We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year celebration”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Our group of 8 adults had a wonderful 3 day break over New Year. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and decorated to a very good standard. The food is excellent and the bar has a good variety of beers and gins. All staff were friendly and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. The restaurants and bar staff were exceptional.We would certainly revisit and commend the hotel menus.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank JanetBm333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

33 - 37 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2018

We have stayed at Castle Hotel a few times in past. On this occasion Bishops Castle was at the end of a 15 mile walk along the Kerry Ridgeway. As usual our Master bedroom was very comfortable and clean. We had dinner in the small bar area which quiet
and cosy. Have already booked another weekend for few weeks time.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ianpward55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Bishop's Castle is a great base to explore the Shropshire Hills and The Castle Hotel is a great choice for accommodation in the village. It's an old coaching inn with bags of old-world charm. Service is friendly and the quality of the food is also excellent. Bathrooms in all the rooms have recently been renovated so they're a lot newer than you would find in comparable hotels. Daily weather forecasts and newsletters featuring local events and attractions are a lovely touch. Would definitely stay here again if revisiting the area.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnny2hats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely to day stay at the castle hotel . Staff couldn't do enough for you . When I got home today i misplace my gold chain. I phoned the hotel and the staff called me back to say the lady who had cleaned are room had found it. I would like to thank her very much x can't wait go back x x

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Didn't stay but ate here twice, second time so hubby could have the pie. Come to Bishops Castle a couple of times a year and always eat here and this time as always food and drinks excellent, so glad the steak pie was back on menu. Coming again in January 2018 and hope the pie is still on menu.
Also shropshire Tiger gin was gorgeous

Room Tip: Didn't stay just wanted to mention food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VStorey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
22.9 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
961 reviews
23.1 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
493 reviews
24.4 km away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#2 of 2 in Montgomery
305 reviews
37.1 km away
Best Western Valley Hotel
23.7 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range: €76 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing