We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$113
View deal
FindHotel
US$113
US$99
View deal
SAVE US$14
Hotels.comUS$113
CheapTicketsUS$113
TravelocityUS$113
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,253)
Filter reviews
1,253 results
Traveller rating
499
351
177
130
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
499
351
177
130
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak district groupon deal steak lovely village the main hotel derbyshire breakfast bar area friendly hotel sunday lunch lovely meal cheese shop pretty village long walk a lovely stay tea and coffee feel very welcome cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,253 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2020

We had a 2 night BnB deal, with dinner the first night, offered by the hotel. We stayed once some years ago and enjoyed it. This stay overall was good, and all the staff we met were absolutely lovely. The food was fine, the room was a bit tired, but then it is an old building. Having requested more tea and milks for the room, there was a bagful hanging on the door handle after our long walk! Great service. The Covid procedures were very good, and we felt quite safe being there. The weather was perfect, really warm and sunny, & we had some lovely long walks, through Biggindale, Beresford Dale and Wolfscote Dale. We love the area for walking. I’m sure we’ll be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank NordPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2020

Sent all main courses back as exceptionally bad. The waitress, who was actually front of desk, had no idea how to waitress. Glasses and cutlery were dirty (overheard two other tables complain too). They did offer a complimentary free meal as head chef was off that night, but declined as whole night was bad...not just food and feel more needs fixing before it would be worth the money.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Explorer102690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2020

We enjoyed a weekend break. It was a Groupon break and we upgraded to the suite which was lovely. It had three large windows and the one at the front overlooked the village and front patio area. The suite was large with an enormous comfy bed and huge bathroom. There are a couple of steps leading down to the bathroom.
The receptionist explained to us that no one would enter our room during our stay due to Covid and that if we wanted clean towels that we just had to ask. They were doing all they could to abide by the Covid rules.
The evening meal was fine but breakfast not quite so good.
The hotel is in a good position in the centre of the village.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kkh238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020

We bought a Groupon offer, so our 2 night stay was great, rather than just good value, as it normally is.
The hotel is a lovely old building, some improvement work is being done outside, which didn't have any impact on us during our weekend stay.
The location is excellent, pretty village centre, with interesting shops & the famous
cheese shop, perfect for a walking break.
The mainly young staff were efficient & friendly, we felt very much at ease.
All food was well presented & delicious.
We needed a walking map, leaflets are not allowed during the pandemic, so one of the staff photocopied some walks for us.
Reception staff were extremely helpful during the booking in and out processes.

Room tip: King size beds & outside cottages are available.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mitchell164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2020

we have been to the charles cotton several times now and honeslty cant believe what a nose dive the place has taken in the space of a year. weve had problems with leaky taps and heating before now but this time was the final straw. the food was absolutely awful. the pie was cold and the plate looked greasy. chips were fatty and soggy. The place was dirty and the carpets are in desperate need of a clean, they stink. in all honesty we didnt see a housekeeper or cleaner the entire time we were there. no tea and coffee and the room wasnt cleaned two days in a row. when we tried to complain to the manager she was rude dismissive and blamed staff and the owner.on our last stay we had a few problems as i say but the manager at the time, steve, who was also acting as the chef, was quick to sort it. upgraded our room and went out of his way to make our anniversary speical. this time has honestly been shocking. having family in the area we will he back but we have booked in the hostel for our next visit. what a let down

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curious794296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews