We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky decor but lovely hilltop location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Terrasses de Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We stayed in the main building for 4 nights, first impression of the hotel as we were shown to our room was very quirky boutique style with plenty of black and red. Our room however was a more neutral palette, very spacious with small balconies to sit out on.
It was a well equipped room and bathroom and the bed was very comfortable, air conditioning kept the room a steady temp. We enjoyed the wonderfully warm swimming pool and sun loungers with the lovely view towards the chateau in Saumur. Breakfasts were DIY buffet style with a good selection to choose from.
A peaceful hotel that encourages you to de-stress. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
The only minus was the intermittent wifi, impossible to download any large file as the signal is dropped frequently despite there being a choice of routers.

Room Tip: The main building is preferable to the lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2017

Comfortable rooms, though hotel decor (including Audrey Hepburn) a little "odd". Location is outside of not only Saumur, but also south of Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent, making it very a very quiet and secluded spot. The view across the valley is wonderful. Plenty of onsite parking.

Breakfast and evening meal were lovely, though the restaurant tables were rather wobbly.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank HummingbirdTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

A little way out of town but that didn't bother us as we were on stopover back to the UK from Bordeaux.

Lovely hotel, great facilities especially the pool which was welcome after a long drive.

We stayed in the self-catering maisonettes which were situated away from main hotel. These were very comfortable and had a nice outside private patio area too.

We had dinner here which was very nice although it was maybe too limited for my fussy kids (they didn't eat their dinners!). It was also extremely expensive.

Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ferg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude G, Propriétaire at Les Terrasses de Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Good afternoon ferg17,
Thank you for your feedback, it was a real pleasure for us and our team to read your lines.
During your stay you had a Duplex appartment. Those apartments are fully equipped and we had the pleasure to welcome you in our restaurant also. Our price range goes from 21€ to 39 € for our menus.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again next time you visit Saumur and its region.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights en route to S France, enjoyed it do much that we booked again for our return trip. Wonderful restaurant, and lovely setting, outside the town, peaceful and plenty of parking on site. On our first visit we enjoyed all our meals outside

Room Tip: Some rooms have sloping ceilings over the bed, which could be a problem if you need to get out in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravellerWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude G, Gérant at Les Terrasses de Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear TravellerWitshire,
I can't show how deeply touched I am when reading your wonderful comment. I cannot express our gratitude as much as your staisfaction transpires through your feedback.
Thank you again for your presence and for trusting us twice on your way for S France and back.
Best of wishes from France,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

A lovely tranquil location with superb views across the town. Nice warm swimming pool and large terrace for outside dinning. Bedroom was ok and bathroom was very modern with efficient large walk in shower. Good shoutter to window to keep the heat out during the day. Our 5 night stay was overshodowed by the xperience of our first night dinner. There were many guests dinning inc. a large group of about 16. It soon became obvious that there were far too many dinners for them to cope with and it appeared that they still accommodated some walk-ins! We waited a long time just to get a drink and after about an hour no one had come to take our order. We asked a passing waitress who was carrying a basket of bread if we could have a braed roll but she told us no because we "weren't her table"! The meal when it eventual arrived was dissappointing. The starter was barely warm and the maincourse ok. I understand that dining on the continent is not to be rushed but this was service was very poor with just 4 people waiting table. I'm afraid our whole visit was tainted by that experience and we chose to eat out for the remaining for nights which meant driving into town, not at all what we wanted when we choose the hotel. Perhaps we were unlucky to be there on a bad night but there was no apology and little recognition that of what we had put up with. Should add the non restaurant service was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude G, Propriétaire at Les Terrasses de Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Good evening Phil W,
Thank you for your presence and your feedback. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your accomodation and the area.
As for the restaurant, thank you for giving us this muich details on what went wrong for your dinner. We are very sorry that you had such a disappointing first dinner. Had we understood that this dinner was such a failure, we would have tried to make it up to you. Obviously, we didn't react as we should have.
It will be a pleasure for us to prove to you that this mistake was one of few,
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
3 km away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
2.9 km away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 26 in Saumur
419 reviews
17.8 km away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Le Canter
Hotel Le Canter
#2 of 2 in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
57 reviews
3.1 km away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 26 in Saumur
229 reviews
2.5 km away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 26 in Saumur
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Terrasses de Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Terrasses de Saumur

Address: 2 rue des Lilas, 49400 Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur > Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
Price Range: €75 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Terrasses de Saumur 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hill above Saumur, a few minutes away from the city center and its castle, Les Terrasses de Saumur, closest hotel to the national school of horsemanship and the cadre noir, offers you an incredible view over the castle and the city. The hotel has a total of 20 rooms or cocooning gold giving you has service off quality: Bathroom and toilets, to hair dryer, cover feather bed, flat screen TV, canal satellite and canal +, free and protected wifi access (air conditioning in certain rooms, balneal bath or balcony for others). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Terrasses de Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing