We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hostal Villas Mexico(Playa Marsella)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bahia Hotel(Playa Marsella)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Villa Mar(Playa Marsella)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Marsella Beach Front(Playa Marsella)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Rosa Nicaragua(Playa Marsella)
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaby's Hostel(Playa Marsella)
Booking.com
View Deal
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$50
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua(Playa Maderas)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$469
US$394
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Li'l Aussie Hut(Playa Marsella)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
139
16
7
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
139
16
7
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We had a great stay with Roy and Karen. They are wonderful hosts who were always happy to chat and hang out, but never made it feel like an obligation, either. We had delicious breakfasts everyday (if you've never tried lime juice and honey drizzled over fruit before, you absolutely must), and we had a great dinner with them one evening, too. The common area is a great place to grab a drink, play darts and access wifi.

It's about a 10-minute walk to the beach. I wish it were a little but closer, but not a big deal. Also, this is a very rustic experience. I did get a ton of bug bites while staying here. And there's no AC. Still, this was exactly the type of experience we were looking for. I'm really happy we chose to stay here while staying in SJDS.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank erinandpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

Our family of four was well taken care of by the gracious hosts. They were thoughtful and attentive; arranged our shuttle from Managua, played games with us at night (entertained our young kids too!) and served delicious breakfasts. The cabana was clean and spacious and the fans effective. If you are realistic about the hot humid weather and that there are critters here (it was THEIR home first after all!) and you enjoy the company of others, you will enjoy being here. p.s. Thanks for the dice!!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

I was in awe the moment I arrived. After spending a little time in the party town of San Juan del Sur, I was relieved to find a quiet gem close to the beach in the jungle. The flora and fauna were amazing, I could have spent my whole time there watching the birds and monkeys doing what birds and monkeys do.

And the food, let me tell you about the food. In all the places in Nicaragua that I have been, I never had food as tasty as I did at Empalme a las Playas. The ever changing daily breakfast was far from fried eggs and gallo pinto that you will find in many establishments throughout the country, was highlighted with fresh fruit daily. Occasionally they host a dinner, which at first I scoffed at the price, but once the food was served I decidedly got my money's worth. Huge beautiful salad, from fresh organic greens (which are nearly impossible to find in the country), and Almond crusted Mahi Mahi steaks were the highlight of the meal.

I loved it so much there that I am already making my reservations for a return trip there, I can't wait.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namdlogytram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We thought the room was just OK - there was no door to the bathroom, just a curtain. The location was good - walking distance to a quiet beach and some restaurants. There wasn't really any private outdoor space to just hang out as a couple and the common area was usually occupied by the other guests and the hosts who were smoking and who got louder and drunker as the night went on. I agree with a previous reviewer who said they treat you more like acquaintances than customers. All of this may be great for some people but it just wasn't for us.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H0lly12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Tummy aches from laughing, but tummy smiles from amazing food. Roy and Karen are ideal hosts, with coffee pronto in the morning, and ready with stories, suggestions, solutions...Howler monkeys mingle with morning muses, walking "the hill" to the beach became a treasured workout, by choice, since rides were offered. But please, we don't want this place to change. Go if you are open to the experience, and leave it as you found it! With much appreciation, Carrie and Jill. 2014

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jangle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews