We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage for larger groups/families...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brown Fold Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NickiF201...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage for larger groups/families, spacious, comfortable and great location.”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed for a week with another family. Together there were 8 of us, 4 children, 4 adults.
The downstairs living space was a great size so we weren't under each others feet.
2 living rooms were really useful for us. The kids could settle in front of the tv whilst we used the other. A tv in the 2nd living room would have been useful.
The kitchen diner was a great social place for us. Big enough for us all to sit in comfort at the table and great for us to cook and eat once the children were tucked up in bed.
The kitchen had every utensil we could possibly need and more. Plastic cups plates and bowls were very useful for the kids and there were more than enough glasses, plates, bowls for everyone.
The bedrooms were very comfortable and spacious. The smallest room had bunk beds in it and not much else, but for kids it was perfect.
3 bathrooms was a luxury for us all (1 downstairs). No queues for the toilet!
Plenty of towels and toiletries.
The garage was ideal to park the car and finding a space in the square for the other car was never a problem.
Ideal location being in the middle of Grassington, yet we couldn't hear the cars or people once safely inside the cottage.
Would definitely recommend.
Our children were all 5 and under and it was fantastic for them. All children were perfectly able to walk so no need for stair gates. The character of the cottage included steps into and out of most rooms, so may be difficult for very young children who are crawling everywhere.....
Will definitely return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah w
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We have recently returned from a weekend away in Grassington and the cottage was just perfect for our group. We were in a party of 5 and the cottage had ample room for all of us making it a really relaxing stay. The kitchen is beautifully designed and well equiped with a large dining table in the adjacent open plan dining room; ideal for self catering if you don't want to venture to any of the local pubs (which are a 2 min walk away). The underfloor heating in the kitchen was a dream!

There are 4 beautiful bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, which was ideal for a group of 5 girls! The main living room is huge with a large fire place, but behind this is a smaller 'snug' room if you want to be a bit more cosy.

Our party had two cars but there is more street parking if any more are required.

We were staying on busy weekend as the Dickensian Christmas Market was on so the pubs were pretty full. However we still managed to book a table at one for diner on the Saturday night. The cottage is just off main street so whilst they are close to the pubs we didn't hear any noise - and there was plenty of people still outside them even though it was freezing!

Overall a fantastic stay, can't wait to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rozzerb
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing weekend away”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband and I love Grassington, the walks... The little boutique shops... The local food... The divine pies at the butchers (need I say more?) and this cottage really is the cherry on top! You couldn't ask for a better location or a more scenic stay, it's just wonderful. With underfloor heating downstairs, a fabulous kitchen you can actually cook in and the exquisitely decorated feel gives this cottage such a wonderful atmosphere. I've stayed here with my hubby and loved it so much I decided to go again with my girl friends. We had a wonderful time and we definitely will be going back! Its worth the visit and you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianemk20...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just arrived home after a weekend break at Brownfold Cottage. Well positioned and spacious. Only downside is according to the details there are four bathrooms. There is not, there is only three. Also it states two single beds but in fact there is bunk beds as well. Another TV would be great in the larger lounge as the TV room does not seat any more than four people.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location and lovely house”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a great cottage. It is large and well organised for a group of family. Plenty of bathrooms and spaces for people to spread out... Garage was great and we parked our other car in the village when we weren't using it, which wasn't a problem. Great to be able to walk straight out to the shops and pub etc. Lovely butcher next door. Really pleasant neighbours too.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$222
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing