We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
34
9
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
9
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringmodern convenienceshigh streetfront of the houseoff street parkingbed and breakfastfriendly hostsfresh milkfirst floorlocal areabreakfast was excellentcastle hotelgillbcquirkinesscharacterpubs
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We chose this accommodation from the website because it looked to be a historical and characterful building. We were greeted on arrival by the owners who live on site. The car park was to the rear, easily accessed and quite large. One of the owners helped to carry our luggage and showed us the room. It was at the front of the building on the first floor and was enormous. The bed was a very large queen/king size double and proved exceptionally comfortable. There was plenty of space in the bed area and the room extended into a sitting area with sofa, television and dressing table. Off this was a good size en suite with bath/over bath shower. The refrigerator contained fresh milk, some bottles of water and some cans of soft drink.
Breakfast was down in the dining room, the choice offered was very good with a whole range of cereals and fruit plus a cooked menu.
The bedroom proved very comfortable especially as the heat was put on when we returned from our days out and also in the morning.
The owners were very helpful with enabling our choice of pubs to eat in every evening and were also very engaging and welcoming.
The building has been restored properly so as to be comfortable and well fitting for a bed and breakfast whilst retaining its history and character.
This is a good centre for walking and also sightseeing with a good range of attractions within driving distance. Bishops Castle is a thriving small town with many eating places and adequate small shops.

The Porch House also has two self catering apartments within the property.
We can thoroughly recommend this.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Only one night this time but we fully intend to come back again. I'd have loved to be really nosy and have a look round the rest of the house... Lovely fresh cooked breakfast and a very comfortable bed. There's a heck of a slope on the floor in the room at the front of the house and I inadvertently ended up in the sofa more than once but it all adds to the fun ;) Since my travelling companion is 6'4" we do have to be careful of low ceilings and short beds but apart from a couple of doorways the Porch House is is surprisingly high and the beds are plenty big enough. There's a live music venue right opposite (Thursdays and Saturdays) but earplugs are provided ont he bedside tables - a very thoughtful touch.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BadgersMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We stayed for two nights in late June and wished it could have been longer. The house oozes character and the warmth of being a loved home. Gill welcomed us with charm and our room was just what we wanted - uneven floors and all! Although it overlooked the High Street the lack of traffic meant we were not disturbed at night. I asked for a large bed and this was about as big as the Great Bed of Ware! Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit and some wonderful, local yoghurt (think some was local?) and John looked after us very well. The small town is - quirky - and full of character and we were made welcome by all we met. Can't recommend ore highly.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francisjon46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Friendly reception, gorgeous room with ENORMOUS bath, huge bed and spacious reception area. Breakfast top rate with fresh produce.....faultless. Great location in centre of town and very good local information also provided.

Room Tip: ask for room at back if worried about noise.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Markdowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Just love this place. The B&B rooms are nicely decorated, warm and spacious. The two apartments are quaint and cosy. We particularly like the Ludlow apartment (where we last stayed during our last trip to BC in April 2017).

The Ludlow, plus points:
- Spacious for two
- Massive, super comfy bed with superior bed linen
- Log burner, which generates a lot of heat and gives a cosy feel to the lounge
- Quiet, but central location, easy to walk around town and lots of longer countryside walks direct from the front door
- Off street parking at the rear of the property
- Lovely, kind, friendly hosts.

Minus points
- If you don't like creaky floorboards and wonky ceilings, this probably isn't the place for you! Good job we love that sort of quirkiness.

Bishop's Castle itself:
- Don't expect lots of shops, bars and restaurants. This place is off the beaten track, but still has more pubs and places to stay than you would expect in a large village.
- One pub in particular serves fabulous food (The Three Tuns - do book in advance).
- The Castle Hotel, Poppy House and the Indian restaurant all serve good food too.
- Recent work on the Town Hall makes it worth a visit, and the guided (or self directed) town walk is informative and fun.
- There are a few interesting shops, a Co-op and a Spar.
- There are some fairly steep bits of the village, so probably not good for those with mobility problems.
- Lots of free parking around the village.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LisaBurton67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews