We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place, great food, committed owners”
Review of Hotel La Barme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Barme
Ranked #3 of 17 Cogne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming place, great food, committed owners”
Reviewed 13 February 2009

This family run hotel is long on charm and efficiency. We were a group of five ice climbing for five days in february. We took a half board package, the food is excellent and the wine very good value. the breakfasts were plentiful and very good quality

Everything was clean, well ordered and well run, which is what you want in a 2 star hotel.

Downsides, (they were minor), the beds that we had felt a bit narrow and a bit short. Televisions were a bit old.....but so what?

We will be back there next year.

There is a sauna and 'wellness' centre but none of us used this faclitity.

  • Liked — Well run, great food
  • Disliked — narrow beds
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ozlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    54
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
66
60
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Hotel La Barme was our first Italian experience and one we will remember forever! The owners were wonderfully accommodating to us in many ways, most notably by adjusting the hearty nightly dinner to our vegetarian standards and making sure we would be satisfied! The food and food service was superb--we did not go hungry! Desserts were amazing!

Owners suggested several hikes for us during our stay and we were able to head out each day walking to a new trail head. Cogne is only a 10 minute bus ride/a beautiful walk down the valley, following a rushing glacial stream.

We travelled to Valnontey by trainafter arriving in Milan, changing to a bus in A'Osta for the drive up to Cogne. As Americans, we continue to marvel at the outstanding public transportation in Italy. What a great family place--fun to see multi-generation families enjoying the mountains and the relaxed setting at La Barme. We would come back and we are recommending it to everyone we speak to!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Memmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights in July. Hotel La Barme has heaps of charm and personality, and is a perfect base for walking and exploring the valley. Valnontey is small but you feel like you’re right in the heart of the park and there are some great walks direct from the hotel itself. We had great weather the week we were there, but I think we would have been pretty bored if the weather had stopped us walking.

In addition to the great location, Hotel La Barme does delicious, hearty food each night. We stayed half-board, which is very common in Valnontey and Cogne. We’d strongly recommend it as the food is good, varied and the half-board price is great value.

The only slight let-down for us was the room, which though very comfortable and peaceful was small. We saw inside other rooms which were a good deal larger, but for 7 nights we could have done with a bit more space. This is the only thing that drops the review from 5 to 4 stars, as everything else was all we had hoped for and more.

Don’t expect luxury from Hotel La Barme, but do expect personality, charm, comfort, good food, and a great location.

  • Liked — Location, food, friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jossick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

We were very pleased with our stay at this beautiful little inn. We were warmly welcomed here over Christmas and enjoyed very special care from our hosts. The hosts spoke wonderful English and served us a fabulous Italian meal each night (with ample seconds and wonderful desserts). The guests and their families congregated in the cozy common room each night before dinner--a perfect place for families with young kids.

As we were visiting the area to explore the ice climbing, we were happy with the hotel staff's willingness to serve us early breakfast and with the facilities and information provided to us.

The hotel appears rustic from the outside, but rooms are modern with alpine decor with beautiful exposed wooden beams. Our room/bathroom was spotless. An underground parking garage is provided. The hotel is equipped with a jacuzzi and sauna and also provides cross country ski rental for those who would like to explore the miles and miles of trails through the Gran Paradiso National Park. It is situated in Valnontey, in a quiet valley at the park's entrance and yet is only 3 km (an easy ski or drive) from the tiny bustling town of Cogne.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — It was quite easy to her other guests in the common room and neighboring rooms.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cogne hotels
2.7 km away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
2.7 km away
Residence Chateau Royal
2.4 km away
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
#1 of 17 in Cogne
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#3 of 17 in Cogne
360 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Notre Maison
Hotel Notre Maison
#2 of 17 in Cogne
504 reviews
2.7 km away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#6 of 17 in Cogne
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Barme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Barme

Property: Hotel La Barme
Address: Frazione Valnontey 8, 11012 Cogne, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Barme 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Restaurant La Barme is situated in the heart of the Gran Paradiso National Park, just 2 km from the village of Cogne. The building and its location are in perfect harmony with the quaint rustic village of Valnontey with its beautiful mountain scenery and wildlife. This charming hotel has been developed from a cluster of authentic old mountain buildings, in keeping with the local tradition of stone and wood in valdôtain style. It is charming and quaint . The hotels unique situation is a superb base for walking and hiking in the summer and cross-country skiing and icefall climbing in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Barme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing