We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
13
13
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
13
7
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This is a lovely historic property that's been updated with the room having an ensuite etc. but there is still work to be done.
The disappointing aspect we found was that there was very little service, there was no in house dinning available the evening we stayed as the chef had left for the day.
The breakfast included in the tariff was fairly standard fair.

Overall a nice enough property but it could be so much more.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Nice building and surroundings / garden area. Room was cosy and liked the idea that mansion's rooms were without tv. Service was friendly and everything went as expected. Dinner and wines were delicious and they also grow they own ingredients in the garden. Infra red sauna and smoke sauna...those were a bit expensive... But everything else was very good.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Timo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Hirvihaaran Kartano (sometime incorrectly spelled on Trip Advisor) is true to its billing, a grand manor home originally part of an 18th century estate. The main building has gone through several incarnations over the years, the latest being a small hotel and restaurant. Hirvihaaran Kartano has an interesting history, some of which is shown in old photographs which adorn its walls. The manor has now been transformed into something much more interesting, including a rather spectacular glasshouse designed for events. Not unlike other old manor homes in Finland, it is located in an area where activities and points of interest are few and far between. If you're coming here for an event, however, you will certainly not be disappointed with the facilities and, as reviewed below, the food.

For most travelers, Hirvihaaran Kartano provides a beautiful and quiet place to relax. We couldn’t help but notice, however, that you occasionally find yourself under the flight pattern of Helsinki-Vantaa International Airport. There is also a high-speed rail and highway nearby, all combining to at times disrupt the otherwise tranquility of this idyllic countryside setting.

We stayed two nights in the main building. Our room was clean and nicely decorated, although somewhat small, not unlike other Finnish manor homes we have visited. Unfortunately, during our stay, the day spa staff were away on holiday and the much touted smoke sauna was inoperative. We had hoped to enjoy both activities during our visit.

Now for the five star part of this review. We dined in-house both evenings. Because the reviews regarding dinner at Hirvihaaran Kartano were vague, we were a little apprehensive. It turns out the three-course dinners we enjoyed were the best we experienced in Finland, and to be honest, as fine or better than many highly touted restaurants in other parts of the world. On our first night, we started with fresh salmon on a lime cream sauce, followed by roast lamb, new potatoes with rosemary, and mushrooms in a delicate brown sauce. Dessert was a Finnish cake surrounded by a meringue, and topped with fresh rhubarb sorbet. Each course was paired with a wine chosen by Sommelier, Paivi Parkola. The salmon was paired with a dry German Riesling, the lamb with a 2009 Chateauneuf du Pape, and dessert with a late harvest Riesling from California.

On our second night, we enjoyed Chanterelle toast, River Trout, prepared to perfection, with seasoned onions, cauliflower, beetroot, and carrots, followed by blueberry panna cotta with blueberry jam over vanilla cake with vanilla cream. Many of the restaurant’s ingredients are sourced from the vegetable garden a few steps from the manor house. We haven't seen a more beautiful vegetable garden! The dinner itself is worth the visit and the young chef, Noora Turunen, is to be congratulated and watched closely in the years to come.

Last, but certainly not least, is Hannu Pehkonen. Aside from being an afficionado on his native Finland, he was our waiter at each evening’s dinner. He was knowledgeable about the food and the ingredients, quite conversant about the wine and, most importantly, understood the pairing of the wine with the food. He is a true professional, thoroughly enjoying what he does, and politely going about the task of providing his guests with a dining experience, not simply the act of eating dinner.

If you find yourself in this corner of Finland, this is an excellent option of places to stay; it is also a mandatory place to dine.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Had a small conference here and christmas lunch as well. Place is nice old mansion in the middle of fields. Nice atmosphere. Lunch was at the separate building. I recommend this place for smalla conferences and events. And lunch was very good btw.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank Boojumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 January 2016

This is a very special hotel - it looks like an old russian mansion surrounded by great woods by a beautiful broad majestically floating river. It has big majestic rooms in the main building and an annex with more modern but well appointed rooms. Good beds and a nice variety of sophisticated toiletries. Good food and a wonderful terrace facing the gardens and the river. We even saw a group of nude people running into the river from the great black smoke-sauna nearby. Real finnish experience in other words. A good place for a workshop -allbeit the long taxi-drive from the airport -it took the best part of an hour.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank pille2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews