We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I want to go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ashfield House
Ranked #6 of 22 Grassington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“I want to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

A weekend away with friends and Ashfield House delivered in quantity. Joe and Elizabeth and their tMeam could not do enough to make our stay off the gauge. Very attentive to detail, nothing was forgotten or overlooked with additional flourishes that sets this establishment apart. Everything worked and the cleanliness was just like home. Eating was something else - we stayed in both evenings as there was simply no point going anywhere else. I would not hesitate recommending Ashfield House to anyone and indeed we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    41
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
193
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We spent three nights at the Ashfield to recharge our batteries when touring the north. It was a beautiful room. The breakfast was also brilliant with lovely local produce.
Great location for walking or just relaxing. There is a lovely garden at the rear that must be a very relaxing place to sit in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hiitscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

A lovely destination. This charachter dwelling oozes with hospitality and supports local business's by buying local, well researched produce.
The location is ideal as a base for many walks in the Dales.
We were introduced to it by friends, and we will be returning taking other friends.
We wish Joe & Elizabeth well with their personalised business.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We felt deeply uncomfortable staying here. We would not stay here given a choice, and despite having two nights booked we stayed only one. I think that sums up how strongly we disliked this place. They didn't even think to ask why we were leaving early. Greeted by strange woman who wanted us to park where our car obviously wouldn't fit. Room was moderately clean. Only one power socket in a weird place in the room, so gadget fiends should forget it. Bed was poorly maintained, and they seem to have an obsession with putting the mangy teddy bear back on the bed in the morning. Shower was OK but lacked pressure. We didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment on this.Getting out of the car park is nearly impossible - we had to reverse a long way down a narrow lane, avoiding parked cars with barely enough room (literally a centimetre each side of the mirrors).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Antony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had a marvellous time at Ashfield House - Elizabeth and Joe are charming, engaging hosts, and provided a genuinely homely yet professional feel. We stayed for dinner, and were impressed with the quality of the food although the choice is limited as it's a small establishment. We were particularly impressed that providing really tasty gluten free food was genuinely no problem, both for dinner and for breakfast (including homemade gluten free rhubarb and apple crumble - yum!). The rooms are quite small but are spotless and quaint. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiestwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 km away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 km away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.1 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
12.8 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 22 in Grassington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield House

Property: Ashfield House
Address: 3 Summers Fold, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashfield House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest accommodation with dining facilities where a ‘Long Weekend Break is not Long Enough.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Ashfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashfield House Hotel Grassington
Ashfield Hotel Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing