We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Little Hostel(Huay Xai)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Oudomsin Hotel(Huay Xai)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Agoda.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
1
4
13
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
4
13
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

The accomodations in Huay Xai were all pretty standard. We went to check out a few of them before we stopped at Gateway. Gateway is a little pricier but that's because they provide free breakfast. If you're looking for a cheap American breakfast then this would be the place to stay because a standard American breakfast at the restaurants around cost 10 to 15000 kip more. Otherwise most accomodations are around the same price on the strip. This was our first stop in Laos from Thailand and the staff weren't as friendly but they tried to help if you asked them a question. Bathrooms were clean and they provide towels. Most places to stay seemed to be on this one strip in Huay Xai so in terms of location it's not really relevant. I'd stay elsewhere if I were to go back but because I like to change up my breakfasts so the deal isn't worth it for me.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel is average, the Internet is okay and the rooms are clean enough for one night before we headed off to gibbon experience. I wouldn't recommend any longer, but seemed the cleanest and friendliest in the area. The restaurant next door has good food, and the free breakfast was a bonus!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Lllaaauurrraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

we stayed in this hotel before going on the slow boat trip to luang prabang.

The hotel is located on the main street right by the other hotels. Apart from the very dirty and old bathroom, which made it basically unusable, the main problem was the noise. At first there was very loud music from the other side of the street until around 1am. This made it impossible to sleep. After that stopped at around 3am, loud music/singing/speech started which again made it impossible to sleep.

The worst part was that we asked the owner of the place whether it would be noisy and he assured us that it wouldnt.

In short: a night without sleep in a dirty room. Certainly not to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benzedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

This hotel is basic yet clean. It is cheap and clean. The wifi is horrible. One night there to cross over to thailand or hop on the gibbon experience is sufficient.
Good location and quiet.
They gave us a discount if we stayed there one night after the gibbon experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the strstreet on the third floor offer impressive views of the morning alms at 6Am.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LVZubieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Just the one night at this hotel that we had not planned, as we could not find the hotel we had arranged to stay.....but that a separate review
Overnight before the slow boat cruise, room was only £10 with breakfast and air conditioning so can't complain too much. Room and bed were clean but basic, shower was tired as was much of the room but as in the title it served a purpose and although breakfast was also basic it was quite enjoyable (coffee, toast, egg and a strange looking sausage)
Staff were really friendly and helpful
Ok for a cheap and cheerful overnighter.

Room Tip: We were in the building that was to units away from reception building, to the left as you face the reception building.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank wayne_kilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews