We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth waiting to get a table at our chosen time and date.”
Review of Fim do Mundo

Fim do Mundo
Ranked #4 of 59 Restaurants in Ferragudo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 13 November 2022 via mobile

What a wonderful evening! Warmly welcomed by Jo & her staff.
Food was superb, service swift and helpful. Each of the steaks could have served two people. Enormous, but tender & cooked to perfection. A dream fulfilled! We’ll go again. Thanks to everyone at Fim do Mondo.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank 231vivienf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
fimdomundo, Owner at Fim do Mundo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2022

Thanks guys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2022

We arrived a little before opening for an early reservation and they seated us without delay. The staff was bubbly and talkative without being overwhelming, provided great detail about their menu and wine choices, and even made us laugh. The folks that run this establishment are colorful to say the least. We started with the scallop appetizer and it was pretty delicious. For our entrees, the Tiger Prawn in garlic butter and 200-day Argentinian Ribeyes served as a surf and turf. They were nothing short of scrumptious. And the desserts, oh my. We'll definitely come back to Fim do Mundo, even if we don't stay in Ferragudo again. HIGHLY recommend reservations well in advance and this is a cash-only business (as of Nov 2022).

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markmJ6705VJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
fimdomundo, Owner at Fim do Mundo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. Much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2022

Despite all the reviews warning of the need to book a table we assumed that a Tuesday evening would be quiet…wrong! The lovely lady (they’re all lovely) managed to squeeze us in to a table for two just in front of the wine rack/wall. The place was buzzing but we were in no rush, although we didn’t actually have to wait long at all.

Scallops in seafood sauce starter was exceptional but we were really there for the steak and had pushed the boat out by ordering from the special section of the menu (USA ribeye and fillet as recommended by the very friendly waiter, accompanied by a bottle of red which tasted quite robust until partnered with the meat when it became just the right choice).

Be warned! Every review which mentions the portion size is understating the reality, these were huge and would easily have fed two people. Large portions often disguise poor quality but not here, these were among the best steaks I’ve ever tasted. The fillet was medium/rare and to be honest there were bits which seemed barely cooked (did I eat them? Yes I did) and the sheer size of the ribeye meant that my wife’s preference for medium to mean “cooked through” didn’t match the chef’s preference. She ate round the sides, I helped with the middle section but I’m sure if we’d asked they would have cooked it a bit more. Very little went to waste, a great deal went to my waist!

With a lemon meringue pie, brandy and a glass of fizz the bill for two (well deserved tip included) came to 200€ but we could easily have enjoyed the meal for half that sum. A special occasion meal as our first trip to Ferragudo comes to an end. If we return we would certainly come back here, maybe we wouldn’t eat for a day or two beforehand next time…

Be aware, cash only.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eatdrinkwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
fimdomundo, Owner at Fim do Mundo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2022

Thanks for your thaughts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2022 via mobile

We rang and managed to get a table, but wouldn’t have done if we had just shown up.

Goat’s cheese in honey, Uruguayan rib eye and a tiger prawn and Banoffee cheesecake.

Good food and wine and great atmosphere, as ever :)

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank UkDandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
fimdomundo, Owner at Fim do Mundo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2022

Thanks so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2022 via mobile

Booked this place after reading all the hype. It was ok. Plate of steak with gravy, but no chips or vegetables so a bit boring and extremely salty. Ribs were slightly tough - certainly not “melt in your mouth”. Plenty of other restaurants offering just as good or better offerings. Maybe if we’d paid for the more expensive steaks our expectations would have been met?

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Fim do Mundo also viewed

Ferragudo, Faro District
Portimao, Faro District
 
Ferragudo, Faro District
 

Been to Fim do Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.