We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of A Ria

A Ria
Ranked #3 of 59 Restaurants in Ferragudo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$38
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Ria is situated in Ferragudo along the quay side before the local market off the main square. Ferragudo is one of the most picturesque fishing villages in Portugal. A Ria is a small restaurant which compliment Ferragudo specializing in local Algarvean cuisine such as Cataplana & Monk fish rice, cuttlefish and clams is the specialty of the house. Your visit to Ferragudo and A Ria would not be complete with out tasting fresh fish grilled across the road, served with potatoes and salad but will be happy to provide home made chips and fresh vegetable if preferred. The menu caters for everyone with some excellent steak options and a small children's menu. A Ria prepares all the dishes at the time of order ensuring each dish is fresh NB.this can cause some delays in the height of the summer when the restaurant is full, you can take this time to relax and enjoy a drink or a bottle of good quality Portuguese wine. WiFi is now available. A Ria is currently closed on Mondays. To guarantee your table reservations are excepted.
Reviewed 1 October 2022

Love it here and never disappointed. Once again the food and service were superb. Went with other friends who haven’t been before and they loved it. Give it a try, especially the fresh fish, you will not be disappointed !

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank S1482GYtimothyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2022

Very good restaurant with traditional cooking. Delicious fresh seafood and very good traditional desserts.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank caroleannieclaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 September 2022

My wife and I are on a 17-day holiday in Ferragudo; our 7th visit in the past decade. One of our best discoveries was the A Ria seafood restaurant; certainly in our books one of the two best restaurants in Ferragudo. I cannot mention the other restaurant as we have not yet eaten there on this visit. Although reservations are a must at A Ria, my wife and I were fortunate to procure a table on our second night in Ferragudo. We have also made reservations for another evening. During this visit, my wife and I shared a sea bass; freshly caught that same day and grilled to perfection. The two main waiters are professionals at filleting the grilled fish and it is amazing watching their skills right before your eyes. The cost of the fish is by weight and on this outing, it was €49.00. The meal is accompanied by the couvert (slices of bread, oils, butter, carrots) and the meal comes with boiled potatoes and a choice of salad or fresh vegetables; (we chose the former). The meal and experience, as expected were delicious and the service was impeccable. Looking forward to our next visit and possibly the sea bream which my wife prefers!

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 August 2022

This place served lovely seafood and the staff squeezed us in even though we didn’t have a reservation! it was very good value.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank taradG6830GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 August 2022 via mobile

Excellent service and delicious fresh seafood, thoroughly enjoyed. Recommend the cuttlefish fish with clams and the hand cut chips.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank clairev24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed A Ria also viewed

Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 

Been to A Ria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.