We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FinneIgen
Orimattila, Finland

A haven for railroad romantic

Review of B&B Pinus
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jul 2018via mobile
This well-kept B&B is located in an old railroad workers' house, with two rooms in the main building and two rooms in the garden house (no running water in the garden, mind you). The house is right by the sleepy Savonia railroad an short way off Mäntyharju station, and you can watch trains go by and the beautiful lake scenery. There were no trains by night, or at least we did not notice. The hostess warmed us an authentic workers' sauna (included in the garden house price), and it was a really nice experience. The sauna is very authentic so if you're not a regular visitor pay heed to instructions how to mix hot and cold water from the boiling pot etc. The breakfast was very good with extra smoothies and blueberry pie included. Happy visit, good place to stop on our paddling trip.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Linkkumyllyn mökit ovat järven rannalla.
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
13.8 km from B&B Pinus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
    2.6 km from B&B Pinus
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    €140
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
      €140
    • Vio.com
    18.7 km from B&B Pinus
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    €98
    No prepayment needed
    • eDreams
      €98
    18.7 km from B&B Pinus
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Huoneiston valoisien ja viihtyisien huoneiden yhteydessä on myös yhteiskäytössä keittiö, pesutil
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      €132
    • Hotels.com
      €132
    • Vio.com
    20.3 km from B&B Pinus
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    €66
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
      20.7 km from B&B Pinus
      Villa Elisabet has a beach of its own.
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
        €50
      • Priceline
      • Hotels.com
        €78
      25.1 km from B&B Pinus
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      A private lake
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
        €129
      • ZenHotels.com
        €111
      • Hotels.com
        €129
      28.3 km from B&B Pinus
      Free Wifi
      Restaurant
      €160
      Fully refundable
      • Priceline
      • eDreams
        €160
      • Vio.com
      31.2 km from B&B Pinus
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      €94
      • eDreams
        €94
      32.0 km from B&B Pinus
      Free parking
      Beachfront
      View more hotels in Mantyharju
      Reviews (34)
      Filter reviews
      34 results
      Traveller rating
      26
      7
      1
      0
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      26
      7
      1
      0
      0
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      3 - 8 of 34 reviews
      Reviewed 29 August 2017

      Be prepared to be received and catered for like a family member. Take your tme with rich breakfast and advice from the multilinqual lady of the house. Take the advantavge of offered private sauna bath, morning or evening. Above all: sleep tight in this quiet half-paradise.

      Room tip: Staying in one of the main building rooms is cosy yet quite intimate. For separated privacy, choose a "barn" room.
      Date of stay: August 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      1  Thank Seppo K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 16 August 2017

      If you want to experience the Finnish hospitality at its best, reserve accommodation here. You’ll find cosy rooms in wooden buildings, large, grassy yard with places for barbecue, friendly hosts, wood-heated sauna, and abundant and delicious breakfast.

      The location of Pinus is on a high ridge, with great views to the lake. This landscape is very Finnish, too.

      When arriving we had a lively chat with the hostess; later she served us delicious berry pie made by her son. In the evening, after sauna we sat late in the yard and watched the sunset behind the lake.

      Date of stay: August 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank piispa
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 26 July 2017

      A warm and personal welcome by the helpfull owners Titta and Panu. Nice and quiet location at the edge of town, close to the railway station and shops. Summer room was clean and comfortable at a reasonable price. This place is perfect as a base for hiking the wonderful nearby Repovesi NP. If you're looking for a real authentic Finnish experience in a homely atmosphere, then look no further!

      Date of stay: July 2017
      1  Thank Tony V
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 23 June 2017

      A nicely renovated old house near Mäntyharju center. We had a comfortable, clean and quiet room and slept very well (good beds). The owner was polite and served us friendly, breakfast was home made and well prepared. There were flowers on the breakfast table and nice atmosphere all and all. I recommend this one..

      Date of stay: June 2017
      Thank Jan S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

      We stayed two nights at the Bed and Breakfast Pinus in Mäntyharju, and we could gladly recommend this little cosy domestic place. Having a nice experience about to stay in old wooden house beside the lake view. The owner couple was offering nice, personal and special service, e.g. sauna and excellent breakfast with home made bread, pies and specially healthy fresh porridge every morning. We stayed in a granary in a middle of the garden. The room was nicely decorated in a simply and tasteful nordic style and everything was so clean and tidy.

      Date of stay: August 2016
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank AteljeeH
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews