I believe you can have the tour in other languages but that would depend on the tour size ect)

Also from this courtyard you have a beautiful view of the gardens, River, hotel in the village and the small train station.

Once the tour started we went through many rooms of interest. All furnished in original furniture belonging to the property as well as paintings of the ancestral family.

The tour guide was very knowledgeable (according to my wife ;) and the guide certain told a lot more information than on the booklet I had but we had plenty of time in each room to look around.

My favorite room was the gun room and as it wasn't too long and didn't involve too much walking my kids managed to stay interested.

Worth a visit if you want to see a smaller palace/castle and not too far from Prague (D1 road works permitting).

Outside the building you can walk around up the other side of the property and visit some smaller dungeon like stone structure which also had a great view and something the kids enjoyed exploring more than the castle. a small entrance fee is charged here but worth seeing when your there.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank JasonHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews