We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Time Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 12 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I found this establishment delightfully eccentric, with brightly coloured oak beams & uneven floors. Jean is extremely friendly & helpful, & cooked me an enormous full English breakfast. I was in the cruck room which was cosy with a view of the Shropshire hills & away from the main street.. My bed was comfortable & I had no trouble sleeping. The electric shower was nice & hot, My only quibble would be having to ask for tea making facilities in the room. My best memory of my stay was having my breakfast looking out over the colourful garden. If you want clinical not for you, if you want warm this is it.

Room Tip: cruck room, it is away from the High St with a chiming clock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2016

Where to start ? First of all, our booking was muddled up, meaning that we ended up in the twin room when there was a vacant double room. The decor is very dated indeed and there are virually no amenities in the rooms - even getting the wherewithal to make a cup of tea involved a considerable rigmarole and as for a fridge, opening windows, wi-fi, a comfortable bed, space to move around, decent furniture, none of these are provided, the latter being rather ironic it is part of lovely hand-made furniture shop. Breakfast is seemingly always served at 8.30am and evidently is cooked from scratch with no pre-ordering, meaning that it was 45 mins before we were served, during which time we had to ask for tea and coffee. When it arrived, the cooked breakfast was very nice but it was an inordinately long wait. We ended up cancelling our second night and althought we were told that we could leave our things in he room until mid-afternoon, when we returned we found that our bags had been packed by the owners and put in the hallway. The owners really need to become more flexible and better organised and perhaps stop trading on the supposedly olde worlde charm of the property (multi-coloured half-timbered beams anyone ?!) and think about to provide a reasonable standard of service for the 21st century.

Room Tip: Don't book the twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJHare1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We were told we arrived too early and there was a kettle and no tea or coffee to go with it! The bed was too old, we don't mind antique or in character if it is still in good working order! Breakfast was lovely, local produce, although late and inflexible time making us late for an organised walk as we went for the Walking Festival. My friends (adults) had children's beds and with warm weather were unable to open the window. A lovely couple but if they wish to continue b & b they need to attend to the rooms if asking the going rate.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

My room was extremely comfortable, really clean and I had a great breakfast. I was on a business visit so was in and out quickly but it would have been a great place for a lie in and to dawdle over breakfast. Great hosts who did not intrude unless you want to chat.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

stayed one night at old time .warm welcome enjoyable breakfast ,with clean tidy room Landlady kindly returned teeshirt I had left behind .convenient location in centre of town range of pubs within walking distance

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belle30_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishops Castle hotels
0.1 km away
Bank House Bed & Breakfast
Bank House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Bishops Castle
83 reviews
0.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
817 reviews
0.6 km away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#6 of 12 in Bishops Castle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Boar's Head Hotel
The Boar's Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
269 reviews
0 km away
The Green Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Time Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Time Bed & Breakfast

Address: 29 High Street, Bishops Castle SY9 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Price Range: €63 - €74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Time is a 15th century house in the centre of old Bishops Castle fronted by a local craft gallery. Comfortable en-suite bedrooms and tasty breakfasts with home made bread, free range eggs and local produce. The shared breakfast table is next to the French windows into the garden and is in the 17th century extension! Bishops Castle is an excellent centre for walkers and cyclists and those exploring this unspoilt border country. The town has two breweries and many pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing