We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
414
26
2
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
414
26
2
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secret passages main hall four poster bed great room steeped in history period furniture wonderful hosts roaring fire trip to scotland grand hall surrounding countryside full scottish breakfast porridge breakfast was delicious fantastic stay salmon abbie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017

How many people can say they have spent the night in a real castle? For experience alone this wins in my book. But everything about this place was great. Liz is a great hostess and took us on a little tour of the castle when we arrived. It is so cool! There is a large common room with a fireplace and then a side room off of that with beautiful Victorian decor. There are some secret passages, too! Our room, the Caithness room, had part of it in the turret. Beautiful old furniture and views of the loch. There was chocolate on the pillow, lovely soap by the tub, complimentary snacks and drinks in the room--so many nice touches. The full Scottish breakfast is clearly the best choice for breakfast in the morning, which was delicious! Can't recommend this place enough.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lizs81188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele and Gavin L, Manager at Barcaldine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for your review of Barcaldine Castle!

We enjoy showing our guests around the castle whilst passing on any history tales! We are also very happy that you had a fantastic breakfast! We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Adele and Gavin
Management at Barcaldine Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Our trip to Scotland had to include one night in a castle and this was spot on. Luxury at every turn. Lovely tea and biscuits set out for us on arrival. The hosts were very accommodating and helped us with our trip planning. The grounds are lovely. I can't say enough about this accommodation. You will truly feel "royal". Try and stay for a couple of nights to take full advantage of your time in the area.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AstroHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele and Gavin L, Manager at Barcaldine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for your kind review of Barcaldine Castle!

We like to ensure our guests have a wonderful visit not only to the castle, but to the surrounding areas too. We are lucky enough to be close to a lot of beautiful scenery and fantastic restaurants - places we love to recommend to our guests!

Many of our guests wished they stayed longer to fully enjoy the castle experience! You are more than welcome to return any time! We hope to have you back the next time you are in Scotland!

Kindest regards,
Adele and Gavin.
Management at Barcaldine Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

If you travel to West Scotland, do try and stay there.
We travelled as a group of seven and had the most amazing experience.
The hosts were super welcoming (and unobtrusive which was much appreciated), the rooms luxurious, the breakfast delicious. The stairway is narrow and many original details have been preserved. There is a hall/breakfst room where you can relax on the sofas and also a parlour where the seven of us had the most amazing time relaxing and drinking whisky and wine (there were glasses and ice at our disposal) both nights we stayed there.
This is the kind of place you don't want to leave. Would love to come back and spend more time in the castle just relaxing and reading.
The only thing that could be improved is the wifi connection.

Room tip: Caithness room was amazing.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kovalaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele and Gavin L, Manager at Barcaldine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for your review of Barcaldine Castle!

We enjoyed hosting you and are glad you enjoyed our stay with us including breakfast! We have WIFI in all bedrooms and public areas - due to our rural location the internet can always be quicker!

Please visit us should you return to Scotland again!

Kindest regards,
Adele & Gavin
Management at Barcaldine Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it. Staying in a castle was super exciting and the decorations in our room as well as the castle itself were beautiful. We loved our four-poster bed and claw-foot tub. Note that the hot water does run out eventually if you use the tub...Learning about the history of the castle and the area was fascinating as well. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalexi1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele and Gavin L, Manager at Barcaldine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you for your review of Barcaldine Castle!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - our claw foot tubs are a favourite! Thank you for also recommending us!

We hope to have you back again!

Kindest regards,
Adele and Gavin
Management at Barcaldine Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Amazing little hotel full of character and surrounded by breathtaking scenery. We only stayed one night but wish we had stayed longer to really make the most of the tranquil beauty. Really beautiful spot. Hosts were friendly and informative and happy to help.

Room tip: spiral staircase to all rooms.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katemilnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Manager at Barcaldine Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the castle. We are lucky to be situated in such a beautiful part of Scotland. We feel guests sometimes miss out if they only stay one night. Perhaps another you might consider a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews