We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
309
125
22
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
309
125
22
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews husky safari dogs snow lapland instructions forest nature km
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2020

We came here as the first part of a two centre holiday and spent four nights. This was our very first "snowy" adventure and I am bound to say that it was a fantastic adventure. The hotel was very well appointed and the rooms (Widerness+suite ) was spacious and well equipped with a mezzanine for sleeping and the ground floor for comfortable seating or a sofa bed. The food was good and varied especially the fish dishes and drink reasonably priced for a Nordic country (though we didn't drink very much - too tired after the activities). The staff and guides were very friendly and knowledgeable and the excursion were excellent. We did things we had never done before like dog-sledding, snowmobiling and snow-shoeing. We also went to the sister hotel in Jeris to use the fantastic saunas and plunge into the ice cold lake afterwards (better than it sounds :) We saw the Lights but only briefly and through cloud so not a spectacular display (we did see them at the second venue). All in all a fabulous experience and thanks to the team at Harriniva for making it so. The only thing I would say is that there were no toiletries in the bathroom (luckily we bought our own) and the nature of the suite with the bedroom being on the mezzanine and the bathroom on the ground floor meant a precarious excursion to the loo in the middle of the night for those of a certain age ;) Having said that we would not hesitate in coming back agin to these beatiful winter surroundings in Finnish Lapland and the friendly laid-back Finns.

Room tip: The Wilderness suites - bedroom upstairs and the bathroom downstairs. The staircase is quite steep. Room 104 near reception but quiet.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yardbird8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2020

This is a very good hotel, which organises fantastic activities such as dog sledding and skidoo’s with great guides.
The rooms and cabins are very nice, the food is average but the best thing about this place is the staff who are very special.
The location is also very beautiful

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2020 via mobile

Not long back from an amazing stay at Harriniva Hotel, Thanks to Minna for helping to organise our stay with you, we had a great time! Stayed in a cabin by the frozen river with fantastic views, cabin had underfloor heating and it’s own sauna, which was much needed to thaw out after activities in the snow and late nights chasing the Northern Lights. The Husky sled ride of 15km was a real buzz, absolutely loved it! The Snowmoble ride of 30km was unreal! But the highlight of course was seeing the Northern Lights on two nights, we were incredibly lucky as they of course are not guaranteed. The staff are great and very knowledgeable and extremely helpful, thanks again Minna! Airport transfers provided, also, Extreme outerwear, balaclavas, gloves and boots are provided by the hotel, remember layers and wool fabrics. Amazing memories made here!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank CizH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2020

We had a great holiday experience staying at this hotel. Rooms are cosy warm with an attached wet room. Food was brilliant and they catered for our gluten free friend very well. Wine and other alcohol was very reasonably priced and free tea, coffee and hot chocolate was available all day and evening. The equipment we were loaned for all our experiences was first class, very high quality and clean. You really don't need to bring anything.

Room tip: All the rooms have nice views.No lift so book ground floor (floor 1) room if you don't like to climb.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

We are 2 couples who came to Harriniva Wilderness Hotel for a week of Aurora Borealis hunting at the beginning of February 2020. The trip was booked and organized through Responsible Travel in the UK who are very very efficient.The package includes a number of nighttime activities all designed to maximize the chances of actually getting to see it in all its glory. We were not so lucky in that respect as the weather and solar activity did not play along but...everything else is delightful. From the pickup at the Kittila airport to the check in to the amazing food, friendly and knowledgeable staff, the equipment quality and organization, the well planned activities, it was all a joy.
Coming back to food, it was way beyond our expectations given the remoteness of the area and time of year. The variety, quality, quantity and service were just fantastic, breakfast lunch and dinner. Imagine, grapes and Kiwi fruit in mid February in north Finland.
The rooms are big cosy and warm and they have to be given the amount of winter gear one has to have when temperatures can drop to -25C.
In summary, if you are looking for a winter adventure that includes day or night husky safaries, snowmobiling, crosscountry skiing, snowshoe walks, saunas by the river and great food this place is it.
It is remote and the nearest town Muonio, is a 3km walk away and has nothing much going for it except for a great hot chocolate menu at the Swiss Cafe which has a small photo gallery showing nice photos of the Aurora and some Lappish goods. Unless you need supplies you can't get at the hotel there is no good reason to go.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Novaliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews