We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Terrasses de Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

This is a nice place above Saumur with a view of the castle (a bit far away) and the river. The restaurant is in the eponymous hotel. Chose to sit in the rotund veranda on a quite evening. The food is good and imaginative, quickly served. Attentive and friendly staff will give good advice if asked. Some English is spoken. A perfect place for a relaxed evening with reasonable prices.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank charlesponcet3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

The room we were shown was awful. Broken floor, snagged bed spread and horrendously dark. Our veranda had no opening to the outside and featured broken blinds and a hideous sofa unit. The view form the veranda consisted of dead plants to one side and aircon units to the other with the car park straight ahead. I could go on ... we moved on to another hotel and in fairness were given a full refund but it took some sorting and was a stressful end to a long drive.
We were offered a self catering unit by the front desk staff - rusting fridge and very poor state of repair. Think 1950 holiday camp!! Nothing boutique or quirky about this place - just unpleasant.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else - mercure or kyriad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

The view of Saumur from the hotel restaurant are breathtaking.

We are not residents but were visiting for lunch.

They have a broad menu and offer various packages that are reasonably priced.

The food itself is just ok unfortunately. It's almost as if the chef is trying to over complicate the dishes. For example, my starter of carrot and cumin soup had fish eggs added which made the dish too salty. It was also cold, it was a cold day it needed to be warm.

The sweatbreads of veal however were very nice much to the surprise of my companions. Well done with these.

Strawberries and sorbet were looking good until they were drowned in strawberry sparking wine. Made them too sweet.

Lots of potential and lovely staff that served us.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank tbuae999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Room was a good size and clean and comfortable, food good and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely location. Decor was quirky and different, swimming pool and grounds good for relaxation. All in all we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 146midge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We stayed in the main building for 4 nights, first impression of the hotel as we were shown to our room was very quirky boutique style with plenty of black and red. Our room however was a more neutral palette, very spacious with small balconies to sit out on.
It was a well equipped room and bathroom and the bed was very comfortable, air conditioning kept the room a steady temp. We enjoyed the wonderfully warm swimming pool and sun loungers with the lovely view towards the chateau in Saumur. Breakfasts were DIY buffet style with a good selection to choose from.
A peaceful hotel that encourages you to de-stress. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
The only minus was the intermittent wifi, impossible to download any large file as the signal is dropped frequently despite there being a choice of routers.

Room Tip: The main building is preferable to the lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
1.9 km away
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
17.8 km away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
2.5 km away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
221 reviews
3 km away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
15.2 km away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Terrasses de Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Terrasses de Saumur

Address: 2 rue des Lilas, 49400 Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
Price Range: €69 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Terrasses de Saumur 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hill above Saumur, a few minutes away from the city center and its castle, Les Terrasses de Saumur, closest hotel to the national school of horsemanship and the cadre noir, offers you an incredible view over the castle and the city. The hotel has a total of 20 rooms or cocooning gold giving you has service off quality: Bathroom and toilets, to hair dryer, cover feather bed, flat screen TV, canal satellite and canal +, free and protected wifi access (air conditioning in certain rooms, balneal bath or balcony for others). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Terrasses de Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing