We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
12
8
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
8
2
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We went on a girls trip & stayed. Denise & Jorge were awesome. Jorge, the grounds keeper, was just the best & took such great care of us. The place was beautiful & so was the view. I also loved the local feel of it & it was close to tons of beaches. Only cons were the wifi wasn't good in the upper levels of the property & water pressure was horrible. Also, there was some noise from airplanes & roosters but it was very minimal contrary to what other may have mentioned.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank affayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

I stayed here with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday so we had all 10 rooms to ourselves. We rented through Airbnb so none of us expected a hotel feel, we wanted something more house-like and that is what we received. Overall, the property is well maintained and clean. There is an outdoor kitchen with fridge, gas stove, microwave, gas grill and large bar/prep area. The kitchen itself is small but we were able to make amazing meals for our large group there without a problem. At first glance, the area is sketchy but we fell in love with the neighbors and the roosters. The lodge is in the direct flight path for the airport so we heard every take off and landing, however, for me it wasn't a big deal. I was never awakened by the noise if that helps any.

Pros:
* The staff was awesome! He was present during the day to help with whatever was needed as we had a lot of deliveries scheduled (food, tables, chairs, linens, etc.) for a party. He assisted with setup and provided overall entertainment for us.

* Unlike many, our group enjoyed the location as it allowed us to interact with the locals vs. being in an overpriced touristy area.

Cons:
* The cab services will automatically charge you over $50 for a ride from the airport even though it is less than 5 miles away simply because of the address and the mention of Loiza

* Lack of room/laundry service -- rooms were never cleaned nor were the sheets changed during our stay. If you wanted them cleaned, you had to strip the bed yourself and leave the items in the hallway and be sure you told the house manager that the items were waiting

* No hot tub

Tips:
If you are traveling with a large group or know that the lodge will be full during your stay, BRING YOUR OWN TOWELS!!! We ended up going to Walmart to purchase towels for our group because there were no facecloths available and getting other towels washed on a daily basis was a chore.

Make friends with a cab driver and get their personal number if you do not have a car! We saved hundreds of dollars in cab fare by doing this (there were 23 of us) and they became our personal drivers/tour guides.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LibrasLoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Our family stayed here 1 night after a lovely vacation on Culebra. We choose it because of price and proximity to airport. It is in a poorer area of San Juan, but once in the 'compound' of the hotel, it is very lovely. Sweet clean swimming pool and very clean nice room. The air conditioners were very loud (would have preferred option of overhead fans) but the AC worked very well. Would have appreciated coffee maker in room and few items for breakfast as there is no where locally available without car. Fruit/dry cereal/yogurt would have been great. tHere is a fridge if you bring supplies. Other reviewers have complained about the rooster noises here, but this is P.R., one can expect roosters. You need earplugs everyplace you stay here unless you are staying in a large corporate style hotel, which is what we did not want.

Our taxi had trouble finding hotel, but we had no problem once we called for directions. The hotel needs a sign on the main road, indicating its location. Once in 'compound' we swam, read and relaxed. The hotel is on mangroves with a lovely dock. If we had more time that would have been great to explore. The owner Denise organized a taxi to a fairly local restaurant which was great, and we had great fish, mofongo and child happy food for decent price.

A 4:30am taxi was arranged for us to the airport which arrived on time and all went smoothly. This is a lodge or guest house, not really a hotel with front of house staff available 24 hours/ day. The owner was always available by phone. It is a good location for the airport and for going to meet the ferry in Farjardo for Culebra or Vieques.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We were there for a planned large party. Staff were present. Supplies were adequate. The rooms very clean and pleasant. The party had a live Plena Band. Everything was very nice.

However, this lodge is associated with a hidden wonderful fishing resource which is probably little known. I have been to PR almost yearly for 35 years and had no idea that such big tarpon swam the mangrove lined canals and estuaries right in San Juan's backyard. For those wanting a large commercial hotel, this may not be your dream vacation spot but for those wanting a big fish on flyrod or spinning rod, this is your place. The lodge was clean and safe behind its enclosure. The nearby neighborhood no different than many places in PR for those experienced travelers to PR. I will go again. This time prepared with more time to spend at Tarpon Nest.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RedIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

**Highlight of the visit**: Firstly as others reviewers have mentioned, this place located in a dingy mostly rural locality. This is where things got really bad for us. We arrived at the property at about 9PM and were greeted with locked gates, 7-9 foot high compound walls and no buzzer/call bell. Also nobody was picking up the phone at the reception. We spent a good 10-15 mins in the dark (and shady neighbourhood) trying to figure if we were at the right location. After 20 mins in the dark we decided to call the hotels dot com (from where we booked the hotel) customer care and ask for a replacement hotel. They were nice enough to start a hotel relocation process going and thats when I get a call from this hotel saying they were out for a few mins and will be back in 5! We decided to wait and were met with an apologetic staff member who was supposedly out shopping for breakfast. This was a really bad start to our vacation and left a very bad impression. You cannot leave a hotel locked, unattended and leave guests worried in a locality like this. That experience easily shaves 1-2 stars for me

Well apart from that here is my impression of the hotel:

**Room & Bathroom**:
Good: Clean, spacious well decorated. Ample amount of storage. Good bed. Very clean and well furnished bathroom.
Bad: No refrigerator or microwave. Hotel in airline flight path, so will disturb sleep.

**Property**
Pretty good actually, new and clean. Has a good view from the terrace. Great location for breakfast. Its right next to the ocean, no beach though. Has pool on site.

**Location**
Not great. Feels like a unsafe locality. No good restaurants near by. Kind of far from the main San Juan tourist areas.

**Summary**
The hotel staff really needs to get their act together. The property is good and well maintained. But has a few things going against them, bad location, aircraft noise, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews