We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Anniversary break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bishops Castle, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

vchadwick
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Anniversary break”
Reviewed 9 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Beautiful accommodation, very contemporary and stylish, loved the quiet, views to die for, went on some lovely walks with the dogs, bit out of the way of amenities but we relished the solitude coming from the busy city. The owners left us to our own devices which was great for us we loved the privacy.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinahlone
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 19 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a lovely holiday. Complete quiet. Stunning views. Brilliant property. Beautifully designed for comfort.
Many thanks
Dinah

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Sep 2018
Thanks so much Dinah! It was so lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks so much also to Mike for sending us a photo of the beautiful painting he made of the view from the veranda!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightsee7...
1 review
“A very special place.”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I booked The Shippen at the start of the year as I wanted to have a break somewhere quiet and beautiful. As it happened, I ended up househunting in Shropshire so it served double the purpose!

The location of The Shippen is quite simply stunning and the dog and I had some fabulous walks without having to get in the car; just walk in any direction for spectacular scenery. The accommodation was perfect - warm, comfortable and equipped with everything one needs. Yes, even doggy treats for my labrador!

Jeannie and Paul (plus the delightful lady who comes to do the cleaning) are so welcoming and generously share their obvious love of the place and the surrounding area. A huge thank you to them as it made my time there even more special.

And I found a house and will be back in lovely Shropshire for good thus making The Shippen even more memorable!

Thank you!

Sue and Zosia (the black Labrador).

Date of stay: May 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Sep 2018
I just discovered your review! Thank you so much Sue :-)
I hope your house purchase has gone through, and you'll soon be enjoying a new chapter of your life in Shropshire xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen44_12
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Astonishing barn conversion with delightful interior touches and amazing view from bed!”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We have just spent a wonderful 3 nights at The Shippen, Linley valley.
The perfect getaway - it's a haven of delightful touches that thrilled us in every aspect. The wonderful window over the valley (and that view), the three sofas to sit in (different light in each), the stunning lights (can create many different moods), the sound system - although tough to beat the lambs and the nearby stream nature noises, the walk in wet room and the kitchen with everything you could think of in it.
The barn is wonderfully situated on the Shropshire Way and very close to Stiperstones National Nature Reserve. Lovely pubs nearby - The Bridges at Ratlingthorpe and The Castle Hotel in Bishop's Castle.

We had a super super time, a complete switch off from normal life and would highly recommend this haven to anyone!

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Sep 2018
Oh wow, I just discovered your lovely review Jen! Thanks so much it's so lovely of you to take the time to write this. Thanks so much for coming to stay too. Hope to welcome you back soon xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterWalk...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect Escapism”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a well needed break in this beautiful little barn conversion. We'd never been to Shropshire before and the Linley valley (in which The Shippen sits) is unspoilt and stunning.

Jeannie was a perfect host, on hand for queries and very helpful. The barn is kitted out with a proper kitchen, log burner, TV (with netflix!) and a map of the local area. We went for a walk just out the back door which was excellent and there are quite a few local pubs which are good too.

Would definitely love to go back.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Dec 2017
Thanks so much for choosing The Shippen, and for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope that we can welcome you again sometime. All the best, Jeannie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.