We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Closes Barn Revisited”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hulland Ward, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GeordieTr...
Geordieland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Closes Barn Revisited”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in November 2018

Just returned yesterday after 4th consecutive early November stay. Found this gem of a place in 2015 and our group of 8 already booked to return in November 2019. Modern and spotlessly clean throughout. Well-equipped kitchen upon entry with large dining/lounge area accessed by a couple of steps. Open-plan staircase from kitchen leading to 4 bedrooms, each with en-suite. Situated off private albeit shared access, leading from quiet country lane. Ideally located for Peak District towns of Ashbourne, Bakewell, Buxton, and Matlock. Also close to Carsington Water and associated activities. Roll on November 2019.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roadrunne...
Wallsend, England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Can't rate this place more highly - our fourth visit and it gets better every time!”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in November 2018

All 8 of us love going to this cottage and we have already booked to return for our 5th visit.
This cottage is ideal, both inside and out. Inside are four gorgeous ensuite bedrooms, a good kitchen and a massive living / dining room. The rooms are all clean and the bedding and towels are of a high standard.
Outside is the lovely rolling farmland of Derbyshire. The cottage is close to the market towns of Bakewell, Matlock and Ashbourne and even closer to Carsington Reservoir and pubs. We got a particularly friendly welcome from the staff of the nearby Nags Head. Plenty to do in the area but also a great place simply to chill.
The owners are friendly and helpful.
In over 20 years of hiring self catering cottages this is the best cottage we have found for our group.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsFood...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We weren’t overly impressed”
Reviewed 1 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This was a tale of two halves. Some good points: the kitchen was generally well equipped, the bathrooms were nice, the sitting room big enough for all of us. But all this was as expected, for the price. The place is let down by the details though. The toaster will toast one slice of toast at a time. The mattresses are the cheapest possible and VERY uncomfortable. The view from the windows is industrial at best...don’t expect anything idyllic or rolling countryside. The advertised pool table has no adult cues...disappointed teenagers. The cottage is a triumph of style over substance. Oh and we never saw the owners, with the exception of being shouted at moments after we arrived by a random man angry that we’d opened a door we ‘weren’t allowed to open’. No idea why the key was in the back door if opening it is such a problem but hey. Two other comments...there are biblical amounts of flies in the property. Clouds of them rise from every service as you move about. Thousands of them. Take spray, sticky papers, traps with you and be prepared to learn to live with them. And don’t believe the Sykes App when it lists the restaurants that are 100m away...it’s a 20 minute drive. Check google maps before you book!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiness...
1 review
“Perfect for a family holiday”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Location is lovely!
House is very nicely furnished with quality linens and towels and everything we needed.
Owners were easy to contact and very helpful.
We stayed to celebrate my parents 40th Wedding Anniversary, we would book again and recommend to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Glorious pre Christmas break with friends”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Myself and 3 female friends stayed here for a long weekend as a pre Christmas break. The barn is spacious, well decorated and fully equipped. The beds and furniture were very comfortable. The main reason for choosing this property was that it had 4 bedrooms all ensuite. The facilities did not disappoint. It was lovely being surrounded by the farm with the horses and the donkeys. It's only a short drive away from Ashbourne, Carsington Water and many other local attractions. We couldn't have asked for anymore (except for a pub within walking distance!)
A few minor gripes (and they are minor as I've still rated this as excellent) It took 3 attempts to contact the owner for the key safe code. 2 voice mail messages were not returned. The owners did not check on us during the stay just to say a quick hello and make sure we were happy. There could have been more information in the folder about what items of rubbish to put in which wheelie bin and about how the heating worked.
Would love to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing