We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy wee spot with access to remoteness and...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Byre

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kilchoan, Ardnamurchan Peninsula, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jayne M
1 review
“A cosy wee spot with access to remoteness and facilities”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was my 5th time staying with Steading and 1st time in The Byre. I very much enjoyed John and Jacqui as people and found them to be authentic, funny and warm. They did their best to make sure my stay was enjoyable and nothing was ever a bother to them. The Byre is attached to their home and is also private with a river running at the back. I met lots of people and also had easy access to remoteness. I walked several times without meeting anyone. I chose the Byre because it was dog friendly and has wifi access which I wanted to do some pieces of work. I didn't watch the tv although if you enjoy that it's a big one with plenty of dvd's to choose from, like having a cinema experience whilst in the comfort of home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReggieSH
Pinneberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rural and good location”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a pleasent stay in Kilchoan. The house was leasure, well equipped and the host was very gentle and helpful. The location is quite close to the ferry harbour to Tobermory, so that you can visit Mull. Furthermore you can book a tour to Staffa and Lunga, which starts in Kilchoan. The accommodation has a nice atmosphere and a great view to the sound of Mull. Thank you very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Besondere Ausstattung, sehr nette Gastgeber!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasoy65
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wee gem ”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just back from a week in The Byre and it's a fantastic wee gem of a cottage. Everything you need to make for a lovely chilled break. John and Jacqui were so helpful and always on hand. Will definitely go back when the batteries are needing recharged.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely location we were made very welcome by John and Jaquie they were always around for help or advice the cottage was really nice quaint the log burner was fabulous when we needed to light it but the location was ideal in close walking distance to the ferry stores the kilchoan hotel and also the ferry to Tobamorey.I would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The peak roof bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a fantastic few days relaxing in The Byre which provided a backdrop to our first exploration of Ardnamurchan - we'll be back!

The Byre is comfortable and well equipped and ideal for a couple. John and Jacqui are very friendly and chatted away without being nosey or intrusive. John was very helpful in ensuing we settled in well and knew where everything was. The stove was great and logs/peat were readily available.

There is limited mobile internet signal in Ardnamurchan but The Byre has good Wifi for those of you who need to update social media on your break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing