We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$112
View deal
Agoda.com
US$112
US$98
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/07/21
Expedia.comUS$111
eDreamsUS$111
Trip.comUS$111
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,258)
Filter reviews
1,258 results
Traveller rating
502
352
177
130
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
502
352
177
130
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak district groupon deal steak lovely village the main hotel derbyshire breakfast bar area friendly hotel sunday lunch lovely meal cheese shop pretty village long walk a lovely stay tea and coffee feel very welcome cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,258 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2020

Just returned from our 4th stay here for 2nights. We have a dog friendly room in the courtyard. Large room and very large bathroom. Lovely and clean. Ate in the bar both nights (with the dog). Meals were excellent. Hartington Blue burger and steak pie and mash on day one and we both had Haddock and chips on day two. Very good breakfast also. We really enjoyed them. The two guys in the bar worked very hard serving drinks and food all night. Nothing was too much trouble. The lady at reception was very friendly and helpful. Excellent systems in place for Covid. Well done Charles Cotton we will be back!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarelSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

My husband and I stayed here on a 2 night break. It's not the best hotel I've stayed in but I'm not bothered about luxury. I was there to walk and enjoy the beautiful scenery. What made it extra special for us was the staff who worked so hard especially the young man in the dining area and the young man on the bar. Nothing was too much trouble. Also the food served to us in the dining room was delicious. Lovely spot in the middle of a beautiful village.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartbW8207NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

We had a 2 night BnB deal, with dinner the first night, offered by the hotel. We stayed once some years ago and enjoyed it. This stay overall was good, and all the staff we met were absolutely lovely. The food was fine, the room was a bit tired, but then it is an old building. Having requested more tea and milks for the room, there was a bagful hanging on the door handle after our long walk! Great service. The Covid procedures were very good, and we felt quite safe being there. The weather was perfect, really warm and sunny, & we had some lovely long walks, through Biggindale, Beresford Dale and Wolfscote Dale. We love the area for walking. I’m sure we’ll be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank NordPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2020

Sent all main courses back as exceptionally bad. The waitress, who was actually front of desk, had no idea how to waitress. Glasses and cutlery were dirty (overheard two other tables complain too). They did offer a complimentary free meal as head chef was off that night, but declined as whole night was bad...not just food and feel more needs fixing before it would be worth the money.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Explorer102690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2020

We enjoyed a weekend break. It was a Groupon break and we upgraded to the suite which was lovely. It had three large windows and the one at the front overlooked the village and front patio area. The suite was large with an enormous comfy bed and huge bathroom. There are a couple of steps leading down to the bathroom.
The receptionist explained to us that no one would enter our room during our stay due to Covid and that if we wanted clean towels that we just had to ask. They were doing all they could to abide by the Covid rules.
The evening meal was fine but breakfast not quite so good.
The hotel is in a good position in the centre of the village.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kkh238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews