We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
691
192
21
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
691
192
21
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog friendly hoteloak panelled dining roomweather forecastshropshire hillslovely hotelreal alelovely gardenbeer gardenroll top bathbreakfast and evening mealmarket squarelocal walksshort breakkippersmini breaklovely roomold building
Filter
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Loved our stay at The Castle! Simple review. if you: a) have a dog; b) are looking for some great walking country; c) appreciate good food; and d) love good ale, then you will not be disappointed with The Castle. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated and super quiet. Our dog Bonnie loved it. Our two sons were wowed with a room that contained a roll top bath. Add to this super friendly staff, great food, amazing breakfast and a cheeky little tasting board of ales, and you have the recipes for the perfect stay. A gem. We'll be back.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank Westofcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. we are so pleased that you all had an enjoyable time. I have passed all of your wonderful comments on to the staff who I am sure will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Although we were in the smallest room we found it well a appointed with good shower and generous tea/coffee/chocolate facilities.
We had two nights of excellent wholesome evening meals with good menus to chose from .
Personal note from a real ale fanatic I was well served.
The staff were very cherry and helpful which made our stay completely enjoyable

Room Tip: we were in the smallest and it was very comfortable
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomcollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay at The Castle Hotel, we are so pleased to hear that you found the staff cheery and helpful which made your stay completely enjoyable, I shall pass this on to our staff who I am sure will be delighted to hear this.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

We have been to the Castle lots of times for drinks and meals whilst camping locally. The garden is stunning on a nice day! This was our first actual stay and we weren't disappointed. Although we had small double room was perfectly fine. Well equipped, comfortable, beautiful coordinating Laura Ashley fabrics and even sewing and shoe shine kits! Filtered local water a nice touch too.
The Castle is warm, comfortable and inviting, staff pleasant and helpful. Food was sublime, my liver and onions was delicious as was my husband's steak. Only issue was couldn't eat it all!!
A real gem, will definitely be back

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chester216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences of The Castle Hotel with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are so pleased that you noticed the little touches that can often be over looked! We look forward to welcoming you back whether it be in the summer for a meal when your camping in the area or for an overnight stay.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

A lovely one night break at the castle. We have a dog and some places claim to be dog friendly when at best they are dog tolerant and in reality wish you weren't there.
Exactly the opposite at the castle, our dog couldn't have felt more welcome, a greeting from "Milly" the guard dog on reception, all if the staff said hello to our dog, she was allowed dinner with us in the bar and breakfast in the morning.
The rooms are nice, it's not 5 star but they don't pretend to be but the room was very modern, very clean and lovely.
The food was great and there were some super walks from the hotel, very nice stay, lovely lovely people (honestly couldn't have been better) and a lovely venue, would happily return in a heartbeat. Thank you very much

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent stay at The Castle Hotel.
We pride ourselves in being dog friendly so feedback like yours is wonderful to hear. I shall pass all of your comments on to the staff who I am sure will be delighted to hear how lovely you found your stay.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

Spent the weekend at the castle hotel with my wife. We had a fabulous time. Full of character. We felt at home immediately, the staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Our room (number 7) was in the loft and mixed exposed oak beams and large bed with a contemporary well equipped bathroom . We also had a dinner in the restaurant which was delicious.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Defender5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Castle Hotel.
We are delighted that both yourself and your wife had an enjoyable weekend with us and felt immediately at home.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews