We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Central Backpackers Hostel - Catba
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
19
7
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
7
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice bathroomday tourcheap pricehalong bay tourplace to stayhot waterwalkablebikepoolbedsislandfacilitieswifitourshanoi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

I recently stayed here as I was visiting ha long bay and I really enjoyed it! It was lively but not too much! People were very friendly and the staff were so helpful! We booked the hideaway boat tour through the hostel which was fantastic and so much fun! Would highly recommend booking this trip! The hostel is in a good location but I would recommend hiring a moped if you want to get around the island, the National Park is a must!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank musiclover89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

I loved my stay here! The surroundings are beautiful, it's out of Catba town, but if you are riding a bike it's only a short distance. A taxi cost 50,000 dong from the town.
It's a new hostel, so everything was good.
Stayed in the triple room, it was clean, came with towels and toiletries, and a TV. Beds were comfy, and there were plenty of plug sockets.
Breakfast was yum, you had a choice of fruit, pancakes with various toppings, or eggs and bread. Definitely recommend the pancakes. You could also help yourself to tea and coffee. Throughout the day you can order food and drinks here too, they have a bar with different promotions every night.
Highly recommend their day tour to Halong Bay. Staff were great at the hostel too. If you're here on a Sunday the BBQ was also good.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

I liked staying at this hotel. It was very clean. The stuff speak good english so it was helpfull. There were hot water which is important because it was a little bit cold weather. There is an option to do laundry but I didn't try it because a lack of time.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Central backpackers Cat Ba is clean, tidy and very comfortable. Comfy beds with big duvets for winter. Staff are very friendly and helpful. A short but easy walk to town. Free breakfast included with a couple of good options. One of the best hostels I have stayed at.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

This is one of the best hostel i have been to. Great way to meet other travellers with new facitlities, very clean and friendly staff. It is a bit out of the town but you can easily rent a bike with very cheap price. They offer the daily tours with good value .This seems to be the most social hostel in catba island so far.
Would definitely recommend to any solo travellers who wanna meet other people.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank solortraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews