We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Green Caravan and Camping Park(Bishops Castle)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$22
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boar's Head Hotel(Bishops Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Woodbatch Farm(Bishops Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The crown inn(Bishops Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
677
189
21
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
677
189
21
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog friendly hoteloak panelled dining roomweather forecastshropshire hillslovely hotellovely gardenreal aleroll top bathbeer gardenbreakfast and evening mealcream tealocal walksshort breaklovely roomkippersmini breakmarket square
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018

We have stayed at Castle Hotel a few times in past. On this occasion Bishops Castle was at the end of a 15 mile walk along the Kerry Ridgeway. As usual our Master bedroom was very comfortable and clean. We had dinner in the small bar area which quiet
and cosy. Have already booked another weekend for few weeks time.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ianpward55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Bishop's Castle is a great base to explore the Shropshire Hills and The Castle Hotel is a great choice for accommodation in the village. It's an old coaching inn with bags of old-world charm. Service is friendly and the quality of the food is also excellent. Bathrooms in all the rooms have recently been renovated so they're a lot newer than you would find in comparable hotels. Daily weather forecasts and newsletters featuring local events and attractions are a lovely touch. Would definitely stay here again if revisiting the area.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnny2hats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely to day stay at the castle hotel . Staff couldn't do enough for you . When I got home today i misplace my gold chain. I phoned the hotel and the staff called me back to say the lady who had cleaned are room had found it. I would like to thank her very much x can't wait go back x x

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Didn't stay but ate here twice, second time so hubby could have the pie. Come to Bishops Castle a couple of times a year and always eat here and this time as always food and drinks excellent, so glad the steak pie was back on menu. Coming again in January 2018 and hope the pie is still on menu.
Also shropshire Tiger gin was gorgeous

Room Tip: Didn't stay just wanted to mention food
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VStorey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

We spent one night in the seperate cottage that was beautifully decorated and furnished with an extremely comfortable bed.
Dinner and breakfast were very good with excellent choice. Food was imaginative and made with fresh ingredients.
Very good valueour dog was welcome in the hotel and bar where we had breakfast and dinner.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rosiliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews