We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Booking.com
US$133
View deal
FindHotel
US$133
US$117
View deal
SAVE US$16
Expedia.comUS$133
eDreamsUS$133
PricelineUS$132
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
498
347
173
129
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
498
347
173
129
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak district groupon deal steak lovely village the main hotel derbyshire breakfast bar area friendly hotel sunday lunch lovely meal cheese shop pretty village long walk a lovely stay tea and coffee feel very welcome cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,237 - 1,241 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2005

When we arrived there was no record of our booking, or of the £40 deposit I had paid. The staff were indifferent, complacent and non-apologetic.

In order to get a menu and to order I had to frequently go to the bar as the staff seemed reluctant to leave their conversation behing the bar.

Needless to say we booked out a day early.

The hotel is shabby and lacks direction from the management down - avoid at all costs.

Date of stay: August 2005
5  Thank maz6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2005

Not quite what i expected for the money considering you can get very good B&B's in the area for about half the price. Room clean but a bit cramped. "Four Poster Bed" was actually a divan with a frame round it and net curtains. The shower wouldn't stay on the wall so you had to hold it while you showered. Good food didn't extend to a proper sausage with breakfast but an unpleasant frozen one also tinned tomatoes rather than fresh. Restaurant prices are also pricey compared to similar establishments. Warm welcome, indifferent more like. Decor definitely needs updating especially in restaurant area. Having said that we did have a pleasant enough stay in what is a beautiful location.

Date of stay: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Inspiration34118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2005

We also stayed at this place which is in a lovely village close to some good walks. We found the welcome indifferent, the room was very shabby and needed a clean. On the plus side the shower room was large and looked brand new. The breakfast was OK but nothing special. Would not return.

Date of stay: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pardrifter80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2003

This hotel must well be contender for the worst in the Peak district.
The welcome was non existant the reception area scruffy the bedroom cramped and gloomy with a TV with such poor picture that it was unviewable. The ensuite had the most appallinging noisy plumbing I have ever come across -I can't make any comment on the evening meal as there is no way I could be induced to try a meal in this grubby establishment - Despite have driven 150 mile to get to this establishement I drove a further ten miles to find a decent restaurant in Bakewell. The breakfast looked awful too - I stuck to a cup of coffee.

21  Thank Companion1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews