We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
498
347
173
129
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
498
347
173
129
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak district groupon deal steak lovely village the main hotel derbyshire breakfast bar area friendly hotel sunday lunch lovely meal cheese shop pretty village long walk a lovely stay tea and coffee feel very welcome cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2020

We saw a Wowcher deal and decided to book it and also add an extra night. It was a pleasant three night stay.
The hotel is old and therefore looks tired in some places and there’s a lot that could be changed such as the decor and carpets. However we had great nights sleep and the hotel and surroundings were lovely and quiet.
There was a very loud pipe noise when another room used the water but luckily this wasn’t during the night!
The breakfast was ok, good choices but not good quality meat products. The bar area was pleasant and all Hotel staff were friendly. We decided to have dinner over the road at The Devonshire Arms, which served lovely food!
I would recommend with the deal but would not stay for full price.
Good location if travelling around the Peaks.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cgoldsmith2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2020

This is a lovely, old, traditional hotel set in a pretty village. We stayed here for 2 nights and felt well looked after despite the Covid restrictions. Our room on the second floor was comfortable, spacious, nicely decorated with plenty of storage space. The big bathroom was well equipped and roomy, the only criticism would be the shower cubicle was rather small and the tiles could do with re-grouting.
We ate in the restaurant both nights, food was excellent, well cooked and hot with generous portions. The dining room is very impressive and the bar area well spread out. Breakfasts too were very good with well cooked local food. All the staff we met were friendly, pleasant and helpful. An enjoyable stay and well worth a visit.

Room tip: Room 10 on the second floor overlooking the back and car park was very quiet.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank poppyday39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020

Just returned from our 4th stay here for 2nights. We have a dog friendly room in the courtyard. Large room and very large bathroom. Lovely and clean. Ate in the bar both nights (with the dog). Meals were excellent. Hartington Blue burger and steak pie and mash on day one and we both had Haddock and chips on day two. Very good breakfast also. We really enjoyed them. The two guys in the bar worked very hard serving drinks and food all night. Nothing was too much trouble. The lady at reception was very friendly and helpful. Excellent systems in place for Covid. Well done Charles Cotton we will be back!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarelSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

My husband and I stayed here on a 2 night break. It's not the best hotel I've stayed in but I'm not bothered about luxury. I was there to walk and enjoy the beautiful scenery. What made it extra special for us was the staff who worked so hard especially the young man in the dining area and the young man on the bar. Nothing was too much trouble. Also the food served to us in the dining room was delicious. Lovely spot in the middle of a beautiful village.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartbW8207NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

We had a 2 night BnB deal, with dinner the first night, offered by the hotel. We stayed once some years ago and enjoyed it. This stay overall was good, and all the staff we met were absolutely lovely. The food was fine, the room was a bit tired, but then it is an old building. Having requested more tea and milks for the room, there was a bagful hanging on the door handle after our long walk! Great service. The Covid procedures were very good, and we felt quite safe being there. The weather was perfect, really warm and sunny, & we had some lovely long walks, through Biggindale, Beresford Dale and Wolfscote Dale. We love the area for walking. I’m sure we’ll be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank NordPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews