We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
381 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fantastic Choice”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Copamarina is a lovely retreat on a beautiful stretch of beach in southwest PR. While the cost of meals seemed a bit high, the food and service were excellent and the location superb. Alexandra Restaurant is outstanding!

Loved: the easy access to swimming pools, calm stretch of beach, availability of snorkeling/boating options, quality of food, beauty of setting.
Caveats: Follow the hotel directions, not the GPS or Google map directions to get there. Also, despite the website information, there are no bike rentals.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    437
    151
    67
    35
See reviews for
451
522
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison Twp, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed at the Copamarina from Feb 13-16th with about 30 high school teenagers and 12 adults. Check in was fast - our tour guide called ahead and they had our keys waiting for us. Within 5 minutes of arrival, we were in the pool!

Breakfast each morning was fabulous! Nice variety. Didn't have lunch or dinner (with the exception of one dinner that was arranged for our group - disappointing. Rice and bean mixture and a salad...) at the resort - we were out on tour most of the time. But, prices are very expensive for meals and for drinks. The adults ended up stopping at a grocery store and bringing some beer back to our rooms.

The pools are very nice, clean, warm. There are two kiddie pools and 2 jacuzzi's as well. Beach is very pretty - there is some sea grass, but that didn't stop us from swimming out in it. One of our teens found a starfish, hermit crabs, and a live conch! Went kayaking one afternoon - tried to make it over to Gilligan's Island, but the wind was too strong. Still had a great time kayaking and they only charged us for 1/2 hr. Those in our group that took the ferry over to the island had a good time.

Rooms were spacious and bed was comfortable. A couple members of our group had problems with ants in their rooms, but didn't let that bother them - after all, when in a tropical, Carribbean island, bugs happen!

All in all, I'd recommend this place. I'm used to all-inclusive resorts, so this was pricier than what I usually do. But, it is very quiet and a totally relaxing atmosphere (you won't find nightclubs and casinos here!). Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mllelchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Only stayed two nights but this was the most relaxing place we stayed in Puerto Rico. No real town there. Definitely low key. Staff was attentive and friendly. Service at the outside restaurant was slow but food at both restaurants was good and resonably priced. The breakfast buffet was expensive. Hiked the dry forest-information at the front desk. Went diving on "the wall"-the dive boat will go out with only two people and the reef looked really healthy to me. Diving setup was very good and the divemaster and assistant (both named Roberto) were friendly and great. The beach is OK but the water is not crystal clear and it isn't sandy (in the water-sea grass). Kayak (rent at the resort or at the ferry) - or take the ferry at the nearby dock-to Gilligan's Island. There were quite a few peopleat the island there but that was OK. The water is clearer there and it was a fun place to see. There are also more beaches further down the road with clearer water. There were quite a few smaller children and they do make noise. Rooms are small but comfortable but not luxurious. Plan ahead and have an agenda. Plenty to do for a few days but I'm not sure about a longer trip. We didn't go but a lot of people went to Ponce for sightseeing. You have to drive awhile for other restaurants(I think)-we went to LaMonserrate Seaport Restaurant in Ponce-on the water off highway 2. Great location but food was just OK. Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbirdDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puerto rico
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2010

This place is amazing,is the best place to vacations of Puerto Rico. The staff of the resort are excellent. The restaurants are a+. Thanks to Eric (the waitress) your service is out of this world. . Your idea of the weeding ring and the musician was wonderful I expect to return i soon i possible.The aspect of the room is nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brumley,Mo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

This resort is a wonderful place to stay for relaxation of mind, body, and soul . It is situated ajacent to the dry forest preserve. ( a great place for bird watching) From the moment we arrived we where impressed. At check in we were greeted and upgraded to a ocen view room. the rooms were very nice and comfortale with privite patios with new outdoor furniture. The grounds were kept in perfect order and you could tell the place was well taken care of.You will see staff always keeping things in order. They have 2 full size pools with fountains. A kidie pool. A hot tub.A spa and fitness room. All along the beach front were shade structures as well as padded lounge chairs. Yes, the beach did have seeweed but a short walk (100yds) west brings you to a public beach maintained by the park service with lifeguards and a pertected swimming beach.I loved the beach as I did a lot of walking in the water and finding starfish, which there was many.This is the place to stay if you want peace and quite and still be in a 2 1/2 hour drive of anywhere on the island without the hustle and bustle of San Jaun. In our 5 day stay we visited the rain forest, Camu caves, Rincon ( for a delightful sunset dinner) La Parguera, for snorkeling, and also enjoyed a few hours of back road driving visiting some smaller villages.( WARNING) these roads are not for the faint of heart! The food ( 2 resturants) and bar are a bit pricey but there are many fine resturants with in a 45 minute drive. There are also local stores where you can buy your liquor and mixes, snacks, for a great way to save money. Nearby are also fantastic bakeries and fruit stands with all kinds of fresh fruit. they also have daily activities for the kids and kyacks for rent to go to Gilliigians island. they can also arrange snorkeling and diving trips. We decided to use Paradise Scuba and snorkeling center in La Parguera ( a short 15 minute drive ) All in all this is the place we will always stay while visiting this fantstic island. Plese feel free to contact me for any info or some pics.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreamers2Trucking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
102.0 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
5.4 km away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
115.8 km away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
102.1 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
128.5 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
102.4 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing