We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover for Gibbon Experience”

Gateway Villa Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huay Xai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gateway Villa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Huay Xai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

One night at this hotel. Because they provide free breakfast. Bathroom was clean and they provide towel too. Lots of GECKO are bonus. So move fast. I can not take a picture. If you hate them. You must find other Hotel. But Do not Worry. No Gecko in the room. Just on Corridor. WIFI enough for Searching internet. In the morning. You can visit temple on the hill easy.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
Thank chosungrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

The accomodations in Huay Xai were all pretty standard. We went to check out a few of them before we stopped at Gateway. Gateway is a little pricier but that's because they provide free breakfast. If you're looking for a cheap American breakfast then this would be the place to stay because a standard American breakfast at the restaurants around cost 10 to 15000 kip more. Otherwise most accomodations are around the same price on the strip. This was our first stop in Laos from Thailand and the staff weren't as friendly but they tried to help if you asked them a question. Bathrooms were clean and they provide towels. Most places to stay seemed to be on this one strip in Huay Xai so in terms of location it's not really relevant. I'd stay elsewhere if I were to go back but because I like to change up my breakfasts so the deal isn't worth it for me.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel is average, the Internet is okay and the rooms are clean enough for one night before we headed off to gibbon experience. I wouldn't recommend any longer, but seemed the cleanest and friendliest in the area. The restaurant next door has good food, and the free breakfast was a bonus!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Lllaaauurrraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

we stayed in this hotel before going on the slow boat trip to luang prabang.

The hotel is located on the main street right by the other hotels. Apart from the very dirty and old bathroom, which made it basically unusable, the main problem was the noise. At first there was very loud music from the other side of the street until around 1am. This made it impossible to sleep. After that stopped at around 3am, loud music/singing/speech started which again made it impossible to sleep.

The worst part was that we asked the owner of the place whether it would be noisy and he assured us that it wouldnt.

In short: a night without sleep in a dirty room. Certainly not to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benzedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

This hotel is basic yet clean. It is cheap and clean. The wifi is horrible. One night there to cross over to thailand or hop on the gibbon experience is sufficient.
Good location and quiet.
They gave us a discount if we stayed there one night after the gibbon experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the strstreet on the third floor offer impressive views of the morning alms at 6Am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LVZubieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huay Xai hotels
0 km away
Riverside Houay Xai
Riverside Houay Xai
#3 of 8 in Huay Xai
137 reviews
0 km away
Thaveesinh Hotel
Thaveesinh Hotel
#1 of 8 in Huay Xai
43 reviews
0 km away
Phonevichith Guesthouse
Phonevichith Guesthouse
#2 of 13 in Huay Xai
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Little Hostel
Little Hostel
#1 of 8 in Huay Xai
35 reviews
0 km away
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
#2 of 8 in Huay Xai
16 reviews
0 km away
Odomsin Guesthouse
Odomsin Guesthouse
#6 of 13 in Huay Xai
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Villa Hotel

Address: Th Saykhong, Huay Xai, Laos
Region: Laos > Bokeo Province > Huay Xai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Huay Xai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing