We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
139
16
7
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
139
16
7
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a very mixed experience at Empalme de las Playas. We booked 5 nights here prior to arriving in Nica, largely based on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews. There were many things we enjoyed about Emplame but I would not recommend these accommodations to friends traveling to coastal Nicaragua.

Pros
*1 km from fantastic surfing at Playa Maderas
*Rides to/from the playa from owners
*Being away from the hordes of travelers in their 20's who stay in SJDS
*Decent breakfast
*The hammock chairs are the best.

Cons
*Although Marty was very kind (his parents were on vacation in the states during our visit) he is not the best conversationalist. He seemed completely uninterested in us but yet wanted to chat all the time. It was a bit odd.
*So so so hot and humid it was very difficult to sleep with only the fans running.
*Not the safest place for a toddler. High balconies, not secure railings and the wood of the decks were not very strong (we stepped through part of a board on the deck).
*We were charged a service fee for using our credit card to reserve the room prior to arrival but were not informed of said fee. Marty did refund this when I complained but if you are going to require a credit card, the least you can do is let people know that you are going to charge 5.5% extra.

Overall, it was a nice place. It might be more enjoyable if there are other guests or if you go with a lot of friends. But the lack of AC made sleeping very hard. We woke each morning in a puddle of our own dirty sweat. Do stay out at the beach but maybe find somewhere other than Emplame de las Playas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Surfista44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicachick, Owner at Empalme a Las Playas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

I would first like to say thank you for posting a review for the world to see, followed by sorry for not following up in a more timely manner and you getting 3 helpful votes before both sides were revealed for all to see. We are glad you enjoyed the area that we call home.

While we do appreciate you taking your time to share your experience I would like to let the world know that you were advised of most of your CONS in the correspondence well before you arrived.

Your reservations were made 4 months prior to your arrival and before any money transaction took place, by correspondence, it was noted that there are fans in the room (good clue to no A/C).
Also on the reservation information sent before you made a deposit it is noted that there is a 5.5% fee for credit card processing (bank and local tax fees) which was also demonstrated when we sent the email confirming your stay. It seems there was a lack of communication between the one making the arrangements and the one paying for the stay. You basically badgered Marty into eating the bank fees and taxes which would not have worked had I been here as it was fully disclosed and agreed to.
Your lodging was chosen by us to facilitate your toddler. It was the ground level cabin with a 2 foot off the ground balcony versus one of the larger ones that sit 20 feet in the air. You were also not charged an additional fee for your wee one. Now, if he was allowed to wander into dangerous territory, I am hopeful you were with him at all times.
As for the conversationalist that Marty is or isn't, perhaps it is the things that were at hand to talk about? I always taught my kids if they didn't have anything nice to say, be silent. It is not pleasant to have to disinfect the common area (or any area) from the possibility of Hep A, C or any other fecal borne disease. Maybe free spirits let their offspring run naked in public places and I am ok with that, but possibly after potty training is a better ideal for all concerned.
We also find that it is pleasant and works better when there is more than one set of guests at any given time. They have a chance to talk amongst themselves, tell travel stories, surf spots or nursing habits if they share the same lifestyles. I Hope your next travels better fit your needs and your stories are more balanced. - Karen - co-owner at Empalme a Las Playas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The rooms are basically made out of Bamboo but we were positively surprised entering the rooms. Very big, very nicely equipped, just perfect. And not to forget about the owners Roy, Karen and Marty, these are really nice people and from the beginning we felt like friends or even family. They cooked us delicious breakfasts and an incredible dinner. The location is also perfect, just a short walk to Playa Marsella and a little longer walk to Playa Maderas, just two really lovely beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mraeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicachick, Owner at Empalme a Las Playas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

Thank you for sharing your experience with future TripAdvisor users and potential guests. We are fortunate to be out of the rapidly changing town of San Juan del Sur and close to the pristine northern beaches. We always appreciate having visitors that live in country, that are doing their visa runs or just out to have a relaxing time at the beach. Come back if you get the chance!! Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Roy, Karen and Marty made us feel comfortable and made us feel like family. Their cabanas are clean, the breakfasts wonderful and plentiful. They helped us find surf boards to rent, get transfers to the airport, find guides to take us to other places in Nicaragua and pointed in all the right directions. My girlfriend Sarah had stayed with them 3 years ago and her stay at the Empalme a Las Playas was a big reason why we returned to SJDS. Their location is outside of town and close to all the great beaches. Don't hesitate. Get a unique stay and enjoy their hospitality. Great vacation.

Room Tip: The cabana we stayed in was large enough for a family of four.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicachick, Owner at Empalme a Las Playas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

It is always nice to have return visitors and even better when they bring their friends!! Thank you for sharing your experience with future TripAdvisor users and please keep us in mind if your return with your family!!! Thanks for taking the time to post! We are waiting for pics of the newbie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had such a great time with Karen, Marty and Roy. I was traveling with my husband and 3 year old son to Nicaragua. I was unsure whether we'd find enough to occupy us while there but we were "busy" from our arrival to even past our stay at Empalme (we returned for a BBQ). Upon arrival, Roy took us on a tour of his land, 'howler monkey viewing here, giant fallen tree there, beach path over there and now turn around, toucan!', etc. My son took to the Empalme crew and their dogs (Badger being his favorite) immediately. The next morning, he walked out of our cabin on his own and decided to check out Roy's quad bike in his garage then proceeded to walk to breakfast. We all basically acted like we were staying with family. Moreover, we were really spoiled as everyone (including our fellow guests) were incredibly accommodating with entertaining and putting up with our non-stop, curiosity abound son. He was never bored at Empalme while playing with bugs, looking at birds, feeding sticks to the equally accommodating dogs, hammering nails on a piece of wood. He also made himself comfortable in literally every corner of Empalme.

Our accommodations were fine and our hosts, very thoughtfully, placed us where we wouldn't have to worry about balcony height for our son. It was warm and the cold water showers were refreshing. Fans were provided for sleeping comfort. We were a bit warm in our cabin during the day but we were hardly there, it wasn't noticeable. Also, it made us feel like we were staying in a place that was conscious of it surroundings.

Karen's meals were incredible. Lunch aside, we ate out only once during our 4 day stay at Empalme. There totally should be an 'Empalme Cookbook'!

Away from Empalme, we fit in trips to Playa Masaya every morning/some afternoons and made it to Playa Maderas once. There are local restaurants at both beaches. Also, a good horse back riding stable is close by, (we met the guide and his horses but didn't go due to the kid) . The best part of Empalme, aside from the people, was the relaxation, I spent minimum an hour daily on those hammock chairs doing nothing. The concept was a total surprise. For a born and bred big city girl, it's nothing short of luxury.

Room Tip: Give all your concerns, especially if you have children, to Karen. She'll just take care of you.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyLauWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicachick, Owner at Empalme a Las Playas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

Thank you for posting your experience with us in this forum for TripAdvisor users!!!
We were happy to have you and your small child as guests and glad you could appreciate the time to unwind and unplug!! We try to fit our facilities according to our guests needs and glad the ground level unit worked out for you and toddler!! He was a busy little guy, but caused no problems :) and it is refreshing here and there to see the world through the eyes of a child!
As our area develops and there are now 5 restaurants within walking distance, we are getting further and further away from offering evening meals!! We find people on short stays in the country do not mind eating simple, fried food for their short time around. We still try to eat lots of fresh veg, spices, imports and treats that you just don't get "out there"!!
May all of your travels be fun and relaxing!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Roy, Karen and Marty were great hosts, very welcoming and friendly. On our first day they showed us around the town and beaches, which was a great as we could figure out what we could do during our stay. There’s a nice local beach about 5mins away, but the best one where all the surfers go is Playa Maderas. It’s a little further out but Roy and Karen are happy to give you a lift and can even sort you out a good surf lesson.

The cabañas are nice, quite big, with your own private bathroom and deck, which is great for stargazing. You really can hear the howler monkeys and woodpeckers because the location of the place is literally in the middle of nowhere. You are really at one with nature! Despite being far out, it’s close to the beaches which is probably what you’re here for. There’s not that much to do in the town. Either way, Roy, Karen and Marty made sure we were entertained. One night they took us to a nice local restaurant, (we got good prices as Roy knew the owners) and for another they even taught us how to play poker! We never had dinner there, but I heard good things. The breakfast was nice and filling, and they have bar with Wi-Fi, and three sweet dogs. Overall a great stay, I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotterNo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicachick, Owner at Empalme a Las Playas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us!! We are happy that our place was a fit for your vacation. It is always nice when everything just fits together and works. Thanks for being awesome guests and the rave review! Visitors that are easy going, fun loving and can unplug, relax and enjoy wherever they are, are exactly the kind of people every innkeeper hopes to draw. Thanks for sharing and hoping your future travels are all good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews