We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
2
6
0
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
6
0
5
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This place is very disorganized right from booking online - you receive a confirmation number with committment that you will be called to confirm, but no one calls you. The price for a night's stay should be no more than $70/night max, versus $160/night regardless that you are on the lake. During our stay the bathroom had a shower curtain that was black with mold - a new shower curtain can be bought at the Dollar Store very inexpensively and can therefore be changed frequently. Cleaning of the room was very poor - one day the garbage in both bathroom and kitchen area was not removed - temperature that day was about 29 degrees, not very good. There were 4 people sharing this 2 bedroom suite and we never did receive towels for all of us, even though we booked 4 people right from the start. The owners of this establishment must not be aware that there is more to running a business than just collecting money!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This place might be one you would want to shy away from. Our family could never find anyone who worked the motel part of the business and I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere else where disorganization was the theme. We encountered windows with no screens (flies and mosquito's loved that!), face cloths that looked like they had been used for cleaning an engine (they were washed, but stained badly), and for some reason, the ants knew exactly how to get through the door to the room. Ran into another customer and asked if they knew where to find someone associated with the hotel and he just laughed and said "good luck!" The topper was that whenever you flushed the toilet, the tub drain gurgled! The queen bed has surely seen it's better days and that was a long, long time ago. If you've got back issues, no matter how slight, this is not the place for you. For the price of $110 a night, families might want to find a place that is a little more attentive to their business and certainly, if you don't do anything else, read the reviews of these places first. We didn't do a very good job of that and we paid the price.....literally! There are a couple of places in Balfour that are newer, updated, have A/C for those warm muggy nights, and are much cleaner. There is no real beach to speak of as the place is more of a boat launch site than anything else with a lot of boats docked there. Just know, this is NOT the beach motel that it advertises to be.

Room Tip: There are no especially good situated rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jocelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This place is unbelievable. First, you go online to make your reservation and it comes back and tells you that you have a confirmation number. then it says that someone will call to confirm the reservation. NO ONE CALLS YOU! So I call them a day before we leave for there and they have no idea that I'm coming but tell me to "go ahead and come as we don't have any other people staying there." We show up, the office has a neon "open" sign lit but the door is locked. You then end up searching for someone, anyone who might look like staff. That is usually found in the bar. When you tell them you have a reservation, they just look at you like you're nuts, which, is probably true. They don't ask for your name but rather just give you some paperwork to fill out with the usual stuff and then give you a key. The rooms are fairly clean. However, if it's hot out, bring your own fan as they have no A/C, no fans and only have windows that slide open and some of them don't have screens. You will have the pleasure of sharing your accommodations with the insect world and frankly, don't try to ask the staff for help as you are not going to find them....especially working in the office. No one has any idea where anyone who works the motel part is, and this is after asking several times over a 4 day period. The overarching issue is, they charged us $110 a night for this dump. We looked around for other places, but seems the decent ones were all booked. Bottom line is, this place has a great advertising gimmick going but as everyone should well know, don't believe everything you see or read on the internet, especially about lodging in Balfour. I would equate this to a hillbilly hotel in southern Alabama!

Room Tip: Search for a motel that lists how old it is.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

everything is fresh this spring at the BBI. the best part is "dub at the pub" on tuesdays! we went for the first one last week and it was so much fun! every week there is a local dj..next week is El Jimador we were told...he rocks! what a great idea to have dancing at the pub...jam night friday is fun too...but we wanna go tuesdays all the time!!! cant wait until it is warm enough to go on the patio!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Pros:
great location with a wonderful view.
food is ok.
serving staff are pleasant and friendly, if a little slow.

Cons:
smelly, dirty room.
accommodation staff is slow, not accommodating, and impolite.
bed was uncomfortable.
can hear the people in the next room brushing their teeth because the walls are so thin.
no coffee in the mornings unless you go over to the cafe.
driveway full of potholes as well as parking areas

We could have saved our $240 and pitched a tent on the beach and been happier.

Room Tip: Camp at a local provincial park.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annalise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews